T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

I got Whatsapp workin' on my WiFi Tab, I guess?!

OP jorisvdende

23rd November 2011, 12:02 PM   |  #11  
jorisvdende's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Arnhem
Thanks Meter: 23
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
When WA is running in the background of your phone, the messages won't get to your Tab. That's right. If you kill WA on your phone and then start WA on your Tab, the message will come through.
It's a shame messages won't sync between the two devices though...

Sent from my HTC HD2
23rd November 2011, 02:42 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Richmond Hill
Thanks Meter: 10
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker972

Well, something isn't clear...as I know whatsapp can only work on one device (with the same number), I tried to install it on my tab, but when I start it, it kills whatsapp on my iPhone.

Also I have another problem, installed whatsapp on my tab, and registered it with another number, but I don't have any contact imported...contacts are synchronized with gmail account...anyone knows a solution for this?

The reason it works on android tablet is same back up is restored from android phone to android tablet, so WA assumes its the same device, its a different situation with iphone because you can not do as did with android phone and tab combination
25th November 2011, 03:31 AM   |  #13  
Member
Flag Santiago
Thanks Meter: 4
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
i think the solution so "synchronize" the messages is to use another phone number to register the tabs whatsapp backup (backup from a phone with a different number and restore on the tab) and keep all conversations in a group chat.

For example, if i use whatsapp to talk to my girlfriend, i will start a whatass group chat, add my girlfirend and my galaxy tab whatass number, so "the 3 of us" can communicate. Its like having a threesome i guess.
25th November 2011, 10:52 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Flag Here
Thanks Meter: 451
 
1,008 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I got it working through another method..
But just nativly installing whatsapp, after using a certain modem.bin

It also enabled text messaging on the tab..

Btw..
Everyone should try JaxtrSMS, this sends messages through internet which the receiver will receive as a normal text message
I got the modem file from the forum here but I don't know where exactly..
Ill attach it here for now, flash through ODIN..
First unpack it with winrar or anything..
i have been using this with my Galaxy tab 3G GT-p7500
I'm using a custom 3.2 rom with Riego kernel
texting & whatsapp work bot, as does JaxtrSMS

If this helped you please use the Thanks button
Attached Files
File Type: rar modem.rar - [Click for QR Code] (3.88 MB, 139 views)
28th November 2011, 10:59 AM   |  #15  
Willy318is's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Egypt
Thanks Meter: 177
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
Donate to Me
More
Always Download the Latest version through the WhatsApp website, forget about the Android Market - even if you can find it - .

This solves the Contacts NAMES problem, Tried!
15th December 2011, 07:18 AM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Whatsapp on Galaxy Tab 10.1
I am really new to this, I have just recently purchase a Galaxy Tab 10.1 wifi only (model : GT-P7510) using build Android version 3.1

I have downloaded the .apk file and try to install it on my Galaxy Tab, I am able to successfuly install the file but I am not able to run the application, getting error "We can't identify your device. Please turn off the phone, take out the battery, restart it and try it again. (Note: tablets are currently not supported).

I can see the previous posting suggested using Titanium BackUp for Whatsapp and transfering to the phone, (if i am not mistaken, that will means rooting the phone, is there any option that doesn't require rooting the phone?)

Please advise, what can I do to use Whatsapp on my Galaxy Tab 10.1


Many Thanks in advance.

- To regret one's own experiences is to arrest one's own development. To deny one's own experiences is to put a lie into the lips of one's own life.
16th December 2011, 05:31 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 119
 
1,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I dont use the App but I read your method and I must say it is pretty creative solution. It probably would work for most apps that arent compatible with the tab and your phone (and perhaps vice versa)
16th December 2011, 09:58 AM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy318is

Always Download the Latest version through the WhatsApp website, forget about the Android Market - even if you can find it - .

This solves the Contacts NAMES problem, Tried!

The version from the Whatsapp website doesn't support custom roms?
19th December 2011, 05:53 PM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 3
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Its great to know it by your sharing thanks a lot
20th December 2011, 11:45 PM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Thumbs up
Exellent !!!

Long time I was looking for that

Thanks jorisvdende !

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
whatsapp wifi sgt
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes