Post Reply

[Tool] Downgrade VivoW with hboot 0.98

11th October 2011, 09:44 PM   |  #1  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,799
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
  • Windows: Disable or remove all phone, PDA, MP3 sync softwares, including HTC Sync, itunes, and all Antivirus software and suspend all unnecessary processes.
  • Windows: Install HTC USB Drivers on your PC. http://downloads.unrevoked.com/HTCDriver3.0.0.007.exe
  • 64 bit Linux Users: Android tools in the kit are 32 bit. You will need to install ia32-libs (Debian) or equivelent if they are not already installed. Debian/Ubuntu: sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
  • Get adb and fastboot working on your PC
  • Start with phone in Charge Only mode, sdcard mounted by phone, not PC, and USB debugging enabled
  • A kit with everything needed (including adb and fastboot) including scripts. vwhk-12102011-c.zip MD5: 26a2dbcb96d82153add7edaccd157996
  • IMPORTANT: Run the Linux script as ROOT, run the Windows script as Admin.
  • Run Revolutionary for S-OFF & CWM if desired after downgrade. http://revolutionary.io/

Notes:
  • No goldcard needed for Verizon DINC2. If you ask this, you'll get nothing but hate.
  • Yes, this wipes data and downgrades the ROM completely.

Code:
adb shell rm -r /data/local/tmp/*
adb push zergRush /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb push misc_version /data/local/tmp/misc_version
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/misc_version
adb shell /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c '/data/local/tmp/misc_version -s 2.18.605.3'
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot erase cache
fastboot flash zip RUU_Vivo_W_Gingerbread_S_VERIZON_WWE_2.18.605.3_Radio_1.09.01.0622_NV_VZW1.92_release_199487_signed.zip
fastboot reboot


Thanks to:
Revolutionary - for everything they do
Ch4lky - zergRush
Guhl - misc_version
Last edited by attn1; 26th April 2012 at 02:08 AM.
The Following 70 Users Say Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 09:52 PM   |  #2  
loudaccord's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Trying now

EDIT: I don't want this post to confuse anyone... I missed a step but this worked perfect for me.
Last edited by loudaccord; 12th October 2011 at 01:53 PM.
11th October 2011, 10:18 PM   |  #3  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,799
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudaccord

Trying now

Dumb question... then I can run the regular revolutionary PRE4 to get s-off and install cwm recovery?

stuck on adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c '/data/local/tmp/misc_version -s 2.18.605.3'

C:\android-win-tools>adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c '/data/local/tmp/misc_versi
on -s 2.18.605.3'
--set_version set. VERSION will be changed to: 2.18.605.3
Patching and backing up partition 17...
Error opening backup file.

C:\android-win-tools>fastboot oem rebootRUU
< waiting for device >

Can't get past there.

what happened when you tried to get temproot with zergrush?

was the phone in charge only mode? It needs be to write a backup file to the sdcard.

the < waiting for device > error is because the fastboot driver is not installed or there is contention with some program.

i missed a step; updated code above:

prerequisite: adb and fastboot fully working.
Last edited by attn1; 11th October 2011 at 10:26 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 10:25 PM   |  #4  
loudaccord's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by attn1

what happened when you tried to get temproot with zergrush?

was the phone in charge only mode? It needs be to write a backup file to the sdcard.

the < waiting for device > error is because the fastboot driver is not installed or there is contention with some program.

prerequisite: adb and fastboot fully working.

Temproot with zergrush said that it was successful, phone is on charge only mode.

looks like fastboot doesn't seem to be working, I have it installed but I'll have to get to the bottom of this.

Any way for me to test if fastboot is working easily?
11th October 2011, 10:31 PM   |  #5  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,799
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudaccord

Temproot with zergrush said that it was successful, phone is on charge only mode.

looks like fastboot doesn't seem to be working, I have it installed but I'll have to get to the bottom of this.

Any way for me to test if fastboot is working easily?

I missed the adb reboot step. check the code above for where that line goes.
The Following User Says Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 10:35 PM   |  #6  
loudaccord's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by attn1

I missed the adb reboot step. check the code above for where that line goes.

cool, trying again

edit... that worked... sending zip now.

edit2: ran through all the commands... going to try to get s-off now. Thanks!

edit3: Success
Last edited by loudaccord; 11th October 2011 at 10:50 PM.
11th October 2011, 10:44 PM   |  #7  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,799
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudaccord


edit3: Success

Groovy. Have fun.
Last edited by attn1; 11th October 2011 at 10:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2011, 11:34 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Does this mean alpharevx isnt working on a 2.3.4 root? Is this the only way or just a way if you dont want to wait?

Sent from my ADR6350 using xda premium
12th October 2011, 12:14 AM   |  #9  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,799
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob-o

Does this mean alpharevx isnt working on a 2.3.4 root? Is this the only way or just a way if you dont want to wait?

Sent from my ADR6350 using xda premium


It means its not working on any hboot other than 0.97
12th October 2011, 12:57 AM   |  #10  
JAS_21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 97
 
523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I saw the tool tweeted by AlpharevX. I wasn't sure if it would work for Inc2. I am already rooted, but thank you for writing a guide for us!!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Droid Incredible 2 Android Development by ThreadRank