Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,681 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to use THE FAST! BlueStack as your alternate Android development emulator

Tip us?
 
riveraju
Old
(Last edited by riveraju; 14th October 2011 at 09:05 PM.)
#1  
riveraju's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Default How to use THE FAST! BlueStack as your alternate Android development emulator

You can do this VERY EASY! but I'll recommend that you first install Launcher Pro or ADW (you can sync the app using the BlueStacks Android app) then set as your default home. Once you have done that you can open Launcher Pro trough the gadget at any time.



Then open Eclipse go to your "Device Manage" tab and under "Android Remote Device" add a new entry like this:

Name: (whatever you want to name it)
Host: 127.0.0.1
Port: 5555





And you are done! BlueStacks is WAYYYYYYYYYY faster to lunch apps that the regular android emulator. I did a small app for testing/debug and it installed/lunch/debug just fine on BlueStacks.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to riveraju For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
minijaws
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jul 2011
I cant for the life of me find the device manager could you explain how to get it to appear?
 
riveraju
Old
#3  
riveraju's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by minijaws View Post
I cant for the life of me find the device manager could you explain how to get it to appear?
On the Eclipse menu go to:
- "Window", "Show View", "Other..."
- Then type on the entry text box "Device". It should show under the "Sequoyah" folder.

Today I notice that it automatically added "localhost:5555" under "Android Remote Device" next to my manually added entry and the Eclipse DDMS Console was giving me some errors. I restarted BlueStacks and everything seems to be ok now (the automatic added entry is gone now and no more errors too). Lucky that a BlueStacks restart is SUPER fast!
The Following User Says Thank You to riveraju For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vietprogrammer
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by riveraju View Post
Then open Eclipse go to your "Device Manage" tab and under "Android Remote Device" add a new entry like this:
I don't found Device Manager in Android Remote Device in Eclipse, anyone can help me some guides ?
 
cyrius61
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Hi,
how do you install your homemade app for testing/debugging (need official certificate) ? Your bluestacks player seems to be windowed ? how do you make that ? thanks...
 
Ludden
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hello!

I'm an artist on an Android project and have very little knowledge on the technical side of things.

Any chance you could expand this how-to a bit more in-depth, as I have trouble even finding "Device Manager" and don't know what Launcher Pro and ADW do and where to find them.


I'd really appreciate it!
 
eragonn14
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Opole
It really works! Great! Thanks.
I struggled over this for an hour, because I could not see Device Manager tab in Eclipse. So i downloaded MotoDev Studio (It is SDK + Eclipse + all plugins needed) and now i run bluestack smoothly


More precise way to do this:
1. Download and install BlueStack
2. Download and install MotoDev Studio (Its free)
3. Download Launcher pro or ADW launcher .apk
4. Right click on the .apk, select "open with", "Browse"
go to C:\Program Files (x86)\BlueStacks (for 64bit system)
or
go to C:\Program Files\BlueStacks (for 32bit system)
and select HD-ApkHandler.exe
Launcher should be installed after a moment.
5. Open MotoDev
6. select Device Managment tab
7. Right click on Android Remote Device and click New...
8. Name it like you want, for example "BlueStack"
9. fill Host and Port boxes with
Host: 127.0.0.1
Port: 5555
10. Click OK

Now everything should work. You can close MotoDev and try to open BlueStack and then select Launcher. Now bluestack is fast as native android device and games run smooth Thx to riveraju
The Following User Says Thank You to eragonn14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KingRedHot
Old
#8  
KingRedHot's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 798
Posts: 1,407
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Baton Rouge

 
DONATE TO ME
Must come back here when I have time to read lol thanks a lot for this man. I installed the ask last June and still haven't gotten the emulator to work XD

Swyped from my Red Hot Razr phone running Tapatalk

Yep, you can click on it

 
Coisox
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
To prevent spam to the forums, ALL new users are not permitted to post outside links in their messages. After approximately eight posts, you will be able to post outside links. Thanks for understanding!
I'm new here. Purposely join to share in-depth step-by-step after reading the guide here. May someone give me ur email so u can post my guide for me. Thx
The Following User Says Thank You to Coisox For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Stavkata
Old
(Last edited by Stavkata; 6th February 2013 at 07:32 AM.) Reason: error
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2013

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes