Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,319 Members 53,176 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Attn1 Hack Kit and ROM Questions

Tip us?

techcheat
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Default Attn1 Hack Kit and ROM Questions

I am a noob and recently got my hands on Inspire 4g. I have read the guide posted by Attn1 for hacking the phone. However I have the following questions:

1) Once the phone is hacked how do I install a custom ROM. The attn1 steps are not clear in this regards. I mean I disable fast boot -> Reboot into recover.> select and browse to the ROM file using volume and power? Is that all to it

2) Can I use my SD Card (I have only 1) that I convert for Gold card for other things like pictures, custom roms etc. In other words can I delete my GOLD card and use it for porting ROMs

MMM-BACONSTRIPS
Old
Thanks Meter 1,084
Regarding your first question, it's rather simple. Download the zip file for the specific rom you want. Place that zip file (do not unzip) on your SD card. Boot into recovery. Choose install zip from SD card. Pick the zip file. Wait for it to flash and your done. Reboot and have yourself a beer. Read the rom thread for the rom you want as some may require specific instructions for that specific rom.

Gene Poole
Old
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by techcheat View Post

2) Can I use my SD Card (I have only 1) that I convert for Gold card for other things like pictures, custom roms etc. In other words can I delete my GOLD card and use it for porting ROMs
The gold card is only needed for one step of the process. Once rooted, you cando anything you want with it. Format it, keep it as a spare, exchange it to another device, etc.

techcheat
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Thanks for all your suggestions. Now I am rooted

The next part is, can someone recommend the best ROM out there for my phone. I specially like the HTC Isnpire ring thingie.