FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

ALL Galaxy Tab 8.9 Questions Go Here

9,536 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,577
 
By lufc, Retired Senior Moderator / Resident Priest on 9th October 2011, 05:40 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th October 2011, 07:05 AM |#51  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
1010
More
Root your device. Buy titanium backup or bloat freezer. Then use it to freeze or uninstall as much as possible. I'm sure there's plenty of folks that will provide a list of stuff that's safe to remove...
 
 
17th October 2011, 12:51 PM |#52  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 402
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dornier

Just picked up the 8.9 and love the size, but can't stand the lag. I really want to keep this thing, but the home screen lag is very annoying. I'm not running live wallpaper and only running two Widgets. I removed all of the Widgets and it helps a little, but not enough. Is this a touchwiz or honeycomb 3.1 issue. Does anyone think Samsung will address this issue soon?

Thanks,

GP

Use ADW EX launcher instead of touchwiz. Also, don't be so quick to get rid of your device just yet. You gotta bear in mind, this is still a very new device on the market, so there hasn't been a whole lot of development for it yet. Hell, we still don't even have our own forum! Believe me, once the ball gets rolling for us, all the little niggles we have now will be addressed.
17th October 2011, 04:15 PM |#53  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Had downloaded ROM from sammobile.com, but I am not quite sure how to use Odin... Which files (PIT, BOOTLOADER, PDA, CSC) should be selected to flash wifi model?
17th October 2011, 04:46 PM |#54  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 402
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjmur

Had downloaded ROM from sammobile.com, but I am not quite sure how to use Odin... Which files (PIT, BOOTLOADER, PDA, CSC) should be selected to flash wifi model?

Make sure you're using the P7310 firmware for the wifi model and not the P7300, otherwise you'll brick your device. The .tar files go in the PDA section. .pit files in the pit section etc.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jade Eyed Wolf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th October 2011, 05:07 PM |#55  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks! I have one last question, should I flash all 4 files?
17th October 2011, 05:16 PM |#56  
Senior Member
Baghdad
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jade Eyed Wolf

Make sure you're using the P7310 firmware for the wifi model and not the P7300, otherwise you'll brick your device. The .tar files go in the PDA section. .pit files in the pit section etc.

Are u sure ?
The P7300XWKI1 downloaded on Sammobile is a .tar archive, so directly flashable in Odin 1.85 (PDA section) ?
Correct me if i'm wrong, but no need to disassemble .tar archive, it's directly flashable isn't it ?
17th October 2011, 07:16 PM |#57  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 402
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luminouche

Are u sure ?
The P7300XWKI1 downloaded on Sammobile is a .tar archive, so directly flashable in Odin 1.85 (PDA section) ?
Correct me if i'm wrong, but no need to disassemble .tar archive, it's directly flashable isn't it ?

My understanding is that the KI1 firmware is a non-wipe flash, as long as you're only flashing the .tar file in the PDA section and nothing else. I haven't done this yet myself as there is no need for me as far as I can tell (if it ain't broke, don't fix it!) But to answer your question, no, you don't need to decompile or unzip the .tar file; it is directly flashable from Odin.

The point I was trying to make in my previous post was that the KI1 firmware is for the 3G 8.9 tab, NOT the wifi only 8.9. So if you have the wifi only tab, I would NOT recommend flashing the KI1 firmware.
Last edited by Jade Eyed Wolf; 17th October 2011 at 07:19 PM.
17th October 2011, 10:09 PM |#58  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jade Eyed Wolf

....The point I was trying to make in my previous post was that the KI1 firmware is for the 3G 8.9 tab, NOT the wifi only 8.9. So if you have the wifi only tab, I would NOT recommend flashing the KI1 firmware.

Having flashed a number of ROMs in the past for various tablets - I think Jade Eyed Wolf is right on target with that advice. Once the wifi ROM is up, I'd like to play with some aspects of this Tab, but I really do want to have an "escape hatch" when/if things go wrong....

:)

John
18th October 2011, 02:56 AM |#59  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jade Eyed Wolf

Use ADW EX launcher instead of touchwiz. Also, don't be so quick to get rid of your device just yet. You gotta bear in mind, this is still a very new device on the market, so there hasn't been a whole lot of development for it yet. Hell, we still don't even have our own forum! Believe me, once the ball gets rolling for us, all the little niggles we have now will be addressed.

If I install ADW EX, will it give me the option to disable touchwiz? Could I disable touchwiz without rooting or using ADX EX?

Thanks,

GP
18th October 2011, 04:17 PM |#60  
aabritt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Johnson City, TN
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Awesome review of our Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 done by the awesome folks over at AndroidCentral.com.

http://www.androidcentral.com/galaxy-tab-89-review

Sent from my GT-P7310 using xda premium
18th October 2011, 06:51 PM |#61  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 402
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dornier

If I install ADW EX, will it give me the option to disable touchwiz? Could I disable touchwiz without rooting or using ADX EX?

Thanks,

GP

Yes, you can easily switch between ADW EX and Touchwiz. If you go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications, all you need to do is find your default launcher (Touchwiz will be under the system apps section, and called tw launcher). Once you have found it, just clear defaults. When you press your home button, it'll ask you which launcher to use by default.

Alternately, look in the market for a home switcher.

You do not need root for any of this.

Enjoy!
The Following User Says Thank You to Jade Eyed Wolf For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes