Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO] ROOT T-Mobile SGSII via ODIN -- Updated Recovery

OP |Melvin|

14th February 2012, 04:23 PM   |  #671  
Member
Flag Rockford
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Thanks man, this way worked perfectly my galaxy sII and also my buddies who i share the contract with... I rooted mine in about an hour (dont ask...) and his in like 15-20 min... no problems either time... Everything went perfectly smooth.

But FYI - the download link for the CWM recovery you flash during this does not work.. the link is down or something.. but i got the file elsewhere..


Anyways, thanks alot bro!
16th February 2012, 07:12 AM   |  #672  
tomasitoc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 49
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Hello gopher love,
can you provide me a link where you got the CWM recovery file, I am also trying to root my SII
thanks in advance
17th February 2012, 02:58 AM   |  #673  
getontarget's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomasitoc

Hello gopher love,
can you provide me a link where you got the CWM recovery file, I am also trying to root my SII
thanks in advance

I got the file from: http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-roo....3.5-tutorial/

but I just found out this process is possible too:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1332103
18th February 2012, 01:03 AM   |  #674  
Member
Harrisonburg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
So im guessing this method doesn't work on 2.3.6 im still looking for one that does slow i don't have to revert to 2.3.5. Does anyone know a way to root 2.3.6?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA Premium App
18th February 2012, 04:23 AM   |  #675  
Member
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 0
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Slight Problem
When I get into recovery and try to scroll down, the screen goes black and the option I can select is restart phone.


Any suggestions??
18th February 2012, 04:48 AM   |  #676  
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, WA
Thanks Meter: 55
 
665 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubanito151

So im guessing this method doesn't work on 2.3.6 im still looking for one that does slow i don't have to revert to 2.3.5. Does anyone know a way to root 2.3.6?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA Premium App

This works - every time - on my 2.3.6.
19th February 2012, 07:53 PM   |  #677  
gorillaz1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wilmington, DE
Thanks Meter: 95
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quick question.

Followed instructions, everything seemed to work fine. But when I installed the superuser zip, it said aborted...but when I restarted I do have the superuser app icon...

does that mean I'm rooted?
19th February 2012, 08:43 PM   |  #678  
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, WA
Thanks Meter: 55
 
665 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorillaz1

Quick question.

Followed instructions, everything seemed to work fine. But when I installed the superuser zip, it said aborted...but when I restarted I do have the superuser app icon...

does that mean I'm rooted?

No, reflash it until it succeeds. I've had it fail 2 or 3 times and work on the fourth, or last time for example it succeeded on first try.

Use the 3.0.7(?) newest super user too if you can. Best way to check for root is install a terminal app and try the su command. If you get a # prompt in response, you're as rooted as you need to be.
19th February 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #679  
OldeCrow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gresham
Thanks Meter: 142
 
422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I had to fix permissions before superuser would flash, once permissions were fixed superuser flashed OK...
20th February 2012, 12:35 PM   |  #680  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Is this the only way to root? (New to GS2.) Do I need an external SD card or am I good to go right out of the box?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes