Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,354 Members 44,135 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

One-Click Maps enable/disable script *needs root*

Tip us?
 
hshah
Old
#11  
hshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,450
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thanks for this script, it works brilliantly.

I am trying to modify this script to check of com.facebook.katana is running and do the same for Facebook, but I am not sure how to check if that service is running.
 
asianftw
Old
#12  
asianftw's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hshah View Post
Thanks for this script, it works brilliantly.

I am trying to modify this script to check of com.facebook.katana is running and do the same for Facebook, but I am not sure how to check if that service is running.
i did it for some of those apps that have the tendency to stay in the background even you force close it.

you can check if it's running by going to Setting -> application -> running service
you can also check what apps are occupying your resource with an app called "Betterbatterystat"
 
hshah
Old
#13  
hshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,450
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by asianftw View Post
i did it for some of those apps that have the tendency to stay in the background even you force close it.

you can check if it's running by going to Setting -> application -> running service
you can also check what apps are occupying your resource with an app called "Betterbatterystat"
Sorry, I meant via a script to replace "pm list packages -d".
 
asianftw
Old
#14  
asianftw's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 103
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hshah View Post
Sorry, I meant via a script to replace "pm list packages -d".
you can look into using pid or look here for some similar info
i can get back to you when I have more time in hand.

But what i can ensure you is: if you have facebook installed, it IS running in the background, period. 100% of the time. It's not using much of my battery though, so I just leave it as that.
 
hshah
Old
#15  
hshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,450
Join Date: Dec 2005
Done it
Attached Files
File Type: txt freeze_facebook.sh.txt - [Click for QR Code] (200 Bytes, 26 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to hshah For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
maq-shaim
Old
#16  
maq-shaim's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: General Santos

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up It really works!

Thanks Sir.
Fully Working on Karbonn_A9+.
 
Razak RK
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kuala Lumpur
@asianftw & @hshah,
These are great! Thank you. Will try them soon.
Can you add more apps for this.
And can you make it into auto-mode? Meaning any apps will be freeze when not in use, but will be turned ON when user click those app OR triggered by incoming update (like FB) or at least, set to a fix frequencies to check for update (say every 30 minutes / hourly / "x" hours). If it is possible, this will be a must have app.

Dell Streak | InnerSD 8GB | ExternalSD 32GB | LXdroid 0.2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes