Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 37,786 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REF] Known identified battery drainers

Tip us?
 
Entropy512
Old
#31  
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 24232
Posts: 13,209
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Maybe try using SetCPU to force the max clock down while you play.

I think there are advanced scripting tricks (like maybe Tasker) that let you automate this, but not sure.
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
 
m0biusace
Old
#32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 121
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512 View Post
Maybe try using SetCPU to force the max clock down while you play.

I think there are advanced scripting tricks (like maybe Tasker) that let you automate this, but not sure.
This is a good idea. At 1.4ghz the phone gets extremely hot while playing Sentinel for any longer than half an hour. at 800mhz the game still runs smoothly without heating up.
 
penskyc
Old
#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 121
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoFla
Entropy512, is it safe to post a pcap file here? or does it have sensitive information? I am looking at it in wire shark and dont really know what I am looking for, I do my HTPC/server showing up alot as a SSDP protocol which seems to be related to a UPNP server, which could also be related to my Plex Media Server or iSedora media server.. I also see some UDP destination port 32412, plex port is 32400 so I am assuming it may be related to my plex server somehow.. ( I do have a plex app, but it doesnt always stay connected or anything like that)
 
Entropy512
Old
#34  
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 24232
Posts: 13,209
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Owego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by penskyc View Post
Entropy512, is it safe to post a pcap file here? or does it have sensitive information? I am looking at it in wire shark and dont really know what I am looking for, I do my HTPC/server showing up alot as a SSDP protocol which seems to be related to a UPNP server, which could also be related to my Plex Media Server or iSedora media server.. I also see some UDP destination port 32412, plex port is 32400 so I am assuming it may be related to my plex server somehow.. ( I do have a plex app, but it doesnt always stay connected or anything like that)
Normally no, but it depends on how it was captured. Wireshark has an option to capture the first N bytes of a packet - 68 is enough to catch all IP and TCP or UDP headers, and identify the protocols used, while having a fairly low risk of exposing personal information.

A full capture - posting that would be inadvised.

This issue is why I still haven't posted a Shark for Root tutorial, I need to make sure, without a doubt, that it can do the packet truncation stuff, both for privacy and file size reasons.

Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk
*so much sig updating needed*

My Github profile - Some Android stuff, some AVR stuff

An excellent post on "noobs vs. developers"

A few opinions on kernel development "good practices"

Note: I have chosen not to use XDA's "friends" feature - I will reject all incoming "friend" requests.

Code:
<MikeyMike01> Smali is a spawn of hell
<shoman94> ^^^ +!
Code:
<Entropy512> gotta be careful not to step on each other's work.  :)
<Bumble-Bee> thats true
<jerdog> compeete for donations
 
jm1280
Old
#35  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lexington
Could someone please look my wakelocks and see if anything is out of sorts?
Attached Files
File Type: txt wakelocks.txt - [Click for QR Code] (2.7 KB, 105 views)
 
Adelaide.
Old
#36  
Adelaide.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 221
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512 View Post
Maybe try using SetCPU to force the max clock down while you play.

I think there are advanced scripting tricks (like maybe Tasker) that let you automate this, but not sure.
I've been looking into this becuase I love words with friends and I hate what it does to my battery. As far as I can find yes you can downclock the CPU for specific apps using tasker, but you have to use a couple other apps along with it. It is discussed here about 1/2 way down the page.


I found another battery drainer I think. It may be this is a known issue and I'm just not aware of it becuase I'm so new to android. When I switched to Launcher pro I left my TW screens configured (all 7 of them). I noticed that I was getting wakelocks from widget programs I wasn't even running and it dawned on me that those widgets were present on the TW launcher screens. I cleared them all off and I did not get any wakelocks from those programs today.
Galaxy S3 - AOKP.

Touchpad - WebOS/CM9.
The Following User Says Thank You to Adelaide. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mcorrie1121
Old
#37  
mcorrie1121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 646
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Anyone had issues with GPS Status? After about 15% overall battery used today, it was at about 16% itself despite me not using it in days.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyprior View Post
Really a educative and informative post, the post is good in all regards,I am glad to read this post.
 
dandrumheller
Old
#38  
dandrumheller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 692
Posts: 2,386
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern Maine / Seacoast NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcorrie1121 View Post
Anyone had issues with GPS Status? After about 15% overall battery used today, it was at about 16% itself despite me not using it in days.
Yes, saw similar behaviour the first couple days I had the phone. Just deleted the app since I have had no problems with GPS on this device, so no troubleshooting by me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
Current: AT&T LG Optimus G (E970) BeanStalk
ASUS Transformer TF101: EOS / KAT

Vizio VTab 1008 Stock Honeycomb (doomed to a rootless existence)

Still around: AT&T HTC Aria - Gene Poole's Liberated Aria


Gone: SGS2 i777 and random stuff dating back to an analog Mitsubishi phone circa 1996.


Quote:
Originally Posted by quarlow View Post

If you give a man a blanket you keep him warm for the night. If you light him on fire he is warm for the rest of his life.

Sent from my Galaxy S II (i777)
RESISTANCE
 
mcorrie1121
Old
#39  
mcorrie1121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 646
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandrumheller View Post
Yes, saw similar behaviour the first couple days I had the phone. Just deleted the app since I have had no problems with GPS on this device, so no troubleshooting by me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
I deleted as well, just am curious what other people have seen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyprior View Post
Really a educative and informative post, the post is good in all regards,I am glad to read this post.
 
vladm7
Old
(Last edited by vladm7; 31st October 2011 at 05:51 PM.)
#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 337
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chicagoland
I had wakelocks issue with K9 mail app. By default it uses push for receiving new email. I get moderate number of emails daily and I noticed that my phone spends too much time woke up with K9 being the reason. There is a report that K9 doesn't let the phone go for at least a minute after each push notification.

Things go back normal after I disabled push, switched to poll every hour and only first-level imap folders. Also increased default value imap-idle refresh timeout.

hope this will help others.

-- vlad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes