Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,803,209 Members 43,891 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Ext4 4 ALL! Gingerbread AOSP + GingerSense Update: 10/27 Normal dalvik fixed

Tip us?
 
jermaine151
Old
(Last edited by jerdog; 26th April 2012 at 03:10 AM.)
#1  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3,289
Posts: 3,966
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] Ext4 4 ALL! Gingerbread AOSP + GingerSense Update: 10/27 Normal dalvik fixed

Quote:
Ext4 4 ALL!
*** 11/03/11 - CM Nightly flashers please see synisterwolf's post here for how to keep up with the nightlies when using this mod.


First of all I must thank tiny4579 for all of the hours he spent with me on this project and for his kernel that makes it possible for this to work on GingerSense roms. This has been a great team effort.

If you install any of these mods, on a Sense rom, Tiny's 10/15 kernel with wireless "n" support will be installed. On AOSP your currently installed kernel will be used.



There are 3 versions of this mod (choose ONE):
  1. The normal_data mod just converts your /data and /cache partitions to the ext4 filesystem type for better all around real world performance and makes the necessary changes for this to work with your currently installed rom.
  2. The no_data_limit_normal_dalvik mod (no 150MB data limit) does the above conversion but also removes the linking of /data/data to that small 150MB partition that causes the low space issues. It instead uses a subfolder of your 750MB /data partition to hold these files. It copies the data from your datadata partition, to this new subfolder and keeps the permissions in tact so that your phone doesn't know the difference. The old datadata partition is unused after this.
  3. The no_data_limit_dalvik_moved mod does exactly what mod 2 does but then uses the unused datadata partition for your /data/dalvik-cache folder.
    *If you use the no_data_limit_dalvik_moved mod and need to wipe your dalvik-cache, flash the wipe_dalvik zip file.

Quote:
Prerequisites:
  1. The latest ClockworkMod (Tested on v5.0.2.0)
  2. For AOSP your current kernel needs to support Ext4 (Tested on stock CM7.1 with stock kernel)
  3. Sense users canNOT change kernels after this because the stock kernel does NOT have ext4 support.
  4. Keep in mind this is the first release. It has been tested on CM7.1, In-Sensitive Minimalist and Stock+. It should work on most Gingerbread roms for the Incredible ONLY.
  5. Yes, this should work on Sense 1.0/2.0/2.1/3.0/3.5! Always backup first!


**Disclaimer: This mod has a ZERO percent chance of bricking your phone but You, and only YOU, are responsible for what you do to your phone.

Usage:
  1. If you flashed a version lower than v1.0 of the no_data_limit script, READ THIS!
  2. Reboot into recovery and make a good nandroid backup
  3. Either flash the rom you want to use, Restore a nandroid or skip this step to convert for your currently installed rom
  4. Flash either the normal_data convert script or the no_data_limit convert script, depending on what you want
  5. Reboot
  6. Next click the "Thanks" button for Tiny (post #2) and For Me! Then Enjoy!
  7. If you want to confirm that the mod worked, run this from adb shell or teminal emulator:
    Code:
    mount | grep ext4
    If it worked, 2 lines will be displayed. If it didn't, nothing will be displayed.

To Move Dalvik Back to Normal Location:
  • Flash this. (Thanks cmlusco!)

To Uninstall
  1. Just do a full wipe in CWM
  2. Flash a fresh rom or restore a pre Ext4 backup

If you upgrade your rom after converting (Like a flashover update)
  • Re-run the mod as the last thing while in recovery after flashing the update.
The Following 147 Users Say Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tiny4579
Old
(Last edited by tiny4579; 3rd November 2011 at 04:49 PM.)
#2  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,171
Posts: 7,785
Join Date: Jan 2011
If you're having issues going to or from the mod, please make sure you're using cwm 5.0.2.0. It would help with wipe data issues as one user reported.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1319592414992.jpg
Views:	5721
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	761516   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1319592349849.jpg
Views:	4683
Size:	27.2 KB
ID:	761517   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1319592434429.jpg
Views:	4532
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	761518   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1319592445635.jpg
Views:	4450
Size:	22.0 KB
ID:	761519  
The Following 115 Users Say Thank You to tiny4579 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BrettApple
Old
#3  
BrettApple's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 968
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita
Sorry if I took any more reserves. But just to be clear, the normal data mod is faster than no data limit mod? I've never had the data full message, so I'll just use the first one. Just curious.
HTC One M8 in Glamour Red
Past:
HTC Droid Incredible ; Samsung Galaxy SIII ; iPhone 4s, 5, 5C ; BlackBerry Z10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chefyocum View Post
I think we need a support group. Flashers anonymous. We might draw the wrong crowd though.
The Following User Says Thank You to BrettApple For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jermaine151
Old
#4  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3,289
Posts: 3,966
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettApple View Post
Sorry if I took any more reserves. But just to be clear, the normal data mod is faster than no data limit mod? I've never had the data full message, so I'll just use the first one. Just curious.
You're exactly right Brett. The normal leaves /data/data on it's own partition and should be faster. It should be really noticeable on the newer sense roms like Newt's HD rom.
You can find me @jdlogan151
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BrettApple
Old
#5  
BrettApple's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 968
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermaine151 View Post
You're exactly right Brett. The normal leaves /data/data on it's own partition and should be faster. It should be really noticeable on the newer sense roms like Newt's HD rom.
Sweet, thanks! I typically run CM7, and it's already crazy fast, I can't imagine it being any faster. But I have run many of the newer Sense ROMs, and there cool, but were always a little to slow for me. Guess I'll have to give them a run again

/Nice updater script, I LOL'd.
HTC One M8 in Glamour Red
Past:
HTC Droid Incredible ; Samsung Galaxy SIII ; iPhone 4s, 5, 5C ; BlackBerry Z10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chefyocum View Post
I think we need a support group. Flashers anonymous. We might draw the wrong crowd though.
 
countryfolk07
Old
#6  
countryfolk07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 298
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mansfield

 
DONATE TO ME
So how does this affect wipes in the mounts as far as switching ROMs? Will this work, delete, need reflashed with each new ROM?

Sent from my ADR6300
 
jermaine151
Old
#7  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3,289
Posts: 3,966
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by countryfolk07 View Post
So how does this affect wipes in the mounts as far as switching ROMs? Will this work, delete, need reflashed with each new ROM?

Sent from my ADR6300
CWM formats as ext3, so it would need to be reflashed after switching roms.
You can find me @jdlogan151
 
tiny4579
Old
#8  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,171
Posts: 7,785
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by countryfolk07 View Post
So how does this affect wipes in the mounts as far as switching ROMs? Will this work, delete, need reflashed with each new ROM?

Sent from my ADR6300
You will need to reflash each time you do a full wipe or even wipe data but after flashing the rom.
 
godsmacked4653
Old
#9  
godsmacked4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 446
Join Date: Apr 2010
So I'm curious exactly how this space is distributed. If the Incredible's "internal storage" is 750 MB, does that include everything in the /data folder, or specifically the apps and not their data?
Basically, if you have 200 MB of internal storage free, and 100 MB of stuff in /data/data, then you flash this mod, will it show 200 or 100 MB of internal storage free? Hopefully that's not too dumb of a question.


 
jermaine151
Old
#10  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3,289
Posts: 3,966
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by godsmacked4653 View Post
So I'm curious exactly how this space is distributed. If the Incredible's "internal storage" is 750 MB, does that include everything in the /data folder, or specifically the apps and not their data?
Basically, if you have 200 MB of internal storage free, and 100 MB of stuff in /data/data, then you flash this mod, will it show 200 or 100 MB of internal storage free? Hopefully that's not too dumb of a question.
Not dumb at all. You would have 100MB remaining because the datadata would become part of the /data partition.
You can find me @jdlogan151

The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes