Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] any hardware different on sk17a or i ?

OP newmobile1

29th September 2011, 09:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hi,

are there any HW different between the SK17A or SK17I or its only FW issue?

Thanks
29th September 2011, 10:17 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmobile1

Hi,

are there any HW different between the SK17A or SK17I or its only FW issue?

Thanks

Radios are different, frequency for high speed 3G in the US require SK17A.

Mike
29th September 2011, 10:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
what you say is FW different between the A and I but is dose the SK17A have different HW from the SK17i ?
30th September 2011, 01:26 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmobile1

what you say is FW different between the A and I but is dose the SK17A have different HW from the SK17i ?

No, that's not what I said. The hardware, radio that communicates with the cell tower, is different in the two models. Firmware can't change the frequency of the radio.

Mike
21st December 2011, 07:18 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Heredia
Thanks Meter: 1
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by panamamike

No, that's not what I said. The hardware, radio that communicates with the cell tower, is different in the two models. Firmware can't change the frequency of the radio.

Mike

That means I can install a ROM build for a SK17i on a SK17a?
22nd December 2011, 04:30 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaNRo

That means I can install a ROM build for a SK17i on a SK17a?

Without losing the SK17A 3g capabilities?

I was wondering this exact thing yesterday while looking for newer firmware.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes