FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

AGPS Patch LG Optimus One 3.1 & 2.2 | GET BACK TO RAPID GPS LOCK & MORE SATS

2,473 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
11th November 2011, 05:09 AM |#121  
crypted's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by richua

Thanks for this great patch.

arcee from the CM team has written that the Tegra GPS driver in the LG O2x/G2x looks for SUPL_CERT in gps.conf, not SUPL_TLS_CERT. Is this something you or your testers can confirm?

I manually switched it over and get locks about a minute faster.

I'll see about that. Are you saying this is for all ROM's or just CM's ROM and how its driver handles SUPL? One would assume that if it were just CM, I could add the extra variable to the patch for LG specifics. But I do find it odd, the LG stock ROM used the TLS in the gps.conf I retrieved.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXDee

Where does your xtra.bin come from?
I downloaded it and the hashes are different, so i assume you're not just mirroring the files?

T'is a secret I will never tell!!! If you review the start of some of my threads, I was accused of sorcery, witchcraft, magic, and being a lying scoundrel. Further, it was laid out that I wasn't worth anything to the development community. That part may have been right.
 
 
11th November 2011, 11:21 PM |#122  
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypted

I'll see about that. Are you saying this is for all ROM's or just CM's ROM and how its driver handles SUPL? One would assume that if it were just CM, I could add the extra variable to the patch for LG specifics. But I do find it odd, the LG stock ROM used the TLS in the gps.conf I retrieved.

This was anecdotal information put out by the owner of the CM KANG that I'm running so I'm not too sure. He works closely with arcee on a variety of issues. I would venture a guess that it is specific to CM on LG devices but it is the first time I've seen that in any gps.conf file. For now I wouldn't worry about it. I'm using the stock SUPL_TLS_CERT variable and it works fine.
12th November 2011, 04:15 AM |#123  
crypted's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by richua

This was anecdotal information put out by the owner of the CM KANG that I'm running so I'm not too sure. He works closely with arcee on a variety of issues. I would venture a guess that it is specific to CM on LG devices but it is the first time I've seen that in any gps.conf file. For now I wouldn't worry about it. I'm using the stock SUPL_TLS_CERT variable and it works fine.

Thanks for the follow-up. Let me know if it ever comes evident that the variable has become useful on other ROMs you use. It could be that a stock upgrade had changes in lib's that necessitate that variable be changed, but that would also mean that an upgraded stock ROM would have a new gps.conf evidencing those changes. I don't know when the gps.conf I received from stock was made relative to any upgrades.
14th November 2011, 11:56 AM |#124  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
how do i use this in mik's cm 6.5.8, plz help and which patch shuld i use??
14th November 2011, 12:42 PM |#125  
crypted's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashishsaggu

how do i use this in mik's cm 6.5.8, plz help and which patch shuld i use??

Read the first two parts of the Notes Section.
14th November 2011, 12:47 PM |#126  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
i did.. but none of the methods seem to work for me...
14th November 2011, 06:00 PM |#127  
crypted's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashishsaggu

i did.. but none of the methods seem to work for me...

What doesn't seem to work? They fail to copy files? Or, you fail to receive satellite signal? Please paint the picture for us so that someone can try to assist you.
The Following User Says Thank You to crypted For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2011, 06:12 PM |#128  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
1st and 2nd method... cudnt get the files to copy... both sed fail!! but nw the recovery one worked and i copied the google specifed patch via cwr. will try gps nw.. thnks
14th November 2011, 10:10 PM |#129  
Garuxa's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santiago
Thanks Meter: 219
 
More
@crypted your patch (I tried Google Specific 3.0) works great on Oxygen, in just 3 to 5 seconds I detected about 8 to 12 satellites

Great job!
15th November 2011, 05:02 AM |#130  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
crypted, thanks for your time and effort with this patch seems like it works well for most.

Earlier it obviously didn't work for me... no lock or lock way off (2.0) with 2.2 and 3.0 it works much better, BUT it takes some time for the first initial lock... im talking it will never lock on, you have to turn off gps, then turn it back on and relaunch app. i tried both LG specific and Tmobile specific (im on tmobile usa network) of both 2.2 and 3.0 and they both did the same thing... and on occasion would lock on way off in the same spot 2.0 would (somewhere in nevada... im in southern california)

Thinking it might be my rom i went back and grabbed the gps.conf from the ORIGINAL from the factory tmobile / lg rom that i had a backup of (there was no suplrootcert). I deleted your suplrootcert and gps.conf... put the original factory gps.conf in place changed permissions, rebooted. I let the phone start up. turned on gps, started maps... boom almost instant lock, no need to turn gps off turn back on and restart maps. so it looks as if im sticking with this gps.conf from the original rom. I attached it, maybe theres something in there you can use
Attached Files
File Type: zip gps-conf-FACTORY_TMOBILE_android-2.2.2.zip - [Click for QR Code] (677 Bytes, 14 views)
15th November 2011, 02:16 PM |#131  
crypted's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,174
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh

crypted, thanks for your time and effort with this patch seems like it works well for most.

Earlier it obviously didn't work for me... no lock or lock way off (2.0) with 2.2 and 3.0 it works much better, BUT it takes some time for the first initial lock... im talking it will never lock on, you have to turn off gps, then turn it back on and relaunch app. i tried both LG specific and Tmobile specific (im on tmobile usa network) of both 2.2 and 3.0 and they both did the same thing... and on occasion would lock on way off in the same spot 2.0 would (somewhere in nevada... im in southern california)

Thinking it might be my rom i went back and grabbed the gps.conf from the ORIGINAL from the factory tmobile / lg rom that i had a backup of (there was no suplrootcert). I deleted your suplrootcert and gps.conf... put the original factory gps.conf in place changed permissions, rebooted. I let the phone start up. turned on gps, started maps... boom almost instant lock, no need to turn gps off turn back on and restart maps. so it looks as if im sticking with this gps.conf from the original rom. I attached it, maybe theres something in there you can use

If you're in the mood at some point, please re-use my GPS (don't care which build) but do not use the SUPL. Let me know if that fixes it. A couple other users of this device have noted that their phones are not interpreting SUPL data properly. This results in far-off locations, not aGPS.

I must mention that my patch does not edit or redo any processing LIB files. Such issues would be ROM specific. But, the workaround for using my patch and getting great locks for them was removing the SUPL cert so that SUPL TLS wasn't utilized.

EDIT: I confirmed that the GPS you attached above is nearly equal to my GPS.CONF for LG phones. I would use the LG build for sure. When I say equal-to, I kept specific variables for LG included in the LG Build while making other necessary changes like I did across all builds.
Last edited by crypted; 15th November 2011 at 02:21 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
agps, gps, location, lock, maps
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes