Post Reply

[Rom][2-21-12]GingerVolt Rom 2.0 w/ Blitzkrieg Kernel

OP mtmichaelson

31st October 2011, 07:58 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
460 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by majorpay

I have backups going all the way back, but I wouldn't have one of stock recovery (making a backup of a recovery with a recovery that wasn't installed would be hard)

Lol, wise @55... a backup from directly after u installed cwm. Of just a rooted factory Rom. Your other problem seems personal & I can't help you there, haro can.

Sent from my VS910 4G using Tapatalk
31st October 2011, 10:27 AM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
ok so I followed all of MT's instruction. Then I restored my data using CWM backup to get my programs back..... is this bad? Seems to be running fine for me, just seemed like a PIA to have to reinstall everything.
31st October 2011, 01:16 PM   |  #23  
indyred99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicopee
Thanks Meter: 71
 
570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmichaelson

No its not that bad. Tomorrow I will make a return to stock zip to flash through cwm, then install stock recovery with revotoolkit, then update. Shouldn't be too bad after tomorrow.

Sent from my VS910 4G using xda premium

I was gonna try the unroot and upgrade but if you are gonna make it easier I will just wait until you get that out to us.

I've Revolted have you?? Sent via tapatalk plugin.
31st October 2011, 01:47 PM   |  #24  
KaneOfMars's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 101
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
crap! Now I REALLY need to find a friend with a pc so I can root .... stupid Mac
31st October 2011, 02:01 PM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
GB radios are a must have

Sent from my VS910 4G using Tapatalk
31st October 2011, 03:15 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Can we ditch revotoolkit now then?
31st October 2011, 03:18 PM   |  #27  
mtmichaelson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mt. Juliet, TN
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by revo_65

Can we ditch revotoolkit now then?

You need it to install cwm, but once on gb, don't flash stock recovery! It is the zv4 recovery and will not boot. You can also install clockwork the manual way through adb, that way you get a back up of the stock recovery.

Sent from my VS910 4G using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to mtmichaelson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st October 2011, 03:28 PM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmichaelson

You need it to install cwm, but once on gb, don't flash stock recovery! It is the zv4 recovery and will not boot. You can also install clockwork the manual way through adb, that way you get a back up of the stock recovery.

Sent from my VS910 4G using xda premium

alright thank you. love the boot animation! and the weapon G2x wallpaper! Nice work!
31st October 2011, 03:42 PM   |  #29  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
grrrrr.. i have a backup of stock from when i first rooted... everytime i try to flash it with CMW it doesnt boot past the LG screen!!!.. i was trying to avoid having to download a stock rom and go through that process... any suggestions?? thanks!
31st October 2011, 04:10 PM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmichaelson

You need it to install cwm, but once on gb, don't flash stock recovery! It is the zv4 recovery and will not boot. You can also install clockwork the manual way through adb, that way you get a back up of the stock recovery.

Sent from my VS910 4G using xda premium

Speaking of cwm, this is just an FYI for those that care. I installed the GB update, then rooted via the one-click-root with SU 3.

I installed Revotoolkit to install CWM. Everything worked fine. I rebooted into CWM okay just to test it. I rebooted back into GB to do a couple more things before installing Gingervolt. When I went to reboot back into CWM, it didn't work. When I expected to see CWM, it looked like an analog TV static for a second and then it went blank again. I pulled the battery and rebooted back to GB. I used Revotoolkit and it said the recovery image version was not found again.

I repeated this a few times to verify, but the CWM wouldn't stick after one reboot.

I have loaded Gingervolt now and CWM is still there after I booted up.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes