5,606,409 Members 33,419 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] (Q) Root on the Pantech Breakout?

Tip us?
 
PaulimusMaximus
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle
Default [Q] (Q) Root on the Pantech Breakout?

So I know I most likely have to wait awhile for the breakout to be rooted. I was just wondering if any of the developers on this site where actually looking at doing it as we speak? I have tried using other methods currently out there to see and no luck so far.
 
terpsfan
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Just got mine. Looking to root too.
 
Ksehwail
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 65
Join Date: Apr 2009
I have also tried many different root methods none of which have proved successful. I recently had to upgrade from a droid incredible.i also have the Asus transformer which is the financial reason I had to settle with the Pantech. With the upgrade I lost my free tethering ability, I am now back to the Incredible until I can figure out how to root the Pantech. If anybody has some knight please let me know thanks.
 
lazarus2297
Old
#4  
lazarus2297's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 777
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
not sure if this will help but I posted the breakout system dump here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post18211013
John 14:6 "Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me."
The Following User Says Thank You to lazarus2297 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ksehwail
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 65
Join Date: Apr 2009
I also found how to get into recovery by powerng off then holding power and the search button while powering on. However I am still unable to root. Maybe I am not understanding what the system dump is.
 
dalladubb
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 54
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids
A system dump is when a dev gets the phone to copy the entire Android OS to the computer sort of like a dump truck dumping it's content into a hole you made (in layman's terms). This allows the devs unfettered and unrestricted access to the core of the phone's software components which they use to find a flaw in the system that allows the phone to be rooted. That's step one.

Step 2 is after the phone's OS has been rooted is to use that to gain access to the phone's boot loader and install a 3rd party recovery (like clockwork) that will show up when you press the power button + the search button. Right now you only get the stock Pantech bootloader area which does nothing unless you have the Pantech stock firmware and a special software verification key. You have neither.

Step 3 is then using the stock firmware dump to create custom, flashable ROM's which you can then flash using the 3rd party recovery software.

We're well into step one with the system dump. I'm gonna grab it and see what exactly they did to stop Gingerbreak.
 
Ksehwail
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 65
Join Date: Apr 2009
Thanks for the information D.. I am going crazy I had just bought my Asus transformer so did not have enough money to buy the Bionic. Verizon initially told me i would be able to use the Pantech for unlimited tethering since I had a grandfathered plan now they told me it would be 30$ for 2gb a month. I am in desperate need to root the Breakout if anybody has any insight it would be much appreciated
 
raze5115
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default [Q] How to root a pantech breakout

Is there a way to root a pantech breakout yet? I have tried superonclick, gingerbreak, and z4mod with no luck & I am running android os v 2.3.3 gingerbreaed.
 
drewsephvladmir
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Not yet, from what I've seen. And I'm with ya, tried all the current rooters. But looks like Google patched something in the 2.3.3 release that blocks the current methods. Hopefully someone will find something soon (wish I knew enough about programming). This is an awesome little phone, and with a little root and customization, will be amazing.
 
terpsfan
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksehwail View Post
Thanks for the information D.. I am going crazy I had just bought my Asus transformer so did not have enough money to buy the Bionic. Verizon initially told me i would be able to use the Pantech for unlimited tethering since I had a grandfathered plan now they told me it would be 30$ for 2gb a month. I am in desperate need to root the Breakout if anybody has any insight it would be much appreciated
have you tried the wifi hotspot app on market? It works for the breakout and u don't neeed to signup for mobile hotspot.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes