Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Rooting HTC Sensation

OP AnchorChin

16th September 2011, 05:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Dear Seniors,Developers,Moderators and Members,



Hi guys, I recently just joined this site and is totally new to rooting my Sensation.


I read threads like [Guide] to Installing S-off, ClockWork, Root, SuperCID & S-on [03/AUG/11](noobproof), [ROM] Android Revolution HD™ 3.5.0 XE | High Quality & Performance | OC | faux 0.1.5


but I am still not sure about certain things


1)My Sensation is running on Android 2.3.3. Am I able to S-OFF, Permanently root my Sensation and to install Android Revolution HD rom which has 2.3.4?


2)Which steps am I going to take to S-OFF, Permanently root and install that custom rom? [Got confused whether to follow step 1 to 3 [root] or step 1 and 2[install custom rom for the first time]]


3)Am I use my phone normally like an unrooted phone after S-OFF and Permanently rooted my phone without install a custom rom?

4)Is this [GUIDE] (For Noobs) SDK, ADB, and Drivers needed as part of the phone rooting process?[I don't have any HTC Sync software/drivers installed]


5)Is Super CID needed to install Android Revolution HD rom? [I didn't quite understand what Super CID is]

Thank you for spending your time reading it, any more information or help is much appreciated.
Last edited by AnchorChin; 16th September 2011 at 05:07 PM.
16th September 2011, 05:52 PM   |  #2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,228
 
13,591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
1. Yes
2. Read the first guide, do Step 1 & 2 and then flash the custom ROM
3. Yes, if you do Steps 1, 2 & 3 (if you just want a stock rooted ROM)
4. No
5. No
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2011, 06:01 PM   |  #3  
mathrania's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
You can Root you sensation.
Follow the steps from step 1.
1)S-off your phone via Revolutionary method;
2)Install recovery;
3)Permenantly root your phone;
4)Flash New Rom;

These are the basic steps you have to follow. All the steps are explained very well in the thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1192300.
SuperCID is not really required.
And the drivers, well i did not download them(I am not sure if they were already present in my laptop), so just give it a try without downloading them, but yes, the files mentioned on the S-off, Rooting thread would be required.
Before starting, make sure to "Enable Debugging" and "Disable Fastboot".
Also uninstall HTC Sync from your mobile.
Good luck with it, if there are any more doubts, post again, me or someone else will help for sure.
The Following User Says Thank You to mathrania For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2011, 06:37 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Thanks for your replies, I have a problem in revolutonary it say communication with phone unexpectdly interrupted. Try again. How do I solve it?
16th September 2011, 06:39 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Long Island
Thanks Meter: 17
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnchorChin

Thanks for your replies, I have a problem in revolutonary it say communication with phone unexpectdly interrupted. Try again. How do I solve it?

I tried that 3 times and 3 times it said that message but somehow it went s-off, so keep trying it.
The Following User Says Thank You to quierotacobell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2011, 07:02 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Tried 5 times but still kept showing communcation with phone unexpected interrupted
16th September 2011, 07:33 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
275 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnchorChin

Tried 5 times but still kept showing communcation with phone unexpected interrupted

You've got HTC Sync on your PC?

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e
The Following User Says Thank You to claudenegm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2011, 02:05 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by claudenegm

You've got HTC Sync on your PC?

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e

Nope, I have already uninstalled the HTC Sync and left HTC Driver Installer and HTC BMP Usb Driver installed only.
17th September 2011, 02:12 AM   |  #9  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,228
 
13,591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Just keep trying, it will eventually work. I've reported it god knows how many times to the Revo guys but they either don't care or can't fix it

After each step that fails, reboot the phone and do it again
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th September 2011, 02:37 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

Just keep trying, it will eventually work. I've reported it god knows how many times to the Revo guys but they either don't care or can't fix it

After each step that fails, reboot the phone and do it again

Ok, I will keep on trying for a day or so and will report back for the result

---------- Post added at 08:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:21 AM ----------

Yes!! Finally got it S-OFF but the the version is 1.17.1111 not 1.17.1011. Is it ok?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes