Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,010 Members 44,468 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wrong UMTS signal indication on XT862 [Fixed!!!]

Tip us?
 
The Solutor
Old
(Last edited by The Solutor; 31st October 2011 at 05:01 PM.)
#1  
The Solutor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 960
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turin
Angry Wrong UMTS signal indication on XT862 [Fixed!!!]

As I already wrote was almost too obvious that the poor GSM signal indication was done purposely on Verizon request.

Well, now I have the proof



Just edit build.prop and change the line

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=1

to

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=0

then reboot the phone

and your three or four stolen signal bars will be back.

Don't forget to say cheers to verizon
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to The Solutor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
The Solutor
Old
#2  
The Solutor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 960
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turin
For the record I just tried to do the same on the D2g which is affected by the same "feature" and it works perfectly too...
The Following User Says Thank You to The Solutor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jchenny
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 180
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Solutor View Post
As I already wrote was almost too obvious that the poor GSM signal indication was done purposely on Verizon request.

Well, now I have the proof

Just edit build.prop and change the line

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=1

to

ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=0

then reboot the phone

and your three or four stolen signal bars will be back.

Don't forget to say cheers to verizon
Confirmed working~

You are the man!!!
 
leobg
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 1,320
Join Date: Mar 2006
God bless you!!!! Works on Droid 2 Global too!!!!!
leobg
 
The Solutor
Old
#5  
The Solutor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 960
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turin
Indeed.

Likely there are also other global models that can be fixed too, for now I wrote it just on the D2g room because I have it (i got it after the d3)
 
leobg
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 1,320
Join Date: Mar 2006
I posted right away link to your post here over at D2G general, since we were quite a few people over there annoyed from that "tweak" of Verizon since pretty much day one. Sorry for the cross post - I didn't notice you already posted in dev threads. Thanks again!

Did you notice UMTS signal indicator became 5 bar from 4 bar?
leobg
 
Hashcode
Old
#7  
Hashcode's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 22,323
Posts: 3,232
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I made this change to the CM7 build.prop file. For future releases.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nikeusfr
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 66
Join Date: Sep 2010
yeah the Solutor, work fine :)
 
rvschuil
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 40
Join Date: Oct 2010
Mind = blown.

Confirmed to work here too, i'm on the Liberty ROM btw.

It's quite sad too, considering 1 line can fix your GSM reception. This makes me wonder, does it do anything else too, for example will it make it unusable for CDMA networks, or is it really only affecting GSM signal indication? That would make it even sadder!
 
niko99
Old
#10  
niko99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 304
Join Date: May 2008
The Solutor ! i do little test, i keep phone in this same place and change that what you advice.

first i haved alwasy 2bars and after reset i have 4bars of signal !!! thx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes