Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,938 Members 49,534 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I got Whatsapp workin' on my WiFi Tab, I guess?!

Tip us?
 
sanriver12
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 193
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by john_jaysee View Post
I am really new to this, I have just recently purchase a Galaxy Tab 10.1 wifi only (model : GT-P7510) using build Android version 3.1

I have downloaded the .apk file and try to install it on my Galaxy Tab, I am able to successfuly install the file but I am not able to run the application, getting error "We can't identify your device. Please turn off the phone, take out the battery, restart it and try it again. (Note: tablets are currently not supported).

I can see the previous posting suggested using Titanium BackUp for Whatsapp and transfering to the phone, (if i am not mistaken, that will means rooting the phone, is there any option that doesn't require rooting the phone?)

Please advise, what can I do to use Whatsapp on my Galaxy Tab 10.1


Many Thanks in advance.

- To regret one's own experiences is to arrest one's own development. To deny one's own experiences is to put a lie into the lips of one's own life.
unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again
 
aieromon
Old
#22  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2012
Nice technique.I'll try it out one of these days.
 
tonidavid5
Old
#23  
tonidavid5's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
I solved the contact name / phone number synchronization problem by going to whatsapp settings --> More --> Show all contacts (mark it to 'yes')

Cheers
 
gugga786
Old
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanriver12 View Post
unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again

I did that but same error.

I cannot install whatsapp on my galaxy tab 10.1 wifi only P7510.
 
sonus
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 827
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giblet-dono View Post
I got it working through another method..
But just nativly installing whatsapp, after using a certain modem.bin

It also enabled text messaging on the tab..
Thanks, needed this as my tablet is Android, but my phone runs WP7. So I can not use the backup/restore method. My issue is in what directory do I place the modem.bin file on the tablet?
Phones
SonyEricsson T68i / SonyEricsson T616 / HTC Tornado/ HTC Touch Cruise / HTC Touch Diamond 2 / Apple iPhone 3G / LG KS20 / SonyEricsson Xperia X1a/ LG Optimus 7 (e900h) / Sony Xperia SL (so many bugs!) / Nokia Lumia 925

Tablets
HP Touchpad/ HTC Flyer/ MS Surface / Sony Vaio Duo i7, Surface Pro 2 & iPad Mini
 
misterright321
Old
#26  
misterright321's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 65
Join Date: Apr 2010
for me it also work with another backup.
just use the same on tablet and mobile.

but thanks
Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 root, rom Rarity v3.8 rom
Samsung Galaxy tab 10.1 p7500 broodcomb
Acer A500 root, rom Virtuous Galaxy v. 1.0.5
 
antonywan
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Whatapps is works!

I can use my whatapps in Galaxy Tab 10.1 Wifi
What you need?

a) Both devices have Titanium Backup Pro
b) 2 Phone No. ( one no. cannot use at both device)

SIMCARD Device:
First, clean up and uninstall whatapps program in your SIMCARD device
At usual , insert the simcard(No.) that you want use in 10.1 wifi
install whatapps as usual, get the sms(code) and key in
get a freshcopy of whatapps, and use Titanium Backup Pro
you will get 3 whatapps backup files at /sdcard/TitaniumBackup

1) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.properties
2) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.tar
3) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.apk

then copy it to computer for reserve

Uninstall whatapps & clear whatapps data in simcard device, take out the simcard

Tab 10.1 WIFI:
Copy those 3 files to /sdcard/TitaniumBackup, use Titanium Backup restore APP+DATA

Now you can use whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi with wifi connection.
&
DONTX10 .....STUPID to use Same Phone No. in both Devices & I also not suggest update your whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi
 
jtdc
Old
#28  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 606
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geylang
how can this be accomplished if my tab is not rooted? its mandatory it remains stock. any help appreciated. thanks
LG-D820 & ME571K on KTU84P
Sony D2005 on 4.3
A1395 on iOS 7.0.4 | A1432 on iOS 7.1.1
 
moaustin316
Old
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2012
This worked for me, 2 different numbers. Dont need root either.

[HOWTO] Install Whatsapp working On Nexus 7! [1/03/13]

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2061176
The Following User Says Thank You to moaustin316 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jtdc
Old
#30  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 606
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geylang
that's a very helpful reference. but now that i read it requires whatsapp to be running exclusively only on one device per phone number, i will work on this when i get another number then. thanks!
LG-D820 & ME571K on KTU84P
Sony D2005 on 4.3
A1395 on iOS 7.0.4 | A1432 on iOS 7.1.1

Tags
whatsapp wifi sgt
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more