FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[Q] Heimdall - "Claiming Interface Failed!"

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By nate633, Junior Member on 28th September 2011, 09:42 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am trying to use Heimdall to flash a kernel to my ET4G, but running into a problem. It is able to detect my device, but when I use the flash command I get the following message:

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
ERROR: Claiming interface failed!

This is Heimdall 1.3.0, OSX 10.7.1

Anyone know how to fix this? Thanks in advance!
 
 
28th September 2011, 04:47 PM |#2  
Kn0wBuddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento, CA
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Just to cover the obvious, you've enabled USB debugging, right?
28th September 2011, 07:33 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kn0wBuddy

Just to cover the obvious, you've enabled USB debugging, right?

Yes, it is enabled. I've tried every combination of USB settings and running the command with SU privs. I've installed Heimdall twice, to make sure it wasn't a bad install, and I've repaired permissions, and multiple reboots of both devices.
29th September 2011, 01:36 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Solved!

It was my Mac. I'd been having issues ever since installing Lion, especially with WiFi and beach balls. So, I did a complete erase and install, and the first thing I did was install Heimdall and ran it, worked perfectly!
5th October 2011, 08:52 PM |#5  
g4me0v3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Is there any way around this? I would like to avoid reinstalling my OS. I believe that I have the same exact set-up (with Lion). This is my very first time Rooting, coming from the HTC Touch Pro 2. Forgive my noobness...

Last edited by g4me0v3r; 5th October 2011 at 09:28 PM. Reason: Adding more info
8th October 2011, 07:38 PM |#6  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 25,326
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kn0wBuddy

Just to cover the obvious, you've enabled USB debugging, right?

100% irrelevant to Heimdall.

There's a Heimdall update in testing that is supposed to fix a lot of OSX issues.
8th October 2011, 10:44 PM |#7  
wase4711's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Outside of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 4,922
 
Donate to Me
More
same error message here also using lion..

any suggestions?

thanks
5th November 2011, 10:00 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Did anyone find a solution to this ?
14th November 2011, 03:58 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I'm having the same problems. Tried a few different things to get it to work, to no avail... Anyone else? Tried using ODIN in Wine as well, but no dice there.
14th November 2011, 10:49 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
For what it is worth, heimdall and heimdall-frontend from 64bit Linux, using the official packages off the website yields this:
Code:
# heimdall flash --repartition --pit s1_odin_20100512.pit --factoryfs factoryfs.rfs --cache cache.rfs --dbdata dbdata.rfs --primary-boot boot.bin --secondary-boot Sbl.bin --param param.lfs --kernel zImage --modem modem.bin
Heimdall v1.3.1, Copyright (c) 2010-2011, Benjamin Dobell, Glass Echidna


This software is provided free of charge. Copying and redistribution is
encouraged.

If you appreciate this software and you would like to support future
development please consider donating:

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
Setting up interface...
ERROR: Setting up interface failed!
I will keep digging around for solutions but I am fresh out of ideas. It detects the device, claims the interface and errors out in the setting up from what the output says.
The Following User Says Thank You to chGSD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd November 2011, 11:42 PM |#11  
ElectronicYank's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
im getting this error too! anyone find a fix?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Epic 4G Touch Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank