FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q]Do these custom ROMs affect the global capabilities of the phone?

1,152 posts
Thanks Meter: 87
 
By JungleJiujitsu, Senior Member on 14th September 2011, 04:41 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm traveling to Italy tomorrow and just want to make sure that by having rooted and flashed an ASOP ROM on it has not affected its ability to connect to the cell network out there. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
 
 
14th September 2011, 05:21 PM |#2  
dj_wires's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
It will depending on the rom you use. I have been using Newt's rom's primarily and i know he has gotten both GSM and CDMA to work on some of his newer versions, you will have to check the changelog to see which ones work though,

Newts newest 3D 2.03 has the world phone capibilities..


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1231283


But i cant speak for ASOP, you might want to check the log to see if it is listed as working or not.
The Following User Says Thank You to dj_wires For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th September 2011, 08:39 PM |#3  
sixteen2nd's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I haven't tested Global Mode myself but people are reporting SkyRaider Zeus supports it.

I can give a big thumbs-up to the ROM as a whole. I have been running it for a few weeks and haven't hit a snag yet.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sixteen2nd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th September 2011, 08:46 PM |#4  
JungleJiujitsu's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Westbury, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_wires

It will depending on the rom you use. I have been using Newt's rom's primarily and i know he has gotten both GSM and CDMA to work on some of his newer versions, you will have to check the changelog to see which ones work though,

Newts newest 3D 2.03 has the world phone capibilities..


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1231283


But i cant speak for ASOP, you might want to check the log to see if it is listed as working or not.

Oh Oh, I appreciate the feedback but is not at all what I was hoping for lol...I just posted this question on the ROMs thread but its too late to do anything about it if it does not have it enabled, $#|T!!!! For argument sake I posted it was I traveling but when in reality its a co-worker(a manager) who is traveling to Europe and is he's gonna be pissed if he steps off that plane and has no service...I'll just try and blame it on the network out there i guess if worse comes to worse lol...thanks again!
14th September 2011, 08:48 PM |#5  
shoman24v's Avatar
Senior Member
Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Best to go with SkyRaider Zeus. Based off the stock shipped ROM, not a port.
14th September 2011, 08:49 PM |#6  
PacerguyDon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boise
Thanks Meter: 222
 
Donate to Me
More
Which Aosp rom do you have on your friends phone?
I've read in various places that CM 7 will work globally. Not sure about any of the others though.
14th September 2011, 08:51 PM |#7  
JungleJiujitsu's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Westbury, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixteen2nd

I haven't tested Global Mode myself but people are reporting SkyRaider Zeus supports it.

I can give a big thumbs-up to the ROM as a whole. I have been running it for a few weeks and haven't hit a snag yet.

Sucks, I wish I had know but this is what happens when they wait till the last minute, not my fault....also, I can't even try out that ROM now cuz Im stuck w/ this butt ass iPhone until I get my DInc2 back! Maybe I'll surprise him and jailbreak his iPhone if I get bored...you got a link to that SkyRaider for when I do get it back, please?..Edited..got it! thanks!

---------- Post added at 03:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by PacerguyDon

Which Aosp rom do you have on your friends phone?
I've read in various places that CM 7 will work globally. Not sure about any of the others though.

TSM's PoolParty
14th September 2011, 08:56 PM |#8  
PacerguyDon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boise
Thanks Meter: 222
 
Donate to Me
More
Lmao... Jailbreak the Iphone That would be good.
I suppose there isn't much you can do know, but maybe check the TSM thread, or maybe hit up The Devs here and maybe they can tell you if it's a global rom...
The Following User Says Thank You to PacerguyDon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th September 2011, 09:04 PM |#9  
JungleJiujitsu's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Westbury, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PacerguyDon

Lmao... Jailbreak the Iphone That would be good.
I suppose there isn't much you can do know, but maybe check the TSM thread, or maybe hit up The Devs here and maybe they can tell you if it's a global rom...

I hit up the thread here on XDA but thanks for the link! Just registered and hit em up on there too!
15th September 2011, 02:36 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Nitsuj's full rom doesn't affect the global radio. I had the same concern because im also leaving the country in a few weeks.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium
15th September 2011, 08:49 PM |#11  
JungleJiujitsu's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Westbury, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by draco259

Nitsuj's full rom doesn't affect the global radio. I had the same concern because im also leaving the country in a few weeks.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium

Really? Cuz I just found out that the dude ain't leaving til Sunday, so I can flash that ROM now ! Awesome man, thanks!..EDITED:which ROM, vanilla or vivow? I just check both and didn't see anything about GSM or global radio...
Last edited by JungleJiujitsu; 15th September 2011 at 08:56 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes