FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] (Q) Root on the Pantech Breakout?

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By PaulimusMaximus, Junior Member on 5th October 2011, 10:45 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I know I most likely have to wait awhile for the breakout to be rooted. I was just wondering if any of the developers on this site where actually looking at doing it as we speak? I have tried using other methods currently out there to see and no luck so far.
 
 
6th October 2011, 05:29 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just got mine. Looking to root too.
6th October 2011, 10:47 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I have also tried many different root methods none of which have proved successful. I recently had to upgrade from a droid incredible.i also have the Asus transformer which is the financial reason I had to settle with the Pantech. With the upgrade I lost my free tethering ability, I am now back to the Incredible until I can figure out how to root the Pantech. If anybody has some knight please let me know thanks.
7th October 2011, 09:47 PM |#4  
lazarus2297's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
not sure if this will help but I posted the breakout system dump here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post18211013
The Following User Says Thank You to lazarus2297 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th October 2011, 11:11 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I also found how to get into recovery by powerng off then holding power and the search button while powering on. However I am still unable to root. Maybe I am not understanding what the system dump is.
10th October 2011, 08:36 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Grand Rapids
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
A system dump is when a dev gets the phone to copy the entire Android OS to the computer sort of like a dump truck dumping it's content into a hole you made (in layman's terms). This allows the devs unfettered and unrestricted access to the core of the phone's software components which they use to find a flaw in the system that allows the phone to be rooted. That's step one.

Step 2 is after the phone's OS has been rooted is to use that to gain access to the phone's boot loader and install a 3rd party recovery (like clockwork) that will show up when you press the power button + the search button. Right now you only get the stock Pantech bootloader area which does nothing unless you have the Pantech stock firmware and a special software verification key. You have neither.

Step 3 is then using the stock firmware dump to create custom, flashable ROM's which you can then flash using the 3rd party recovery software.

We're well into step one with the system dump. I'm gonna grab it and see what exactly they did to stop Gingerbreak.
11th October 2011, 11:45 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks for the information D.. I am going crazy I had just bought my Asus transformer so did not have enough money to buy the Bionic. Verizon initially told me i would be able to use the Pantech for unlimited tethering since I had a grandfathered plan now they told me it would be 30$ for 2gb a month. I am in desperate need to root the Breakout if anybody has any insight it would be much appreciated
12th October 2011, 05:55 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Mesa
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
[Q] How to root a pantech breakout
Is there a way to root a pantech breakout yet? I have tried superonclick, gingerbreak, and z4mod with no luck & I am running android os v 2.3.3 gingerbreaed.
12th October 2011, 07:02 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Not yet, from what I've seen. And I'm with ya, tried all the current rooters. But looks like Google patched something in the 2.3.3 release that blocks the current methods. Hopefully someone will find something soon (wish I knew enough about programming). This is an awesome little phone, and with a little root and customization, will be amazing.
13th October 2011, 05:24 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksehwail

Thanks for the information D.. I am going crazy I had just bought my Asus transformer so did not have enough money to buy the Bionic. Verizon initially told me i would be able to use the Pantech for unlimited tethering since I had a grandfathered plan now they told me it would be 30$ for 2gb a month. I am in desperate need to root the Breakout if anybody has any insight it would be much appreciated

have you tried the wifi hotspot app on market? It works for the breakout and u don't neeed to signup for mobile hotspot.
17th October 2011, 10:45 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I am unable to find any apps that support wifi tethering on the Breakout. I have tried many including barnacle, pdanet, and more all to no avail. The only way I am able to use the Breakout as a hotspot is by using the preinstalled verizon app. I am currently on an ulimited everything plan and have been given a month free tethering. however, I am being told that I have a 2gb monthly limit and will be charged for any overages even with the "free" month. It was my understanding that having an unlimited data/web plan that tethering would follow suite, guess not. If anybody can offer some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes