Neon’s Colors Theme For Android L

This CyanogenMod 12 theme by XDA Recognized Themernitinvaidbrings some really nice looking colors to … more

Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Why Your Smartphone Needs Infrared Sensors

Is it useful? Yes. Is it fun? Even more so! As of now, infrared or thermal vision solutions on … more

Giefroot Root Tool For Locked Z3, Z3 Compact

Check out this tool to root Xperia Z3 or Z3 Compact regardless of the locked bootloader. It … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HELP] Camera not working

OP UnderZone7

15th September 2011, 10:58 AM   |  #1  
UnderZone7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 7
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I think i got the only defective touchpad in the country. When it try digi camera it says camera failed to initialize with error 4. I contacted hp and they told me to try web os doctor and it did not help. Then they asked me to send it in and it was shipped to a third party repair facility and it came back the same with all the data wiped on it. What should i do now?
15th September 2011, 06:49 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Developer
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 517
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnderZone7

I think i got the only defective touchpad in the country. When it try digi camera it says camera failed to initialize with error 4. I contacted hp and they told me to try web os doctor and it did not help. Then they asked me to send it in and it was shipped to a third party repair facility and it came back the same with all the data wiped on it. What should i do now?

There have been a handful of people with this error, including me. It's a hardware issue because I have two touchpads and only one of them had this error, and I updated both with the same software. Some have fixed it by topping off the battery (make sure the battery gets a full charge), then restarting the touchpad. That didn't work for me. I had also tried web os doctor, factory resetting. Nothing helped. But then I found a website that shows you how to replace the camera, and from looking at it, I thought what if the camera just isn't seated correctly? So, I thought I'd try to apply pressure to the area around the camera (hoping to seat the camera in place) without opening up the touchpad and voiding warranty. And guess what? I ran a camera app right after I did that, and it worked.

I don't know if it was a fluke or not, but worth trying before you send it to HP and have to wait 2 weeks + for it. Just don't press hard enough to break the screen.
16th September 2011, 06:40 AM   |  #3  
UnderZone7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 7
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
thanks. but i sent it to hp and it came back the same and i just tried applying pressure but it did not work. could you send me the link to that video if you still have it?
17th September 2011, 06:39 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 517
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnderZone7

thanks. but i sent it to hp and it came back the same and i just tried applying pressure but it did not work. could you send me the link to that video if you still have it?

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Installi...-Camera/6075/1
The Following User Says Thank You to AssassinsLament For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th September 2011, 10:30 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 77
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
More
camera not working
Camera does not work. As soon as i got the device, i upgraded to 3.0.2 and then preware. I since have found that my camera does not work. Tried resetting, freecam, skype, webos doctor re-install. Camera will either give an error or just crash the app that is trying to use it.

Does anyone know if there is way to restore to stock image?
19th September 2011, 10:35 PM   |  #6  
thebadfrog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I wonder if anyone would know how to in the General section?
The Following User Says Thank You to thebadfrog For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes