5,596,354 Members 39,092 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Basic Tips to avoid Bricking your phone

Tip us?
 
shrome99
Old
#1  
shrome99's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1530
Posts: 3,509
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chandigarh
Default [GUIDE] Basic Tips to avoid Bricking your phone

Hey guys, if you've read around this forum, you must be familiar with the infamous bricked eMMC problems. This, sadly, is a hardware issue, and once it's bricked, you have no choice but to get the eMMC replaced by a professional. Following the popular saying, "Prevention is Better Than Cure", here are a few tips to prevent the eMMC chips from burning

=> Do not download multiple apps at once from the market. Even two simultaneous apps can screw your phone up.

=> Never Use the "UPDATE ALL" feature from the market. Update each app separately.

=> When you flash a new ROM, restore your apps using titanium backup before adding a Google Account. This will prevent the market from restoring all your apps at once.

=> NEVER EVER PULL THE BATTERY This is very important. Pulling your battery out is the most prominent cause of eMMC bricks. Use alternatives like -

=> Use ADB Commands to reboot into recovery

=> Press the Volume up, Volume Down and Power buttons together to reeboot the phone. In a bootloop, take off the battery cover (without pulling the battery) and press the buttons. The phone will turn off for 2-3 seconds before it turns back on. That's your window. Pull the battery in this time.

=> If you absolutely have to pull the battery, re-insert it at least 30 seconds later.
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to shrome99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ben_pyett
Old
#2  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1849
Posts: 4,815
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Lightbulb ADB Commands

ADB Commands

You'll obviously need ADB on your PC, so download and extract the adb & fastboot onto your PC which you'll see in a link in my signature. Ensure that you have HTC drivers on your PC if not also download and install the link in my signature.

Plug phone into PC by USB cable.

Then fire up a CMD on your PC, go to directory where you put adb and issue the command
Code:
adb devices       ---- what is the result?
If your device appears to be recognised that's good, so next try

Code:
adb reboot recovery

OR 

adb reboot bootloader
Nexus 5 : hammerhead
Rom (Kernel): Cataclysm 4.4.2 [Dec 12, 2013] (Franco [#r45.2 test]) root: [superSU v1.93]
Nexus 4 : mako
Rom (Kernel): AOKP_ROM 4.3.1 [#aokp_mako_jb-mr2_2013-11-14] (Franco [#r193-JWR])
Retired - HTC Desire S, HTC Touch Diamond 2, HTC Dual Touch, HTC TyTN, Innumerable NOKIAs
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to ben_pyett For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nevara
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 218
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany

 
DONATE TO ME
I just purchased a new desire s. Is there still a chance that i will get a faulty eMMc chip?
 
shrome99
Old
#4  
shrome99's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1530
Posts: 3,509
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chandigarh
yes, sadly there is.

Run this command in the terminal app or ADB

cat /sys/devices/platform/msm_sdcc.2/mmc_host/mmc0/mmc0:0001/name

Post the result. If it's M4G2DE, your with us, faulty eMMC
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to shrome99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
djsubtronic
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 450
Posts: 1,975
Join Date: Jun 2010
Nice guide. However, where is it confirmed that only M4G2DE chips are faulty? And if they are, surely not all of them have the fault. Didn't someone report the failure with the other chip too? I have the M4 chip, I've updated many apps at a time, pulled battery numerous times (inserted immediately as well), but never had any issues. I guess it could be safe to say there is no way to actually know for sure which chip is faulty and that everyone should follow this guide regardless.
 
nevara
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 218
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsubtronic View Post
Nice guide. However, where is it confirmed that only M4G2DE chips are faulty? And if they are, surely not all of them have the fault. Didn't someone report the failure with the other chip too? I have the M4 chip, I've updated many apps at a time, pulled battery numerous times (inserted immediately as well), but never had any issues. I guess it could be safe to say there is no way to actually know for sure which chip is faulty and that everyone should follow this guide regardless.
good argument...will keep that in mind.
 
yerfdes
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 203
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben_pyett View Post
ADB Commands

You'll obviously need ADB on your PC, so download and extract the adb & fastboot onto your PC which you'll see in a link in my signature. Ensure that you have HTC drivers on your PC if not also download and install the link in my signature.

Plug phone into PC by USB cable.

Then fire up a CMD on your PC, go to directory where you put adb and issue the command
Code:
adb devices       ---- what is the result?
If your device appears to be recognised that's good, so next try

Code:
adb reboot recovery

OR 

adb reboot bootloader
can you provide me an instruction on what to type in cmd for me to go to the directory where my ADB is.. for example in local disk D and inside a folder named ADB.. what should i type in cmd? before typing adb devices?
[B][HTC Desire S](S-OFF using AlphaRevX)
[ROM] (CoreDroid Desire S V2.3)
[THEME]OrangeRanger Theme created by Yours Truly

 
djsubtronic
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 450
Posts: 1,975
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yerfdes View Post
can you provide me an instruction on what to type in cmd for me to go to the directory where my ADB is.. for example in local disk D and inside a folder named ADB.. what should i type in cmd? before typing adb devices?
You need to "cd" to the directory where your Android SDK is installed, so eg if it is installed at D:\android-sdk then:

Code:
D:\
cd "\android-sdk\"
And then

Code:
cd "platform-tools"
 
BratPAQ
Old
#9  
BratPAQ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 157
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 1435′N 12058′E
good advice on titanium backup, just after activating my google account on my DS it download all my installed apps. then my phone hangs.
 
yerfdes
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 203
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsubtronic View Post
You need to "cd" to the directory where your Android SDK is installed, so eg if it is installed at D:\android-sdk then:

Code:
D:\
cd "\android-sdk\"
And then

Code:
cd "platform-tools"
whoa!! im a total noob here.. should i install first android sdk and can you explain to me what is platform tools??
[B][HTC Desire S](S-OFF using AlphaRevX)
[ROM] (CoreDroid Desire S V2.3)
[THEME]OrangeRanger Theme created by Yours Truly


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes