Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more

Sony Xperia Z4 Forum Now Available

Sony’s Xperia line has seen plenty of development on XDA, and now that the Xperia Z4 has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] App to Turn off 3G/EDGE

28th October 2011, 09:10 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Hello Guys,

I made my jump into the world of Android with the SGS2. I love it to the core with the few days I have played with it. I am on the lookout for some good 3G/2G/EDGE turn off apps that let me turn off my data usage since I am on a data limit plan. I know that I can disable data from going into wireless & networks > Mobile Networks> uncheck use packet data. But I am looking for some sort of a widget app on the home screen that turn off/on the data with one click.

I would appreciate if you guys could point me to some good apps that are known to work on SGS2.

Thanks
 
 
28th October 2011, 09:26 AM |#2  
HTC Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego, California
Thanks Meter: 24
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
I'm haven't looked into any Apps that do that, but if you flash to a custom ROM like UnNamed, there is a data toggle button on the drop down menu.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to HTC Chris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th October 2011, 12:44 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyguy

Hello Guys,

I made my jump into the world of Android with the SGS2. I love it to the core with the few days I have played with it. I am on the lookout for some good 3G/2G/EDGE turn off apps that let me turn off my data usage since I am on a data limit plan. I know that I can disable data from going into wireless & networks > Mobile Networks> uncheck use packet data. But I am looking for some sort of a widget app on the home screen that turn off/on the data with one click.

I would appreciate if you guys could point me to some good apps that are known to work on SGS2.

Thanks

There is a lot of apps that u can download in android market, but it will be useless if right now u'r running default Original ROM.

Apps that you already download from android market will be useless, i recommended that u flash default ROM and use Custom ROM.

Right now i'm running SG2 with Cyanogen and it had option to choose 2G or 3G data.

i hope this information can help you

Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to cilantro_85 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th October 2011, 04:33 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Thank you guys!!! You guys are just awesome..I will look into flashing some custom ROM's..The more I delve into Android the more I am in love with it.
28th October 2011, 05:08 PM |#5  
tboooe's Avatar
Senior Member
the OC
Thanks Meter: 443
 
907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTC Chris

I'm haven't looked into any Apps that do that, but if you flash to a custom ROM like UnNamed, there is a data toggle button on the drop down menu.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda premium

Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.
28th October 2011, 06:24 PM |#6  
joshuadjohnson22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 800
 
2,267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboooe

Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.

i wish, i do not see that toggle just the standard data
28th October 2011, 06:39 PM |#7  
nyydynasty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 259
 
1,429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboooe

Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.

it has a toggle to switch the data on/off, not 2g to 3g.
28th October 2011, 07:05 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Switching from 3g to 2g will save battery correct? I wonder why there isn't a default way to do that like on the iphone.
28th October 2011, 09:45 PM |#9  
tboooe's Avatar
Senior Member
the OC
Thanks Meter: 443
 
907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepac

Switching from 3g to 2g will save battery correct? I wonder why there isn't a default way to do that like on the iphone.

It did at least on my iphone.
28th October 2011, 10:37 PM |#10  
HTC Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego, California
Thanks Meter: 24
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboooe

Please correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe UnNamed has this toggle...

I too would love to be able to easily switch to 2g/3g.

My mistake, it is just for the data itself.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes