Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,105 Members 52,050 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

2.3.4 Root (with locked bootloader)

Tip us?
 
datagubben
Old
(Last edited by datagubben; 27th October 2011 at 11:49 PM.)
#1  
datagubben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,182
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Landskrona
Default 2.3.4 Root (with locked bootloader)



New method of rooting your Arc (zergRush method) press this link.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1312859



Warning: use .184 first or you will brick your device.

There are so many threads calling for 2.3.4 and Root and the information is spread all around the forum. I will therefore give a straight answer here: 2.3.4 can be rooted now.
Flash UK.184-> Generic_World(Nordic).181 ->Root + OTA = Rooted 2.3.4

Here is the link for the .181 firmware: http://www.mediafire.com/?y9s73andrl4bllc


This method with .184 first, always works for me.

I made it safe with the LED/battery problem, so I flashed the UK.184 first before I flashed the one above (.181) and I had no problem with LED/battery!


-Turn off your phone and flash to UK.184 firmware (wipe data).
-Start your phone and agree to the normal stuff (note: no battery problem now).
-Turn off your phone once more.
-Flash Generic_World(Nordic).181 and start your phone again (wipe data).
-Plug in your USB-cable to the computer and phone again (ignore PCC companion set-up).
-Make sure USB-debugging is activated in the settings menu.
-Install Gingerbreak 1.2 and press "Root the phone".
-The phone reboots by itself in about 30 seconds after pressing Root (if not, pull down notification bar and press on mass storage and push mount SD-card - it works everytime)!
-After reboot and a long wait, go to settings and install OTA.
-Phone collects firmware OTA and reboots many times.
-Now Its working and you have rooted 2.3.4 :)

Don't touch anything else during this procedure.


UK.184 firmware is here: http://www.multiupload.com/LEA95XC5J0



--------------------------------------------------------

Read also this:
Edit 26/9: this is my findings after reading all posts:
After reading all posts I am getting an idea of the problem (but no solution if you already have problem).

(a) Some people had .368/.145 and flashed to .181 with Root and then OTA to 2.3.4 and it worked fine, (but they will probably get LED-problem next time they need to flash down because they obmitted the .184 step).

(b) Some people already had 2.3.4 and flashed to .181 and got LED-problem right away.

(c) Some people had .368/.145 and flashed first to .184 and then .181 with root before OTA to 2.3.4 and they seems to be fine.

(d) Some people (including me), already had 2.3.4 and flashed to .184 before flashing again to .181 with root and OTA to 2.3.4 and there was No LED-problem. (I also tried several times to flash down again without trouble, but always with .184 first).

Edit 3/10
(e) Some people coming from 2.3.2 can flash .2.3.2 again and root + update OTA to 2.3.4 (But ofcourse, when you want to go down again, be careful).


-So it seems that .181 alone makes the LED-trouble if you want to upgrade your firmware with root to 2.3.4.

-But a combination of .184 and .181 seems to work, when done the first time only!!! It is too late if you did any other way in the beginning.

I therefore don't think it is by chance or random to get LED-trouble, it depends on what you did in the first instance?
Ericsson fanboy since T28 (World) and perhaps a few Nokia inbetween.

The Following 42 Users Say Thank You to datagubben For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Retrosid
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 436
Join Date: Mar 2011
There's no other way to do it without flashing? I ain't got the knowledge to flash, plus I don't really trust this method cuz if I make something wrong, the only way to fix it is seus

Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App
 
jatt101
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2010
flashed back to 2.3.2 without any problems
The Following User Says Thank You to jatt101 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Flo95
Old
#4  
Flo95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 634
Posts: 2,882
Join Date: Oct 2010
If something goes wrong you can flash it with FlashTool, too and uncheck "wipe data" if you don't want to reflash with SEUS because of losing data.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App
Samsung Galaxy S4 - White Frost - Beats by Dr. Dre urBeats 2
HTC One X - Polar White
Apple iPad 2 - iOS 6.1.3

Feel free to hit the thanks button if I helped you
 
XperienceD
Old
#5  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2349
Posts: 7,215
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Here =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrosid View Post
I ain't got the knowledge to flash
Well you're in the best place to learn.
 
jatt101
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2010
nvm guys, dont try this, i ran into the 0% battery, but the first time i flashed it, it was fine, but the second time this happened, and now im getting an replacement device from rogers
 
datagubben
Old
#7  
datagubben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,182
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Landskrona
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatt101 View Post
nvm guys, dont try this, i ran into the 0% battery, but the first time i flashed it, it was fine, but the second time this happened, and now im getting an replacement device from rogers
I am not sure you understand or if you read everything posted here on xda-forum?

Read my post sciptum in the post, It says: "better to flash down to UK.184 first so you don't get battery problem"!!
 
jatt101
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2010
ahahahahaha man i totally didnt see that, i guess i was to excited , bro can you post the uk firmware as well though?, but the funny thing is i flashed the .181 firmware the first time without any problems, and i kinda messed up so i had to flash it again and thats when i ran into the problem, i suggest you post a proper procedure people like me might be to excited and might not read what you wrote LOL
 
datagubben
Old
#9  
datagubben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,182
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Landskrona
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatt101 View Post
ahahahahaha man i totally didnt see that, i guess i was to excited , bro can you post the uk firmware as well though?, but the funny thing is i flashed the .181 firmware the first time without any problems, and i kinda messed up so i had to flash it again and thats when i ran into the problem, i suggest you post a proper procedure people like me might be to excited and might not read what you wrote LOL
UK.184 is on the sticky thread on top of the Arc forum called "firmware index", but I will provide it here for you, lazy bugger!

http://www.multiupload.com/LEA95XC5J0
The Following User Says Thank You to datagubben For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jatt101
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by datagubben View Post
UK.184 is on the sticky thread on top of the Arc forum called "firmware index", but I will provide it here for you, lazy bugger!

http://www.multiupload.com/LEA95XC5J0
ahahha thanks man, so basically what you want us to do is flash the generic uk .184, and then flash the world generic .181, and then use gingerbreak to root it, and you have a rooted 2.3.4, but one thing that i dont understand is how does flashing the uk firmware prevent the battery problem, and why does it even occur?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes