FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

Default Fast Dormancy Setting ATT GS2

82 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By sklinger, Member on 5th October 2011, 03:55 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have the international version which defaults to "enabled." I was curious what the AT&T network engineers set their version at as I am on AT&T's.

This works on the international version and hopefully it does on AT&Ts
1: Dial *#9900#

You will have the option on the screen to enable/disable the setting.

There is much debate on the international forum on the impact of this setting to data speeds/battery life on different carriers.

Thanks in advance!
 
 
5th October 2011, 04:04 AM |#2  
tycon's Avatar
Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
My option is to enable. So I am assuming that it's disabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sklinger

I have the international version which defaults to "enabled." I was curious what the AT&T network engineers set their version at as I am on AT&T's.

This works on the international version and hopefully it does on AT&Ts
1: Dial *#9900#

You will have the option on the screen to enable/disable the setting.

There is much debate on the international forum on the impact of this setting to data speeds/battery life on different carriers.

Thanks in advance!

The Following User Says Thank You to tycon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th October 2011, 04:13 AM |#3  
sweetboy02125's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 420
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tycon

My option is to enable. So I am assuming that it's disabled.

the same here
The Following User Says Thank You to sweetboy02125 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th October 2011, 04:14 AM |#4  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 25,289
 
Donate to Me
More
Yup, seems disabled by default. I believe AT&T's network doesn't support FD.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Entropy512 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th October 2011, 08:22 AM |#5  
mbze430's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles Area
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
from what I understand that the Apple's IOS 4.2 has built in FD that prolong the life of the battery on AT&T's network.

Engaget Article on IOS 4.2 and FD

Quote:

To avoid this, AT&T researchers (again in collaboration with the University of Michigan colleagues) are proposing Tail Optimization Protocol (TOP), which implements fast dormancy using a simple interface that coordinates among currently running apps before demoting the device.


http://www.research.att.com/articles...id=gN0JMJ3DvMk



But as to WHICH type of fast dormancy the phone support is beyond my knowledge
Last edited by mbze430; 20th October 2011 at 08:34 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to mbze430 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2012, 11:13 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
I will try to do some testing and report back to see with it on and off and how it affects my data speeds and battery life and will try to report back...
15th February 2012, 11:48 PM |#7  
kytrauma's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bardstown
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
I'm running checkrom, dd 2/7, and kj1 modem and mine was enabled by default.

Sent from my unf#cked att sgs2
16th February 2012, 04:10 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I get the following when I try that #
"Connection problem or invalid MMI code"
16th February 2012, 04:57 PM |#9  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 25,289
 
Donate to Me
More
It seems like changing it in that menu does nothing - however, whether it is enabled or disabled by default may matter. Hellraised I9100 firmwares seem to almost always provide better battery performance with the UCKH7 modem than I777 firmwares, and FD might be part of the reason why.

UCKK6 modem had power consumption issues for me. Drain at my desk (weak signal) was higher for the UCKK6 modem than UCKH7 running on a device with a permanent wakelock held! (A bit under 1%/hour for UCKH7 normal operation, around 1.2%/hour for UCKH7 modem + wakelock and for UCKK6 + no wakelock) All of these are on XWKL1 system base running recent Daily Driver kernel releases.
The Following User Says Thank You to Entropy512 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2012, 07:15 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon_99

I get the following when I try that #
"Connection problem or invalid MMI code"

Are you using a 3rd party dialer like go dialer? The codes only work on the stock dialer.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes