Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,844 Members 51,562 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] App to Turn off 3G/EDGE

Tip us?
 
sammyguy
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default [Q] App to Turn off 3G/EDGE

Hello Guys,

I made my jump into the world of Android with the SGS2. I love it to the core with the few days I have played with it. I am on the lookout for some good 3G/2G/EDGE turn off apps that let me turn off my data usage since I am on a data limit plan. I know that I can disable data from going into wireless & networks > Mobile Networks> uncheck use packet data. But I am looking for some sort of a widget app on the home screen that turn off/on the data with one click.

I would appreciate if you guys could point me to some good apps that are known to work on SGS2.

Thanks
 
HTC Chris
Old
#2  
HTC Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 319
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, California
I'm haven't looked into any Apps that do that, but if you flash to a custom ROM like UnNamed, there is a data toggle button on the drop down menu.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy Note
ROM:
The Following User Says Thank You to HTC Chris For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cilantro_85
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyguy View Post
Hello Guys,

I made my jump into the world of Android with the SGS2. I love it to the core with the few days I have played with it. I am on the lookout for some good 3G/2G/EDGE turn off apps that let me turn off my data usage since I am on a data limit plan. I know that I can disable data from going into wireless & networks > Mobile Networks> uncheck use packet data. But I am looking for some sort of a widget app on the home screen that turn off/on the data with one click.

I would appreciate if you guys could point me to some good apps that are known to work on SGS2.

Thanks
There is a lot of apps that u can download in android market, but it will be useless if right now u'r running default Original ROM.

Apps that you already download from android market will be useless, i recommended that u flash default ROM and use Custom ROM.

Right now i'm running SG2 with Cyanogen and it had option to choose 2G or 3G data.

i hope this information can help you

Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to cilantro_85 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sammyguy
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thank you guys!!! You guys are just awesome..I will look into flashing some custom ROM's..The more I delve into Android the more I am in love with it.
 
tboooe
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 506
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTC Chris View Post
I'm haven't looked into any Apps that do that, but if you flash to a custom ROM like UnNamed, there is a data toggle button on the drop down menu.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda premium
Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.
 
joshuadjohnson22
Old
#6  
joshuadjohnson22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 783
Posts: 2,156
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Atlanta

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboooe View Post
Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.
i wish, i do not see that toggle just the standard data
 
nyydynasty
Old
#7  
nyydynasty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 1,322
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboooe View Post
Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.
it has a toggle to switch the data on/off, not 2g to 3g.
 
Firepac
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 87
Join Date: Oct 2011
Switching from 3g to 2g will save battery correct? I wonder why there isn't a default way to do that like on the iphone.
 
tboooe
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 506
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepac View Post
Switching from 3g to 2g will save battery correct? I wonder why there isn't a default way to do that like on the iphone.
It did at least on my iphone.
 
HTC Chris
Old
#10  
HTC Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 319
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboooe View Post
Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.
My mistake, it is just for the data itself.
Samsung Galaxy Note
ROM:

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


How to Factory Reset your Samsung Gear Live Android Wear SmartWatch – XDA Developer TV

Do you want to Factory Reset your Samsung Gear … more

Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more