Post Reply

[Q] Not Able to Root Spice MI-350

7th November 2011, 07:32 AM   |  #81  
Member
Flag Puducherry
Thanks Meter: 25
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by addadutta

Intersting situation for me also.

Consider that I have phone number in contact as 099-99-999999. If the call is coming from +91 99-99-999999, name of the contact is not getting detected. It has become a big mess for me.


Addadutta

Dear Addadutta,

Is your Phone Book problem solved? I too had the same problem and then switched over to original Spice Rom. I even asked the first caller, when he changed his phone number!! because his name did not get displayed though it was in the phone book. I did not try changing the language option. Did you try it? Is it working?
Now with the rooted Spice Rom, browser is not working. Any idea / tricks? to restore it back?

Solomon
7th November 2011, 10:44 AM   |  #82  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsolo27

Dear Addadutta,

Is your Phone Book problem solved? I too had the same problem and then switched over to original Spice Rom. I even asked the first caller, when he changed his phone number!! because his name did not get displayed though it was in the phone book. I did not try changing the language option. Did you try it? Is it working?
Now with the rooted Spice Rom, browser is not working. Any idea / tricks? to restore it back?

Solomon

Stock browser is not working somehow..... well doesn't matter opera mini / Dolphin HD is working fine. I just downloaded the Apk in the root folder and using the same as default one. That's the quick fix i found.
7th November 2011, 01:25 PM   |  #83  
mohanparvatham's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 167
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Wink Calender for Spice MI-350
for those who need calender make a normal install of the below attachment..


Don't forget to hit thanks button it it was useful.....

sorry for my bad english..
Attached Files
File Type: apk com.android.calendar-1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (727.4 KB, 152 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mohanparvatham For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2011, 01:37 PM   |  #84  
mohanparvatham's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 167
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Talking Browser for Spice MI-350
For those who is having problem with browser after rooting download the below attachment and move the 2 contents present in it to /system/app/ using root explorer.....

and set permissions as below

Owner : X X -
Group : X - -
Others : X - -

X represents tick mark

Dont forget to hit thaks button if iit was useful....
Attached Files
File Type: rar Browser for Spice MI-350.rar - [Click for QR Code] (450.7 KB, 63 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mohanparvatham For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2011, 04:24 PM   |  #85  
Member
Flag Puducherry
Thanks Meter: 25
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanparvatham

For those who is having problem with browser after rooting download the below attachment and move the 2 contents present in it to /system/app/ using root explorer.....

and set permissions as below

Owner : X X -
Group : X - -
Others : X - -

X represents tick mark

Dont forget to hit thaks button if iit was useful....

Thank you so much for your help. I have moved the contents using root explorer...after that I am stuck... will you please guide.

Solomon
7th November 2011, 06:16 PM   |  #86  
mohanparvatham's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 167
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsolo27

Thank you so much for your help. I have moved the contents using root explorer...after that I am stuck... will you please guide.

Solomon

After copying hold the browser for a while.....then a menu will appear....click on permissions and set the permissions as in the below screen shot.....


Don't forget to click thanks button
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000001.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	775112  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mohanparvatham For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th November 2011, 01:55 AM   |  #87  
Junior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by mktw

It actually depends on user to user - for me if i look at the specs, i'll love Galaxy ace
- 3.5" 16M-color TFT LCD capacitive touchscreen of HVGA (320 x 480 pixels) resolution
- 800MHz ARM 11 processor, Adreno 200 GPU, Qualcomm MSM7227 chipset;
- 278MB of RAM available to the user
- 5 MP autofocus camera with LED flash

Sorry, I actually asked about touch sensitiveness of MI350 and I know all about Galaxy Ace, Is the touchscreen of spice mi350 good enough and how about resolution, because I just tested MI270 the touch is not so responsive and clarity is also just ok, so I feared that this too is like that are it is Improved in this device
8th November 2011, 02:02 AM   |  #88  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Dear Ankjain,

I recently purchased the spice mi 350 and am pretty happy with the features except for the tons of blatware. Can u pls tell me if there is a way to force uninstall some of the software except for rooting. I dont want to void the warranty by rooting.

Dr Swapnil Kothari
8th November 2011, 05:13 AM   |  #89  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
For that u should visit Spice Mobile outlet and have the feel of it Or motivate any of ur friend to purchase it then feel it...
I'm not sure if anyone here has Galaxy Ace + MI350
But from Technical point of view, Galaxy Ace has 3 Ace points regarding touch sensitiveness + quality
- Processor speed higher
- more RAM + ROM
- Samsung is one of the leaders in screens

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashokdroid

Sorry, I actually asked about touch sensitiveness of MI350 and I know all about Galaxy Ace, Is the touchscreen of spice mi350 good enough and how about resolution, because I just tested MI270 the touch is not so responsive and clarity is also just ok, so I feared that this too is like that are it is Improved in this device



---------- Post added at 06:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:11 AM ----------

@ Dr Swapnil

As mentioned before, u can use Titanium Backup to remove the unwanted stuff but then it has to be Rooted

Quote:
Originally Posted by drswapnil1234

Dear Ankjain,

I recently purchased the spice mi 350 and am pretty happy with the features except for the tons of blatware. Can u pls tell me if there is a way to force uninstall some of the software except for rooting. I dont want to void the warranty by rooting.

Dr Swapnil Kothari

Last edited by mktw; 8th November 2011 at 05:20 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to mktw For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th November 2011, 05:14 AM   |  #90  
Member
Flag Puducherry
Thanks Meter: 25
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanparvatham

After copying hold the browser for a while.....then a menu will appear....click on permissions and set the permissions as in the below screen shot.....


Don't forget to click thanks button

Dear Mohan,

Yes, I have clicked thanks!! I had to set permissions for the .apk as well as to the .odex file also, only then, after rebooting got the original Browser back!! Any how thanks a lot!!
Could you help me in one more thing? My root explorer is in Chineese Language, is it possible to change the language? Secondly, my phone is not downloading three applications and I have tried my best to get them, but failed, they are 1) Talking Tom Cat 1, Talking Tom Cat 2 and NKJV Bible (all purchased) Hope you will be able to guide me. Thanks in advance.

Solomon

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gb 2.3.3;, lenovo a60, lenovo a60/spice mi350 roms, mi-350, not rooting, spice mi350
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank