FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

I got Whatsapp workin' on my WiFi Tab, I guess?!

279 posts
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
4th January 2012, 02:34 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by john_jaysee

I am really new to this, I have just recently purchase a Galaxy Tab 10.1 wifi only (model : GT-P7510) using build Android version 3.1

I have downloaded the .apk file and try to install it on my Galaxy Tab, I am able to successfuly install the file but I am not able to run the application, getting error "We can't identify your device. Please turn off the phone, take out the battery, restart it and try it again. (Note: tablets are currently not supported).

I can see the previous posting suggested using Titanium BackUp for Whatsapp and transfering to the phone, (if i am not mistaken, that will means rooting the phone, is there any option that doesn't require rooting the phone?)

Please advise, what can I do to use Whatsapp on my Galaxy Tab 10.1


Many Thanks in advance.

- To regret one's own experiences is to arrest one's own development. To deny one's own experiences is to put a lie into the lips of one's own life.

unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again
 
 
7th January 2012, 05:08 PM |#22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Nice technique.I'll try it out one of these days.
8th January 2012, 01:57 PM |#23  
tonidavid5's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I solved the contact name / phone number synchronization problem by going to whatsapp settings --> More --> Show all contacts (mark it to 'yes')

Cheers
9th April 2012, 09:08 PM |#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanriver12

unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again


I did that but same error.

I cannot install whatsapp on my galaxy tab 10.1 wifi only P7510.
10th April 2012, 05:48 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giblet-dono

I got it working through another method..
But just nativly installing whatsapp, after using a certain modem.bin

It also enabled text messaging on the tab..

Thanks, needed this as my tablet is Android, but my phone runs WP7. So I can not use the backup/restore method. My issue is in what directory do I place the modem.bin file on the tablet?
12th April 2012, 12:49 AM |#26  
misterright321's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
for me it also work with another backup.
just use the same on tablet and mobile.

but thanks
29th June 2012, 03:54 PM |#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Whatapps is works!
I can use my whatapps in Galaxy Tab 10.1 Wifi
What you need?

a) Both devices have Titanium Backup Pro
b) 2 Phone No. ( one no. cannot use at both device)

SIMCARD Device:
First, clean up and uninstall whatapps program in your SIMCARD device
At usual , insert the simcard(No.) that you want use in 10.1 wifi
install whatapps as usual, get the sms(code) and key in
get a freshcopy of whatapps, and use Titanium Backup Pro
you will get 3 whatapps backup files at /sdcard/TitaniumBackup

1) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.properties
2) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.tar
3) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.apk

then copy it to computer for reserve

Uninstall whatapps & clear whatapps data in simcard device, take out the simcard

Tab 10.1 WIFI:
Copy those 3 files to /sdcard/TitaniumBackup, use Titanium Backup restore APP+DATA

Now you can use whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi with wifi connection.
&
DONTX10 .....STUPID to use Same Phone No. in both Devices & I also not suggest update your whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi
14th February 2013, 06:00 PM |#28  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Geylang
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
how can this be accomplished if my tab is not rooted? its mandatory it remains stock. any help appreciated. thanks
15th February 2013, 07:55 PM |#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
This worked for me, 2 different numbers. Dont need root either.

[HOWTO] Install Whatsapp working On Nexus 7! [1/03/13]

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2061176
The Following User Says Thank You to moaustin316 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 03:40 AM |#30  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Geylang
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
that's a very helpful reference. but now that i read it requires whatsapp to be running exclusively only on one device per phone number, i will work on this when i get another number then. thanks!
16th February 2013, 08:32 PM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtdc

that's a very helpful reference. but now that i read it requires whatsapp to be running exclusively only on one device per phone number, i will work on this when i get another number then. thanks!

I used my work phone number as my second number. I then synced my contacts from my phone to my tab and I was able to add my tablet to group messages. Whatsapp looks real good on the tab.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
whatsapp wifi sgt

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes