FORUMS

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

[GUIDE] Possible FIX for the infamous eMMC problem..

575 posts
Thanks Meter: 615
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
All Desire S users should know about the infamous error message:
Quote:

E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log

this is the so called eMMC fried chip, etc.. This is actually the "cache" partition being corrupted..

I myself have already received this error NUMEROUS times when tinkering with my phone..

The fix..?

Here's my method:
Quote:

1. remove the battery for 30secs to 1 minute and putting it back in

2. boot directly to your bootloader, then go to recovery

3. If you haven't received the errors, your cache will be formatted to EXT3, try formatting it to ext4 if need be

4. I wipe everything (all partitions) including dalvik cache and battery stat

5. flash your rom again, cross your fingers and hope for the best..

Based on experience: Even the RUUs will tell you to unplug your battery for 3secs if RUU had some problem.

Some additional info:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skanob

You should be able to change your recovery without any problem if your s-off or unlocked 2.xx.xx hboot s-on.

1. Get 4ext recovery.img

2. connect phone on fastboot

3. In cmd use these command to push the recovery image:

fastboot flash recovery D:\recovery.img (<- should be directory of 4ext recovery image)

fastboot reboot-bootloader

Now you should have 4ext recovery.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA App

And...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skanob

Quote:
Originally Posted by amidabuddha

I do not think that you can use fastboot flash whatewer without an engineering bootloader (requires s-off) or push images with adb without su (requires rooting). This is the point of all the guides and tutorials around here...

You actually can.. Check my sig.. I have already flashed a stock recovery then back to 4EXT many times.. I am on OFFICIAL HBOOT from the 2.10.401.4 update..

flashing OFFICIAL RUUs prior to latest hboot didn't work for me as the HBOOT seems to be un-writable to old HBOOTs. I haven't tried revolutionary's 6.xx.xx HBOOT though..

I am on unrooted STOCK RUU when I tried to flash the update forcefully. HBOOT and RECOVERY got updated so got me stock on HTC logo (without the "quietly brilliant") means ROM is not booting.

That is the method I used to revive my phone.

Edit:
"Unlocking" my S-ON could've helped me..

Also..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skanob

Quote:
Originally Posted by amidabuddha

Ok taking my words back And how do you did this? You flashed the Stock 2.10.401.4 ROM over you bricked phone and it worked? (overwritted the revolutionary hboot or which version was it before?).

To make the long story short:

I stupidly get the firmware.zip file inside the ota file. That file had the latest hboot, recovery, and others. I renamed it to the correct pgxxximg.zip (cant remember the correct filename, currently drinking ) to flash it from bootloader.

Everything went well. Everything inside the file updated the corresponding file/partition/image to my phone. Hence letting me be stuck to the "locked" hboot 2.xx.xx s-on. ROM wouldn't boot as I said.

Being on the "locked" state wouldn't allow me to flash anything on the phone as far as i can remember. While writing, it will say has its unsuccessful.

But "unlocking" the hboot let me flash the recovery.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA App

Last edited by Skanob; 24th October 2011 at 07:43 AM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Skanob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
22nd October 2011, 09:51 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
cheers for this info. I myself have experienced this too after flashing new radio, but this is the message u also get when the partition table gets corrupted.

If that is the case then the method u provided will work, but fried emmc = no fix
22nd October 2011, 10:09 AM |#3  
TimMun's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dirksland
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Had the same problem, but I couldnt even get into recovery.
This helped for me:

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaelli

1. Download this http://www.4shared.com/get/JeuI2H2s/...YIMG-3200.html
2. Rename to PG88IMG.zip and put on sd-card
3. boot with vol-down pressed
4. wait.. press vol-down (yes) to install
5. reboot with vol-down pressed
6. select recovery and press enter.
7. wait
8. use recovery

22nd October 2011, 05:37 PM |#4  
Skanob's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Perth
Thanks Meter: 615
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMun

Had the same problem, but I couldnt even get into recovery.
This helped for me:

What you've done is exactly the same of my instruction on how to flash a recovery. That's another way as it is automatic. You just have to make sure your .zip passes the security check of bootloader if your on s-on, as far as i know.
23rd October 2011, 11:06 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This look promissing.

Since my bricked DS is S-On do I need a gold card?
24th October 2011, 07:44 AM |#6  
Skanob's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Perth
Thanks Meter: 615
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielPascoal

This look promissing.

Since my bricked DS is S-On do I need a gold card?

Not necessarily, you just need to unlock your hboot..
The Following User Says Thank You to Skanob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th October 2011, 01:19 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMun

Had the same problem, but I couldnt even get into recovery.
This helped for me:

it show me
Main Version is older!
Update Fail

i have use hboot 2.00.0002
30th October 2011, 07:33 AM |#8  
balthasar's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Solution found: New Hboot 2.00.0002
Didn't search threads good enough sorry...
Problem down solved!

-----------------------------------------------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skanob

Not necessarily, you just need to unlock your hboot..

and...

How can we unlock hboot...

When I use HTCDev site, fastboot oem get_identifier_token returns with a Command not found Error...
Is there an another way to get this token, or...?
Last edited by balthasar; 20th November 2011 at 11:06 AM. Reason: Solved
30th October 2011, 06:23 PM |#9  
philos64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,736
 
More
I ran the 1st method when I've changed and tested some roms (on 2.3.3) without knowing that this was a possibility to resolve this problem.
Quote:

1. remove the battery for 30secs to 1 minute and putting it back in
2. boot directly to your bootloader, then go to recovery
3. If you haven't received the errors, your cache will be formatted to EXT3, try formatting it to ext4 if need be
4. I wipe everything (all partitions) including dalvik cache and battery stat
5. flash your rom again, cross your fingers and hope for the best..

I put more all my partitions on Ext4 (except sdcard )
Since I don't have this problem anymore
2nd November 2011, 01:05 PM |#10  
opumps's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skanob

All Desire S users should know about the infamous error message:

this is the so called eMMC fried chip, etc.. This is actually the "cache" partition being corrupted..

I myself have already received this error NUMEROUS times when tinkering with my phone...

my friend, did u try:

Code:
dmesg | grep mmc0
and what's the output?

like this:

Code:
mmc0: failed to get card ready
mmc0: reinit card
mmc0: Starting deferred resume
mmc0: Deferred resume failed
or maybe u never got these error-magic-infamous-$60costs-strings, lol.
well, im kidding. xD
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes