5,600,053 Members 42,632 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

*Bootloader Unlock Research* Cheesecake Clarification

Tip us?
 
phydo
Old
(Last edited by phydo; 20th July 2012 at 01:22 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, NJ
Default *Bootloader Unlock Research* Cheesecake Clarification

10 charact
Follow me on Twitter!

If you enjoy me, click thanks.
The Following 32 Users Say Thank You to phydo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phydo
Old
(Last edited by phydo; 20th July 2012 at 01:23 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, NJ
..........
Follow me on Twitter!

If you enjoy me, click thanks.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to phydo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phydo
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, NJ
Also reserved please
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to phydo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ROB281
Old
#4  
ROB281's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 455
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Houston
This sounds like something that can kill a lot if time while I'm in the office.

What are we looking for when doing this?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to ROB281 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phydo
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB281 View Post
This sounds like something that can kill a lot if time while I'm in the office.

What are we looking for when doing this?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium
Well, I'll get to the point soon. still modifying the post. but basically the gist of it is to check ALL of motorola's update servers for updates, not just the one that comes programmed into the device. If we're lucky and we find a hidden update, we may be able to get an unlocked bootloader (or other goodies?), which will allow us to use our device as we please (new kernels, better mods, etc)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to phydo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
karthakon
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 48
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Thanks for writing this up, I've been hesitant to try it since some of the paths/files in other posts did not exist on the Bionic.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using XDA App
 
phydo
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by karthakon View Post
Thanks for writing this up, I've been hesitant to try it since some of the paths/files in other posts did not exist on the Bionic.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using XDA App
Well, I was bold and basically just created the files. When I ran the *#*#4636#*#* test, I found that it did indeed change my could update server.

also the com.motorola.blur.setup was in /data/data/ and not the system/etc/motorola.
The Following User Says Thank You to phydo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brickinphoneslol
Old
#8  
brickinphoneslol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 100
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central FL
Thank you.

Sent from my ADR6400L using xda premium
 
K.AuthoR
Old
#9  
K.AuthoR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 149
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thank you for this. The previous directions were based on the Atrix so there were a lot of files listed that I never saw so I felt unsafe just making them up and moving things around. I'll get on this sometime in the very near future.
 
phydo
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lebanon, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by K.AuthoR View Post
Thank you for this. The previous directions were based on the Atrix so there were a lot of files listed that I never saw so I felt unsafe just making them up and moving things around. I'll get on this sometime in the very near future.
I actually have been testing some methods that may not even req a wipe in between or possible before

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
Follow me on Twitter!

If you enjoy me, click thanks.

The Following User Says Thank You to phydo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes