Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Android] ClockworkMod Recovery not installing

OP nemosomen

14th October 2011, 03:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
So, when you install the Alpha CyanogenMod 7 build, chances are ClockworkMod Recovery will fail. This tends to be because the custom overclocked kernels in WebOS take up a lot of room in the /boot partition, and ACMEInstaller does NOT (And maybe cannot) resize this partition. If you want to use ClockworkMod, you need to boot it via novacom.

1. Unzip the update-cwm_tenderloin-1012.zip file into the same directory as Novacom.
2. Make sure your TouchPad is plugged into your computer, and reboot it while holding volume up. You should see a USB icon.
3. In the command line, browse to the directory Novacom is installed in.
4. Type this into the command line prompt:
Code:
novacom boot mem:// < uImage.ClockworkMod
You should now be able to flash gapps or whatever else you need to install (Except moboot, which you need to use ACMEInstaller to install)

Novacom is probably installed in: "C:\Program Files\Palm, Inc" for most users.

To get there in the command line, type:
Code:
C:
cd "C:\Program Files\Palm, Inc\"
Then you can continue on to step 4.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to nemosomen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th October 2011, 05:20 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Thanks for this info , it worked great. So am I to assume if I remove overclock Kernel thenI wont have this problem and will be able to install CWM through ACme with no problems ?



Edit. Tried to uninstall F15C to no avail.
Last edited by 27scoob; 14th October 2011 at 05:55 AM.
14th October 2011, 06:09 AM   |  #3  
Komodo Rogue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 102
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 27scoob

Thanks for this info , it worked great. So am I to assume if I remove overclock Kernel thenI wont have this problem and will be able to install CWM through ACme with no problems ?



Edit. Tried to uninstall F15C to no avail.

I don't know, but I kinda suspect not, because I brought my touchpad back to stock and *completely* wiped my touchpad before installing CM7, and I had problems with installing CWM through ACME. I don't understand the inner workings, but that seems like it may answer your question?

OP: Thanks!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Komodo Rogue For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th October 2011, 06:12 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Reckon I will be tied to a cord when it comes to CWM ....
14th October 2011, 07:33 AM   |  #5  
scifan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
The oc kernels get written to the main boot partition... I'm unsure which, but one of the oc kernel's can consume too much space, not leaving enough room to flash cwm... try booting into webos and removing your oc kernels... and try again... you don't have to flash the entire thing... you can just flash the cwm with the acme installer...
14th October 2011, 03:32 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
thanks!
I am in the CWM-based Recovery v5.0.2.6 but nothing works, not even the reboot option... any option i select does nothing.

any ideas?
14th October 2011, 05:28 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Kent
Thanks Meter: 7
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Hold home and power, go back to USB download, start ACME install process from step one. If you follow instructions exactly, it should all work. There are occasions where you need to do the same thing twice... but your patience will pay off.
14th October 2011, 05:38 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Yeah I tried to remove the F15C overclock kernel and do just that with the installer . No dice , can't remove the OC kernel go to remove it and reboot to replace and it just reboots into F15C then in Preware go to put the stock kernel on goes through shows install asks for restart and just boots F15C back again .. I have also tried to just flash the CWM zip afew times throught the installer and get the error half way through about there not being enough available space..ugh..
14th October 2011, 05:55 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Kent
Thanks Meter: 7
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Try installing one of the smaller oc kernels through preware? If not, crack out the webOS doctor..
14th October 2011, 06:03 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
WebOS Doctor
Tried several times, but the recovery boot did not respond, i see the menu options, backup/restore, reboot, install from ZIP, etc... but when I select the options they didnt do anything...

After several tries I decided, let me start all over so I installed webos doctor. Unfortunately I cannot share the link here..

Unfortunately after I ran it and finally clicked DONE, my touchpad wont boot, has a battery icon with a question mark inside. (The battery level should be at least 25% before you run WebOS Doctor). I left it charging for at least an hour but still on the same status, so I assume it got bricked when running the webos doctor. If the battery just went bad at the same time it would be a big coincidence.

There is a chat support which seems to be pretty good. DO NOT TELL THEM that you were trying to install Android, I assume you all know that lol..

portal dot webos dot com (Sorry, couldnt share the link here)

If battery doesnt work in an hour or 2, then I may have to send it back to repair...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes