FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

One-Click Maps enable/disable script *needs root*

7th February 2012, 11:14 PM |#11  
hshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
More
Thanks for this script, it works brilliantly.

I am trying to modify this script to check of com.facebook.katana is running and do the same for Facebook, but I am not sure how to check if that service is running.
 
 
8th February 2012, 03:13 AM |#12  
asianftw's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hshah

Thanks for this script, it works brilliantly.

I am trying to modify this script to check of com.facebook.katana is running and do the same for Facebook, but I am not sure how to check if that service is running.

i did it for some of those apps that have the tendency to stay in the background even you force close it.

you can check if it's running by going to Setting -> application -> running service
you can also check what apps are occupying your resource with an app called "Betterbatterystat"
8th February 2012, 06:04 AM |#13  
hshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by asianftw

i did it for some of those apps that have the tendency to stay in the background even you force close it.

you can check if it's running by going to Setting -> application -> running service
you can also check what apps are occupying your resource with an app called "Betterbatterystat"

Sorry, I meant via a script to replace "pm list packages -d".
8th February 2012, 06:19 AM |#14  
asianftw's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hshah

Sorry, I meant via a script to replace "pm list packages -d".

you can look into using pid or look here for some similar info
i can get back to you when I have more time in hand.

But what i can ensure you is: if you have facebook installed, it IS running in the background, period. 100% of the time. It's not using much of my battery though, so I just leave it as that.
8th February 2012, 08:01 AM |#15  
hshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
More
Done it
Attached Files
File Type: txt freeze_facebook.sh.txt - [Click for QR Code] (200 Bytes, 28 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to hshah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th June 2013, 09:40 AM |#16  
maq-shaim's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag General Santos
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up It really works!
Thanks Sir.
Fully Working on Karbonn_A9+.
14th October 2013, 09:48 PM |#17  
Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
@asianftw & @hshah,
These are great! Thank you. Will try them soon.
Can you add more apps for this.
And can you make it into auto-mode? Meaning any apps will be freeze when not in use, but will be turned ON when user click those app OR triggered by incoming update (like FB) or at least, set to a fix frequencies to check for update (say every 30 minutes / hourly / "x" hours). If it is possible, this will be a must have app.

Dell Streak | InnerSD 8GB | ExternalSD 32GB | LXdroid 0.2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes