5,595,570 Members 46,476 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Heimdall - "Claiming Interface Failed!"

Tip us?
 
nate633
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] Heimdall - "Claiming Interface Failed!"

I am trying to use Heimdall to flash a kernel to my ET4G, but running into a problem. It is able to detect my device, but when I use the flash command I get the following message:

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
ERROR: Claiming interface failed!

This is Heimdall 1.3.0, OSX 10.7.1

Anyone know how to fix this? Thanks in advance!
 
Kn0wBuddy
Old
#2  
Kn0wBuddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 139
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Just to cover the obvious, you've enabled USB debugging, right?
 
nate633
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kn0wBuddy View Post
Just to cover the obvious, you've enabled USB debugging, right?
Yes, it is enabled. I've tried every combination of USB settings and running the command with SU privs. I've installed Heimdall twice, to make sure it wasn't a bad install, and I've repaired permissions, and multiple reboots of both devices.
 
nate633
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2010
Solved!

It was my Mac. I'd been having issues ever since installing Lion, especially with WiFi and beach balls. So, I did a complete erase and install, and the first thing I did was install Heimdall and ran it, worked perfectly!
 
g4me0v3r
Old
(Last edited by g4me0v3r; 5th October 2011 at 09:28 PM.) Reason: Adding more info
#5  
g4me0v3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Is there any way around this? I would like to avoid reinstalling my OS. I believe that I have the same exact set-up (with Lion). This is my very first time Rooting, coming from the HTC Touch Pro 2. Forgive my noobness...

 
Entropy512
Old
#6  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 23394
Posts: 12,777
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kn0wBuddy View Post
Just to cover the obvious, you've enabled USB debugging, right?
100% irrelevant to Heimdall.

There's a Heimdall update in testing that is supposed to fix a lot of OSX issues.
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
 
wase4711
Old
#7  
wase4711's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3230
Posts: 8,134
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Outside of Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
same error message here also using lion..

any suggestions?

thanks
 
sinkingfish
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 115
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dublin
Did anyone find a solution to this ?
 
admang
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2011
I'm having the same problems. Tried a few different things to get it to work, to no avail... Anyone else? Tried using ODIN in Wine as well, but no dice there.
 
chGSD
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2010
For what it is worth, heimdall and heimdall-frontend from 64bit Linux, using the official packages off the website yields this:
Code:
# heimdall flash --repartition --pit s1_odin_20100512.pit --factoryfs factoryfs.rfs --cache cache.rfs --dbdata dbdata.rfs --primary-boot boot.bin --secondary-boot Sbl.bin --param param.lfs --kernel zImage --modem modem.bin
Heimdall v1.3.1, Copyright (c) 2010-2011, Benjamin Dobell, Glass Echidna


This software is provided free of charge. Copying and redistribution is
encouraged.

If you appreciate this software and you would like to support future
development please consider donating:

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
Setting up interface...
ERROR: Setting up interface failed!
I will keep digging around for solutions but I am fresh out of ideas. It detects the device, claims the interface and errors out in the setting up from what the output says.

The Following User Says Thank You to chGSD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes