Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to use THE FAST! BlueStack as your alternate Android development emulator

OP riveraju

14th October 2011, 09:26 PM   |  #1  
riveraju's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 8
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
You can do this VERY EASY! but I'll recommend that you first install Launcher Pro or ADW (you can sync the app using the BlueStacks Android app) then set as your default home. Once you have done that you can open Launcher Pro trough the gadget at any time.



Then open Eclipse go to your "Device Manage" tab and under "Android Remote Device" add a new entry like this:

Name: (whatever you want to name it)
Host: 127.0.0.1
Port: 5555





And you are done! BlueStacks is WAYYYYYYYYYY faster to lunch apps that the regular android emulator. I did a small app for testing/debug and it installed/lunch/debug just fine on BlueStacks.
Last edited by riveraju; 14th October 2011 at 10:05 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to riveraju For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2011, 08:20 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I cant for the life of me find the device manager could you explain how to get it to appear?
17th October 2011, 12:45 AM   |  #3  
riveraju's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 8
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by minijaws

I cant for the life of me find the device manager could you explain how to get it to appear?

On the Eclipse menu go to:
- "Window", "Show View", "Other..."
- Then type on the entry text box "Device". It should show under the "Sequoyah" folder.

Today I notice that it automatically added "localhost:5555" under "Android Remote Device" next to my manually added entry and the Eclipse DDMS Console was giving me some errors. I restarted BlueStacks and everything seems to be ok now (the automatic added entry is gone now and no more errors too). Lucky that a BlueStacks restart is SUPER fast!
The Following User Says Thank You to riveraju For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2011, 04:57 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by riveraju

Then open Eclipse go to your "Device Manage" tab and under "Android Remote Device" add a new entry like this:

I don't found Device Manager in Android Remote Device in Eclipse, anyone can help me some guides ?
13th December 2011, 09:26 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Hi,
how do you install your homemade app for testing/debugging (need official certificate) ? Your bluestacks player seems to be windowed ? how do you make that ? thanks...
21st December 2011, 09:28 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Hello!

I'm an artist on an Android project and have very little knowledge on the technical side of things.

Any chance you could expand this how-to a bit more in-depth, as I have trouble even finding "Device Manager" and don't know what Launcher Pro and ADW do and where to find them.


I'd really appreciate it!
5th January 2012, 02:13 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Opole
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
It really works! Great! Thanks.
I struggled over this for an hour, because I could not see Device Manager tab in Eclipse. So i downloaded MotoDev Studio (It is SDK + Eclipse + all plugins needed) and now i run bluestack smoothly


More precise way to do this:
1. Download and install BlueStack
2. Download and install MotoDev Studio (Its free)
3. Download Launcher pro or ADW launcher .apk
4. Right click on the .apk, select "open with", "Browse"
go to C:\Program Files (x86)\BlueStacks (for 64bit system)
or
go to C:\Program Files\BlueStacks (for 32bit system)
and select HD-ApkHandler.exe
Launcher should be installed after a moment.
5. Open MotoDev
6. select Device Managment tab
7. Right click on Android Remote Device and click New...
8. Name it like you want, for example "BlueStack"
9. fill Host and Port boxes with
Host: 127.0.0.1
Port: 5555
10. Click OK

Now everything should work. You can close MotoDev and try to open BlueStack and then select Launcher. Now bluestack is fast as native android device and games run smooth Thx to riveraju
The Following User Says Thank You to eragonn14 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2012, 07:11 AM   |  #8  
KingRedHot's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Baton Rouge
Thanks Meter: 798
 
1,407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Must come back here when I have time to read lol thanks a lot for this man. I installed the ask last June and still haven't gotten the emulator to work XD

Swyped from my Red Hot Razr phone running Tapatalk
12th January 2012, 10:59 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:

To prevent spam to the forums, ALL new users are not permitted to post outside links in their messages. After approximately eight posts, you will be able to post outside links. Thanks for understanding!

I'm new here. Purposely join to share in-depth step-by-step after reading the guide here. May someone give me ur email so u can post my guide for me. Thx
The Following User Says Thank You to Coisox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2013, 03:38 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Thumbs up
Last edited by Stavkata; 6th February 2013 at 08:32 AM. Reason: error

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes