Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Release][Linux] ModeDetect USBID Detector

OP AdamOutler

11th September 2011, 08:49 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 618
 
1,718 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamOutler

If you have enough memory you will not notice much of a difference. I don't. Install 3d extensions and allocate as many processor cores to it as possible. Enable all the options. Its a slight slowdown but nothing noticeable.

I have a quad core i5 with 12gigs of memory and a nVidia 200 series video card. It works well.

So I should be okay to run games like Dead Island or Crysis 2 in Ubuntu x64 or any of its variations with a VM Windows 7 Ultimate x64 on my 3.2GHz AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core CPU w/ 4x G.Skill RipjawsX 4Gb DDR3-1333 @ 9-9-9-24 and msi N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 w/1Gb 256-bit GDDR5 RAM?
11th September 2011, 09:02 PM   |  #12  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,200
 
11,098 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamOutler

If you have enough memory you will not notice much of a difference. I don't. Install 3d extensions and allocate as many processor cores to it as possible. Enable all the options. Its a slight slowdown but nothing noticeable.

I have a quad core i5 with 12gigs of memory and a nVidia 200 series video card. It works well.

i have to disagree. i noticed a huge drop in performance between native and VM.

Core i7 940, 8gb ram, 128gb SSD, 1gb nvidia quadro fx3800. its no slouch.
i also tried it out on my main desktop. horrible performance:
Core i7 920 12gb ram, 3-15k rpm SAS drives in RAID0, 2xati 6970 2gb, water cooled, etc, etc.

you cannot RELIABLY play call of duty/battlefield in VM without huge performance drops. sure, you can load up a game thats about 3 years old and play it no problem, drop your graphics settings down and probably play it ok, but i didnt spend all my money on hardware to to get only 'mediocre' performance.
11th September 2011, 09:40 PM   |  #13  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

i have to disagree. i noticed a huge drop in performance between native and VM.

Core i7 940, 8gb ram, 128gb SSD, 1gb nvidia quadro fx3800. its no slouch.
i also tried it out on my main desktop. horrible performance:
Core i7 920 12gb ram, 3-15k rpm SAS drives in RAID0, 2xati 6970 2gb, water cooled, etc, etc.

you cannot RELIABLY play call of duty/battlefield in VM without huge performance drops. sure, you can load up a game thats about 3 years old and play it no problem, drop your graphics settings down and probably play it ok, but i didnt spend all my money on hardware to to get only 'mediocre' performance.

Alright, I guess it depends on the game. Lets try to keep this on-topic.. This is a Linux app and you will need Linux to run it. Dual boot if you love Windows. Did the app work for you?
11th September 2011, 10:05 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 618
 
1,718 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamOutler

Alright, I guess it depends on the game. Lets try to keep this on-topic.. This is a Linux app and you will need Linux to run it. Dual boot if you love Windows. Did the app work for you?

I don't love Windows I'm trying to find a reason to switch, but since I'm a Gamer I'm pretty much forced to stick with Windows (isn't that a Monopoly of some sort?) Anyways back on topic... Great work Adam I'm sure this app will come in handy for me in the future should the need ever arise

*edit* Decided to mess around with it and I've got to say you've done some nice work. Simple and easy to use with no room to wonder if it was run in the correct order or need to rerun it or click some button to recheck.
Last edited by Kyuta Syuko; 11th September 2011 at 10:44 PM.
13th September 2011, 04:03 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Just tried this in Linix. It says device not found :-\
13th September 2011, 02:56 PM   |  #16  
Quote:
Originally Posted by crispy1805

Just tried this in Linix. It says device not found :-\

You will need JTAG or UnBrickable Mod. Its rare that the device will show up in S5PC110 mode with a black screen, but it is possible.
14th September 2011, 12:45 AM   |  #17  
Smasher816's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 166
 
391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
What about showing up as download or usb mass storage?
He said that its not finding the device at all.
14th September 2011, 02:05 AM   |  #18  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smasher816

What about showing up as download or usb mass storage?
He said that its not finding the device at all.

Is that a question? You answered it yourself..

As stated before, this program leaves no guessing. If all you get is the Samsung logo, send it in for repair or fix it yourself.
14th September 2011, 06:33 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 618
 
1,718 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
This program as become a part of my flashing routine. I have it running when flashing via Heimdall.
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyuta Syuko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th September 2011, 12:45 PM   |  #20  
JiroPrinz8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Island city of the South
Thanks Meter: 298
 
1,255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Hi guys, hope you could help out.

Will running the resurrector and Hemdall be possible on a VM (Puppy Linux) as i am running windows and don't want to dual boot as much as possible.

Thanks in advance!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes