Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

[Q] Numbers instead of contact name in SMS

14th September 2011, 07:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Whenever I receive a new SMS, only the contact number is shown.
I have to dial it up to see who it is.

How do I make it so the contact name will be shown instead of just the number?

Thank you.
14th September 2011, 09:11 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Newport News, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 515
 
1,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
That is weird. If you have the contact saved with that contact number, it should show. Is the format your numbers are saved in the same format that is received with the text messages? Also, is this with the stock app or with a 3rd party one?
14th September 2011, 10:16 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Thank you for your answer.

Yes, it is the stock app.
Everything is stock on this device.

the numbers have a code (041 - for distance dial) before them, but this was not changed recently whereas the problem just recently started to happend.
14th September 2011, 11:28 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Newport News, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 515
 
1,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Did you verify that Messaging -> Settings -> Only Mobile Numbers isn't checked?
14th September 2011, 11:32 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmadrigal

Did you verify that Messaging -> Settings -> Only Mobile Numbers isn't checked?

I could not find such option, bassmadrigal.
15th September 2011, 08:14 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Newport News, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 515
 
1,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
You can try clearing the data for the messaging app found in Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> All -> Messaging

This *shouldn't* wipe your text messages (they should be stored in a different area), but it probably wouldn't hurt to back them up beforehand. I use SMS Backup and Restore found on the market.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes