Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to Flash Custom Binaries Without Ever Incrementing the Flash Counter!!

OP creepyncrawly

7th January 2012, 03:50 AM   |  #181  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,054
 
2,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3LO0

Hi,

I rooted my S2 using the 2c and everything went well and its great; however, after the phone rebooted my wi-fi was turned off, I go to turn it on which it does but turns off instantly after 2 seconds. Anyone have any idea on how I can get my wi-fi to work again?

Thanks

Edit:I tried to add my network through the add Wi-Fi network but it said it is unable to save the network..

Did you start from UCKH7 before using 2c method, or had you upgraded to UCKK6 via OTA?

Or.. did you OTA update after using 2c method?

Did you do a wipe data/factory reset in recovery or from settings either before or after using 2c method? If you started with UCKH7 and are still on UCKH7, and have not done a wipe, you should perform a wipe. You should back up any settings and system data you don't want to lose before you wipe.
7th January 2012, 03:53 AM   |  #182  
Junior Member
Flag Hatfield, PA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Before using 2c method, I was upgraded to UCKK6 via OTA. I'll try doing a wipe.
7th January 2012, 04:01 AM   |  #183  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,054
 
2,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3LO0

Before using 2c method, I was upgraded to UCKK6 via OTA. I'll try doing a wipe.

You may be able to recover the wifi without a wipe if you OTA update to UCKK6. You will retain root.
7th January 2012, 04:24 AM   |  #184  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3LO0

Hi,

I rooted my S2 using the 2c and everything went well and its great; however, after the phone rebooted my wi-fi was turned off, I go to turn it on which it does but turns off instantly after 2 seconds. Anyone have any idea on how I can get my wi-fi to work again?

Thanks

Edit:I tried to add my network through the add Wi-Fi network but it said it is unable to save the network..

I had the same problem when I rooted mine. I did a wipe data/factory reset and my wi-fi now works.
7th January 2012, 05:12 AM   |  #185  
Junior Member
Flag Hatfield, PA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Alright I wiped the phone which made the Wi-Fi work but when I updated the phone the software it reverted to UCKK6 from UCKH7 though I still had Superuser installed. I thought that after rooting even if you OTA update the root would still last?
7th January 2012, 02:41 PM   |  #186  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,054
 
2,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3LO0

Alright I wiped the phone which made the Wi-Fi work but when I updated the phone the software it reverted to UCKK6 from UCKH7 though I still had Superuser installed. I thought that after rooting even if you OTA update the root would still last?

The process you followed (going back to UCKH7 rooted, and then updating to UCKK6 again) is one way to get UCKK6 rooted. To test that you are still rooted, install an application that requires root and try to use it. If you get a superuser request and are able to approve it, then you are still rooted.
12th January 2012, 01:58 PM   |  #187  
cowhow's Avatar
Member
Flag Fort Worth, Texas
Thanks Meter: 17
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Incredibly helpful post, Creepycrawly. Thanks for compiling all this info. I'm a lowly noob to GSII and it was very helpful. I want to make sure I've got this right.

1. Being on UCKK6 means a jig is basically useless to me
2. Following step 2C will root the phone without hitting the counter.
3. Subsequent ROMs need to be flashed on the phone with Mobile Odin.

Sorry to be redundant, but this is a work phone and I can't risk support/warranty with ATT.
12th January 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #188  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,054
 
2,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowhow

Incredibly helpful post, Creepycrawly. Thanks for compiling all this info. I'm a lowly noob to GSII and it was very helpful. I want to make sure I've got this right.

1. Being on UCKK6 means a jig is basically useless to me

If you updated to UCKK6 over the air (OTA), then the secondary bootloader did not change. You will still be able to use the jig. If you installed the UCKK6 leak, then you may have installed a crippled secondary bootloader.
Quote:

2. Following step 2C will root the phone without hitting the counter.

Yes. It will also return the phone to UCKH7.
Quote:

3. Subsequent ROMs need to be flashed on the phone with Mobile Odin.

After rooting the phone, the next step is usually to install a ClockworkMod enabled kernel using one of the methods in step 3. You can directly install a ROM using Mobile Odin, but bear in mind that most roms come in CWM flashable zip files, and to use them with Mobile Odin, you have to extract the components and load them into Mobile Odin separately. Mobile Odin is one way of flashing subsequently ROMs, but using ClockworkMod Recovery is the most common way.
Quote:

Sorry to be redundant, but this is a work phone and I can't risk support/warranty with ATT.

12th January 2012, 05:16 PM   |  #189  
cowhow's Avatar
Member
Flag Fort Worth, Texas
Thanks Meter: 17
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Thanks, creepyncrawly. That all made sense.

It was the OTA update...ordering jig now.
Last edited by cowhow; 12th January 2012 at 05:41 PM. Reason: add content
13th January 2012, 08:12 AM   |  #190  
Nosferatu.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, Florida
Thanks Meter: 303
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by creepyncrawly

Yes. The jig will put your phone into download mode. Pull the jig back out and hold down the power button until the phone powers off and back on.

Just wanted to report back. Got the jig. Turned phone off...plugged in jig, it went into download mode, unplug jig, rebooted phone...no more yellow triangle

YAY!

You guys rock!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes