FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Can't unlock officially, have error codes

13th September 2011, 03:43 AM |#1  
xoltrix2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Hi. I followed the HTC Dev unlock guide, but this is what I get after trying a few hundred times:
Unlocking Bootloader Failed!Sorry it didn't work out. Here's why:
We're sorry, but it appears your attempt to unlock the bootloader on this device has failed. This could be caused by several factors including simple errors in the entry of the unlock token, problems with your device, or a lack of manufacturer support for the unlocking process. Please see the specific error code listed below, and try again if necessary.

Error Code: 160.
Error Reason: MID Not Allowed.
WTF. NOT one guy on Google search encountered such problem... and I can assure you I'm not making any typos. I'm copying-pasting exactly what it's asking to, ex format:

<<<< Identifier Token Start >>>>
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X1X
<<<<< Identifier Token End >>>>>

(Using replaced original code with X1s here only for purposes of privacy if that applies that is)

My info: Stock, just got this phone, EVO 3D (Rogers), Radio 1.20.631.2
Rooted with Revolutionary, HBOOT 1.49.1107

You're help is appreciated.
 
 
13th September 2011, 03:55 AM |#2  
cruise350's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Memphis, TN
Thanks Meter: 623
 
More
If your rooted with revolutionary you can't use the HTC unlocker and why would you??? No wonder it doesn't work you are already unlocked and your hboot doesn't support the HTC unlocker you would have to take the OTA.
13th September 2011, 03:56 AM |#3  
xoltrix2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
That's the thing, I tried before and after rooting. It didn't make a difference. I got the same error.
13th September 2011, 04:37 AM |#4  
tes5884's Avatar
Member
Flag Monsey NY
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Dude,
If you unlocked with revolutionary why are you using htcdev tool. Its already unlocked!

Good luck!

Sent from my PG8610000 using xda premium
13th September 2011, 04:40 AM |#5  
xoltrix2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I uh... did not know Revolutionary recovery unlocks too... I thought it was just for root and s-off... (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1247392)

Only one way to test, need another carrier sim!
13th September 2011, 04:47 AM |#6  
mwalt2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,515
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruise350

If your rooted with revolutionary you can't use the HTC unlocker and why would you??? No wonder it doesn't work you are already unlocked and your hboot doesn't support the HTC unlocker you would have to take the OTA.

You can be s-off through alpharev's tool, update to HBOOT 1.50, and unlock with HTC's tool/token just fine. I've done it myself just to see what would happen once other's said s-off was retained with HBOOT 1.50. I don't think HTC's method does much other then add a UN in front of LOCKED from a usability standpoint though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoltrix2000

I uh... did not know Revolutionary recovery unlocks too... I thought it was just for root and s-off... (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1247392)

Only one way to test, need another carrier sim!

Everyone answering here is CDMA, so unlocked to them means something different. I doubt HTC's method will sim unlock your phone. It just makes it so you can flash custom recoveries/roms/kernels/etc.
Last edited by mwalt2; 13th September 2011 at 04:50 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to mwalt2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th September 2011, 02:31 PM |#7  
Member
Flag Hanoi
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I have same problem with xoltrix2000 and my HTC Evo 3D same to you. Can't unlock bootloader through HTCDEV
13th September 2011, 03:57 PM |#8  
xoltrix2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
What's odd is that other than deathscythevn and I, literally no one on the web has this issue, nothing at all! For a moment I felt special, but not in a good way.
14th September 2011, 11:34 AM |#9  
Member
Flag Hanoi
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
xoltrix2000, I fix it already. You must flash ROM ship after you unlock with htcdev.
21st December 2011, 11:11 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question Cant unlock officially, not giving me error cods
I have a sprint Evo3d and this is what i get when i try unlock

"We're sorry, but it appears your attempt to unlock the bootloader on this device has failed. This could be caused by several factors including simple errors in the entry of the unlock token, problems with your device, or a lack of manufacturer support for the unlocking process. Please see the specific error code listed below, and try again if necessary.
Error Code: .
Error Reason: . "

anyone know why ?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes