5,593,650 Members 39,493 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

3/4g internal modem.

Tip us?
 
nateleduc
Old
(Last edited by nateleduc; 15th September 2011 at 07:35 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default 3/4g internal modem.

I'm looking to start a thread about turning an a500 into a a501. I've done a teardown of the a500 and it has the capability of potentially being able to support an internal card. It has the space/slot and screw mounts.

Before I start ordering and soldering parts to the circuit board I'd like to get a few facts straight.

1. The firmware (kernel) between the a501 and a500 are the same? I've heard that it is, and that it isn't

2. Drivers- obviously drivers will need to written. No way of getting around that.

3. PCIe Riser extender - As you can see from these pictures, the plastic bracket is missing/not included. You can see on each side there is two holes for mounting the bracket. I'd recommend the extended below, as it will allow me the needed length between the two.

http://www.amazon.com/PCI-Express-Ri.../dp/B0054CIL46

The reason I'm picking this is because I can solder this

Here is the empty space:



Now here is the space with a pcie wlan card



You can see from the last picture that there is a space issue that needs to be addressed.



I would need to use riser with an extended back end inorder to align up this the screw mounts.



this picture is just of the screw mounts.



I've seen a few threads now about the idea of this , nothing really taking liftoff, so I thought I'd be the first to start.

Also, is there a command for listing hardware/chips in android , using android terminal emulator. Something like lspci (linux command)

************************************************** ********

On to pcie 4g/3g cards.

Here is the 4g card I found:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-5150-m...item43a38d57f7

I'd rather have one with the major cellular provides, but I can't seem to find any. Clear has a basic 200mb (holy hell) for $20. Not bad for 4g coverage.

3g Card

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Inspiron-152...item5645ae677e

This one is cheap, and from verizon.

$30 /2gb plan from verizon.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let me know what you think. If you have anything to add please feel free to let me know
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nateleduc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Johnny0906
Old
#2  
Johnny0906's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 712
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Make a video when you got it running.
TOYS:
Surfpad: Asus Transformer TF700 - Coming soon!
Phone 1: HTC One X
Phone 2: Samsung Galaxy S2

HTC One X settings: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5#post27026185

Prime C3 Serial Test (Surprisingly Good Results!): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1579754

Don't give up your Primes yet!

Hit Thanks if I helped!



About me: Free-lance Software Tester, Soft Test Engineer.
 
nateleduc
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny0906 View Post
Make a video when you got it running.
Still learning basic programming.I've taken a programming fundamentals and half of programming structures. Teacher was Indian and had us read from a book. If someone wouldbwrite the driver I would jump into it
The Following User Says Thank You to nateleduc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fxandrei
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 155
Join Date: Jul 2010
wow .. really interesting ..
now u know what would be even better ?
to have this module external.
to be able to connect it to the a500.
anyway ..
sure hope u get something..
 
Mazda
Old
#5  
Mazda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9462
Posts: 4,434
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Milton, Florida ✖✖✖✖✖✖✖✖✖✖

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fxandrei View Post
wow .. really interesting ..
now u know what would be even better ?
to have this module external.
to be able to connect it to the a500.
anyway ..
sure hope u get something..
I agree!! Your average XDA user is open minded when it comes to flashing roms, kernels and different types of software mods but they aren't that open minded to cracking their device open and screwing around with things internally. A usb type of module would be great!! I KNOW you're properly thinking like "WOW, do you want it to clean your house too" BUT T'll put my wallet where my mouth is and will donate 75 dollars if you can get this thing working via usb or provide some sort of brick-proof way of doing this.

I'm really excited to the idea of possibly having 4G on this tablet!!
Good Luck!!

Sent from inside my house using XDA Premium
 
AdamOutler
Old
#6  
AdamOutler's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 9428
Posts: 5,123
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Louisiana

 
DONATE TO ME
It looks like its missing one of these..



Mouser is a great source for parts like this. It will involve soldering a connector and possibly writing a driver.

Once you find out the parts requirement, any electronics repair shop can handle it.
http://www.mouser.com/Interconnects/...ors/_/N-72bz7/

I can't help anymore then this, I don't own one of these devices. However, kernel=drivers. You've got two issues. Kernel support and Hardware. Once you've got the physical connection done, search for some linux devices which uses similar hardware and grab the kernel modules built for your kernel. If you're lucky, you can just insmod them into the device. If you're not lucky, you'll need to build from source.
Flash with Odin on Windows, Linux and Mac. Use JOdin3, Available in a web browser or offline
Check out my developer pages. Add me to your circles on Google Plus.
 
juzz86
Old
#7  
juzz86's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1890
Posts: 6,295
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Would a kernel dump or source from an A501 do the trick? I don't have one, just throwing around ideas...
I-S Old
#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
A little background: I'm an electronic engineer with some experience of teardown work.

I agree with Adam that you need a socket rather than trying to solder a flexy on.

Do you have any teardown information on the A501, or would someone with an A501 be willing to get photographs. I think the key hardware things to find out are 1) what socket is used for the card and 2) what card is used.

If you get a 3g card with the same chipset on, then wouldn't it be as simple as hacking in A501 firmware for the driver?
 
bedwa
Old
#9  
bedwa's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 644
Posts: 1,108
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Springfield IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by I-S View Post
A little background: I'm an electronic engineer with some experience of teardown work.

I agree with Adam that you need a socket rather than trying to solder a flexy on.

Do you have any teardown information on the A501, or would someone with an A501 be willing to get photographs. I think the key hardware things to find out are 1) what socket is used for the card and 2) what card is used.

If you get a 3g card with the same chipset on, then wouldn't it be as simple as hacking in A501 firmware for the driver?
That one itself would be the ideal. But that makes sense.
Former Devices: HTC Wizard-WM 6.5, OG iPhone, iPhone 3GS, 15+ android devices, including N1, Galaxy Nexus, Galaxy Tab 7.7 and many more.
Current Device: Droid Bionic on AT&T with CM 11 nightly. Rockin GSM style.

Old Project(s)
Resources: Tab 7.7 Kernel/Initramfs
Kernels: Thrillz---Thrillz-GB---Infusion-GB---Infusion (Froyo)
No Odin? Flash a I897/I997 Kernel, Modem or both "zip packages!"
Red Nexus S LWP
LG Optimus Z Launcher

My Git.
My Twitter
Fuel my insanity fund, or click Thanks.
 
superhotluv
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Sep 2010
The story doesn't end at installing the card mount, but also needs other components to work. Instead you can tear down a 2 port USB hub, tear down your 3G modem and Stick it in an empty place do some soldering so that the end result should be as follows........

1. The socket which generates USB inside the case, should be fed to the USB hub,
2. One output of the hub should go to the USB dongle we earlier ripped out
3. The other output of the hub should be the cable that extends to the outside USB port.. after all we need this USB also for external USB for attaching keyboards, flash drives etc..

I hope I gave a unique idea here

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...