FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Tool] Downgrade VivoW with hboot 0.98

2,548 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
By attn1, Recognized Developer on 11th October 2011, 09:44 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
  • Windows: Disable or remove all phone, PDA, MP3 sync softwares, including HTC Sync, itunes, and all Antivirus software and suspend all unnecessary processes.
  • Windows: Install HTC USB Drivers on your PC. http://downloads.unrevoked.com/HTCDriver3.0.0.007.exe
  • 64 bit Linux Users: Android tools in the kit are 32 bit. You will need to install ia32-libs (Debian) or equivelent if they are not already installed. Debian/Ubuntu: sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
  • Get adb and fastboot working on your PC
  • Start with phone in Charge Only mode, sdcard mounted by phone, not PC, and USB debugging enabled
  • A kit with everything needed (including adb and fastboot) including scripts. vwhk-12102011-c.zip MD5: 26a2dbcb96d82153add7edaccd157996
  • IMPORTANT: Run the Linux script as ROOT, run the Windows script as Admin.
  • Run Revolutionary for S-OFF & CWM if desired after downgrade. http://revolutionary.io/

Notes:
  • No goldcard needed for Verizon DINC2. If you ask this, you'll get nothing but hate.
  • Yes, this wipes data and downgrades the ROM completely.

Code:
adb shell rm -r /data/local/tmp/*
adb push zergRush /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb push misc_version /data/local/tmp/misc_version
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/misc_version
adb shell /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c '/data/local/tmp/misc_version -s 2.18.605.3'
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot erase cache
fastboot flash zip RUU_Vivo_W_Gingerbread_S_VERIZON_WWE_2.18.605.3_Radio_1.09.01.0622_NV_VZW1.92_release_199487_signed.zip
fastboot reboot


Thanks to:
Revolutionary - for everything they do
Ch4lky - zergRush
Guhl - misc_version
Last edited by attn1; 26th April 2012 at 02:08 AM.
The Following 70 Users Say Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
11th October 2011, 09:52 PM |#2  
loudaccord's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Trying now

EDIT: I don't want this post to confuse anyone... I missed a step but this worked perfect for me.
Last edited by loudaccord; 12th October 2011 at 01:53 PM.
11th October 2011, 10:18 PM |#3  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudaccord

Trying now

Dumb question... then I can run the regular revolutionary PRE4 to get s-off and install cwm recovery?

stuck on adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c '/data/local/tmp/misc_version -s 2.18.605.3'

C:\android-win-tools>adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c '/data/local/tmp/misc_versi
on -s 2.18.605.3'
--set_version set. VERSION will be changed to: 2.18.605.3
Patching and backing up partition 17...
Error opening backup file.

C:\android-win-tools>fastboot oem rebootRUU
< waiting for device >

Can't get past there.

what happened when you tried to get temproot with zergrush?

was the phone in charge only mode? It needs be to write a backup file to the sdcard.

the < waiting for device > error is because the fastboot driver is not installed or there is contention with some program.

i missed a step; updated code above:

prerequisite: adb and fastboot fully working.
Last edited by attn1; 11th October 2011 at 10:26 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 10:25 PM |#4  
loudaccord's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by attn1

what happened when you tried to get temproot with zergrush?

was the phone in charge only mode? It needs be to write a backup file to the sdcard.

the < waiting for device > error is because the fastboot driver is not installed or there is contention with some program.

prerequisite: adb and fastboot fully working.

Temproot with zergrush said that it was successful, phone is on charge only mode.

looks like fastboot doesn't seem to be working, I have it installed but I'll have to get to the bottom of this.

Any way for me to test if fastboot is working easily?
11th October 2011, 10:31 PM |#5  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudaccord

Temproot with zergrush said that it was successful, phone is on charge only mode.

looks like fastboot doesn't seem to be working, I have it installed but I'll have to get to the bottom of this.

Any way for me to test if fastboot is working easily?

I missed the adb reboot step. check the code above for where that line goes.
The Following User Says Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 10:35 PM |#6  
loudaccord's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by attn1

I missed the adb reboot step. check the code above for where that line goes.

cool, trying again

edit... that worked... sending zip now.

edit2: ran through all the commands... going to try to get s-off now. Thanks!

edit3: Success
Last edited by loudaccord; 11th October 2011 at 10:50 PM.
11th October 2011, 10:44 PM |#7  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudaccord


edit3: Success

Groovy. Have fun.
Last edited by attn1; 11th October 2011 at 10:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 11:34 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Does this mean alpharevx isnt working on a 2.3.4 root? Is this the only way or just a way if you dont want to wait?

Sent from my ADR6350 using xda premium
12th October 2011, 12:14 AM |#9  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob-o

Does this mean alpharevx isnt working on a 2.3.4 root? Is this the only way or just a way if you dont want to wait?

Sent from my ADR6350 using xda premium


It means its not working on any hboot other than 0.97
12th October 2011, 12:57 AM |#10  
JAS_21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
I saw the tool tweeted by AlpharevX. I wasn't sure if it would work for Inc2. I am already rooted, but thank you for writing a guide for us!!!!
12th October 2011, 01:41 AM |#11  
lddrew's Avatar
Junior Member
Athens GA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
subscribing.

so this is a legitimate way to root the .98 dinc2?? is it restore able to stock or is it permanent? thanks

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes