Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,016 Members 49,809 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Barnacle Wifi Tether not working on GB?

Tip us?
 
stupidchicken03
Old
#1  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
Default Barnacle Wifi Tether not working on GB?

I was rooted and running Barnacle just fine in Froyo, then upgraded to GB. Now it does not seem to be working. Im rooted in GB still (just be a different program) and it shows Barnacle has root access.

It goes and says NAT is unavail, restarting NAT.. and nothing after that.

Heres a screen shot of what its saying:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Barn.png
Views:	188
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	761663  
 
stupidchicken03
Old
(Last edited by stupidchicken03; 25th December 2011 at 02:01 AM.)
#2  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
Guess this is a common error with GB
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...r-blocked.html

Seems like GB has a built in wifi/hot spot thats taking over control of the avail network.

So far i havnt come across a fix

Also tried Open Garden to no avail






----------------------------------
EDIT: Update in post #7
 
stupidchicken03
Old
#3  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
Anyone find anything for a work around?

Im thinking about going back to Froyo
 
stupidchicken03
Old
#4  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
Anyone get wifi tether working?
 
Khachikyan
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yerevan
tether is working perfectly with embedded 3G hotspot software
 
stupidchicken03
Old
#6  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khachikyan View Post
tether is working perfectly with embedded 3G hotspot software
Can you link me to what you used?

And are you on the stock ROM, just rooted?
 
stupidchicken03
Old
#7  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
GOT IT WORKING!
I followed these instructions after installing the wifi-tether beta 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by coopmatt80 View Post
OK, got it to work.

I used the latest android-wifi-tether (beta 6). In the settings go to "Device Profile" and change it to Motorola Droid X, then connect. After you connect toggle the Pro into airplane mode and toggle it off again. You should be able to surf and will not get the "Verizon" pay wall. I know its one added step, but it's a whole lot easier and cheaper then paying $20+ more a month...
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...tethering.html



I set the profile to the Droid X, started tether, put into APM, turned APM off.. currently posting from my laptop tethered to my phone


List of the betas for others :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1226225
 
Khachikyan
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yerevan
a bit late, but anyway in my droid pro stock rom there is a stock application named 3G Mobile Hotspot. it is exactly for tethering.
 
stupidchicken03
Old
#9  
stupidchicken03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In the SAC of CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khachikyan View Post
a bit late, but anyway in my droid pro stock rom there is a stock application named 3G Mobile Hotspot. it is exactly for tethering.
Yes you are correct. But with Verizon you have to pay an additional, I believe, $20 a month for the built in feature.

If you're rooted there are apps put there where you can do it for free at your own risk.

I did find a solution to the problem a week or two ago. But last Friday I upgraded to the Razr. And will have to find a work around for that phone haha.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more