FORUMS

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Wrong UMTS signal indication on XT862 [Fixed!!!]

960 posts
Thanks Meter: 130
 
By The Solutor, Senior Member on 31st October 2011, 02:14 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
As I already wrote was almost too obvious that the poor GSM signal indication was done purposely on Verizon request.

Well, now I have the proof



Just edit build.prop and change the line

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=1

to

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=0

then reboot the phone

and your three or four stolen signal bars will be back.

Don't forget to say cheers to verizon
Last edited by The Solutor; 31st October 2011 at 05:01 PM.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to The Solutor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
31st October 2011, 02:18 AM |#2  
The Solutor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Turin
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
For the record I just tried to do the same on the D2g which is affected by the same "feature" and it works perfectly too...
The Following User Says Thank You to The Solutor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st October 2011, 02:32 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Solutor

As I already wrote was almost too obvious that the poor GSM signal indication was done purposely on Verizon request.

Well, now I have the proof

Just edit build.prop and change the line

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=1

to

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=0

then reboot the phone

and your three or four stolen signal bars will be back.

Don't forget to say cheers to verizon

Confirmed working~

You are the man!!!
31st October 2011, 02:46 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
God bless you!!!! Works on Droid 2 Global too!!!!!
31st October 2011, 02:59 AM |#5  
The Solutor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Turin
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
Indeed.

Likely there are also other global models that can be fixed too, for now I wrote it just on the D2g room because I have it (i got it after the d3)
31st October 2011, 04:17 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
I posted right away link to your post here over at D2G general, since we were quite a few people over there annoyed from that "tweak" of Verizon since pretty much day one. Sorry for the cross post - I didn't notice you already posted in dev threads. Thanks again!

Did you notice UMTS signal indicator became 5 bar from 4 bar?
31st October 2011, 04:28 AM |#7  
Hashcode's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,514
 
Donate to Me
More
I made this change to the CM7 build.prop file. For future releases.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st October 2011, 05:33 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
yeah the Solutor, work fine :)
31st October 2011, 10:21 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Mind = blown.

Confirmed to work here too, i'm on the Liberty ROM btw.

It's quite sad too, considering 1 line can fix your GSM reception. This makes me wonder, does it do anything else too, for example will it make it unusable for CDMA networks, or is it really only affecting GSM signal indication? That would make it even sadder!
31st October 2011, 10:22 AM |#10  
niko99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
The Solutor ! i do little test, i keep phone in this same place and change that what you advice.

first i haved alwasy 2bars and after reset i have 4bars of signal !!! thx
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes