Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

2.3.4 Root (with locked bootloader)

OP datagubben

23rd September 2011, 09:40 PM   |  #1  
datagubben's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Landskrona
Thanks Meter: 471
 
1,194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More


New method of rooting your Arc (zergRush method) press this link.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1312859



Warning: use .184 first or you will brick your device.

There are so many threads calling for 2.3.4 and Root and the information is spread all around the forum. I will therefore give a straight answer here: 2.3.4 can be rooted now.
Flash UK.184-> Generic_World(Nordic).181 ->Root + OTA = Rooted 2.3.4

Here is the link for the .181 firmware: http://www.mediafire.com/?y9s73andrl4bllc


This method with .184 first, always works for me.

I made it safe with the LED/battery problem, so I flashed the UK.184 first before I flashed the one above (.181) and I had no problem with LED/battery!


-Turn off your phone and flash to UK.184 firmware (wipe data).
-Start your phone and agree to the normal stuff (note: no battery problem now).
-Turn off your phone once more.
-Flash Generic_World(Nordic).181 and start your phone again (wipe data).
-Plug in your USB-cable to the computer and phone again (ignore PCC companion set-up).
-Make sure USB-debugging is activated in the settings menu.
-Install Gingerbreak 1.2 and press "Root the phone".
-The phone reboots by itself in about 30 seconds after pressing Root (if not, pull down notification bar and press on mass storage and push mount SD-card - it works everytime)!
-After reboot and a long wait, go to settings and install OTA.
-Phone collects firmware OTA and reboots many times.
-Now Its working and you have rooted 2.3.4 :)

Don't touch anything else during this procedure.


UK.184 firmware is here: http://www.multiupload.com/LEA95XC5J0



--------------------------------------------------------

Read also this:
Edit 26/9: this is my findings after reading all posts:
After reading all posts I am getting an idea of the problem (but no solution if you already have problem).

(a) Some people had .368/.145 and flashed to .181 with Root and then OTA to 2.3.4 and it worked fine, (but they will probably get LED-problem next time they need to flash down because they obmitted the .184 step).

(b) Some people already had 2.3.4 and flashed to .181 and got LED-problem right away.

(c) Some people had .368/.145 and flashed first to .184 and then .181 with root before OTA to 2.3.4 and they seems to be fine.

(d) Some people (including me), already had 2.3.4 and flashed to .184 before flashing again to .181 with root and OTA to 2.3.4 and there was No LED-problem. (I also tried several times to flash down again without trouble, but always with .184 first).

Edit 3/10
(e) Some people coming from 2.3.2 can flash .2.3.2 again and root + update OTA to 2.3.4 (But ofcourse, when you want to go down again, be careful).


-So it seems that .181 alone makes the LED-trouble if you want to upgrade your firmware with root to 2.3.4.

-But a combination of .184 and .181 seems to work, when done the first time only!!! It is too late if you did any other way in the beginning.

I therefore don't think it is by chance or random to get LED-trouble, it depends on what you did in the first instance?
Last edited by datagubben; 28th October 2011 at 12:49 AM.
The Following 42 Users Say Thank You to datagubben For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd September 2011, 10:09 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
436 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
There's no other way to do it without flashing? I ain't got the knowledge to flash, plus I don't really trust this method cuz if I make something wrong, the only way to fix it is seus

Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App
23rd September 2011, 10:12 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
flashed back to 2.3.2 without any problems
The Following User Says Thank You to jatt101 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd September 2011, 10:13 PM   |  #4  
Flo95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
2,882 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
If something goes wrong you can flash it with FlashTool, too and uncheck "wipe data" if you don't want to reflash with SEUS because of losing data.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App
23rd September 2011, 10:22 PM   |  #5  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Here =)
Thanks Meter: 2,440
 
7,361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrosid

I ain't got the knowledge to flash

Well you're in the best place to learn.
23rd September 2011, 10:41 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
nvm guys, dont try this, i ran into the 0% battery, but the first time i flashed it, it was fine, but the second time this happened, and now im getting an replacement device from rogers
23rd September 2011, 10:54 PM   |  #7  
datagubben's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Landskrona
Thanks Meter: 471
 
1,194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatt101

nvm guys, dont try this, i ran into the 0% battery, but the first time i flashed it, it was fine, but the second time this happened, and now im getting an replacement device from rogers

I am not sure you understand or if you read everything posted here on xda-forum?

Read my post sciptum in the post, It says: "better to flash down to UK.184 first so you don't get battery problem"!!
23rd September 2011, 11:00 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
ahahahahaha man i totally didnt see that, i guess i was to excited , bro can you post the uk firmware as well though?, but the funny thing is i flashed the .181 firmware the first time without any problems, and i kinda messed up so i had to flash it again and thats when i ran into the problem, i suggest you post a proper procedure people like me might be to excited and might not read what you wrote LOL
23rd September 2011, 11:05 PM   |  #9  
datagubben's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Landskrona
Thanks Meter: 471
 
1,194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatt101

ahahahahaha man i totally didnt see that, i guess i was to excited , bro can you post the uk firmware as well though?, but the funny thing is i flashed the .181 firmware the first time without any problems, and i kinda messed up so i had to flash it again and thats when i ran into the problem, i suggest you post a proper procedure people like me might be to excited and might not read what you wrote LOL

UK.184 is on the sticky thread on top of the Arc forum called "firmware index", but I will provide it here for you, lazy bugger!

http://www.multiupload.com/LEA95XC5J0
The Following User Says Thank You to datagubben For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd September 2011, 11:07 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by datagubben

UK.184 is on the sticky thread on top of the Arc forum called "firmware index", but I will provide it here for you, lazy bugger!

http://www.multiupload.com/LEA95XC5J0

ahahha thanks man, so basically what you want us to do is flash the generic uk .184, and then flash the world generic .181, and then use gingerbreak to root it, and you have a rooted 2.3.4, but one thing that i dont understand is how does flashing the uk firmware prevent the battery problem, and why does it even occur?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes