Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] General thoughts, experience and concerns on Froyo 2.2.2

OP minirome

1st November 2011, 12:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Dallas-Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
To start this off, I want to say that this is an awesome community full of great people willing to help others. It takes this sort of open source sharing to come together for the greater good. That is why I want to make a thread to document my experiences so that it may help others and myself.

As of yesterday, I started using froyo 2.2.2 by joshkoss. This update is probably the best of all of them and I like it much better than 2.2.1, which is what I previously had installed. Having said that, there are still some problems, which I almost find enjoyable to discover how to fix.

Throughout most of my updates, my GPS has been slow to connect. Finally on 2.2.2 it is impossible to establish a connection and everytime I turn on GPS it always asks me to 'Accept' or 'Cancel' the agreement. I've never had this happen before. Anyone know what to do about that?

Beyond this issue, I wanted to try this fix by ciscogee. I have gotten all the way to the point on ADB tools that in my cmd prompt I can type 'adb devices' to show me my devices serial number. For me, it ends there. As soon as I can figure out how to do this fix step by step for a beginner I will type it out in this thread. I am using Android SDK.

Another problem with this 2.2.2 update is that my banking app no longer works and it force closes right after start up. Then when I try to send a report, that also force closes. It worked on 2.2.1 so Im sure it has something to do with it.

So as of right now this is where I'm at. I hope I can help some people out with their Continuum. I just dont have the detailed knowledge of the inner workings to really bring something to the table, but I hope to at least help someone else out and learn something in the process.
1st November 2011, 03:24 AM   |  #2  
rowdyw's Avatar
Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 24
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
My Wells Fargo app quit working when I switched over to EC07 and I haven't been able to pinpoint what the problem is. I posted my problems in another thread, but basically I had several apps that were FCing when I tried to use them. I did logcat on them, and based on the errors I got from there, I think is has something to do with the apps trying to access data either over 3G or wifi.

Never got any further than that though.
1st November 2011, 03:07 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Dallas-Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
That's weird. Did you have problems reporting the failure? Ill have to try out that log app and see what I can find out. Hopefully ill have something later today.

Anyone else have problems with a banking app? Mine is comerica bank.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using XDA App
1st November 2011, 04:07 PM   |  #4  
ciscogee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wa State
Thanks Meter: 192
 
879 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Trailblazer101 has a fixed browser app. Try that.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
1st November 2011, 05:47 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Dallas-Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I don't think that'll help. My browser has never forced closed.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using XDA App
1st November 2011, 06:29 PM   |  #6  
ciscogee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wa State
Thanks Meter: 192
 
879 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thinking is a lil dif than trying it and knowing for sure.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
1st November 2011, 07:14 PM   |  #7  
rowdyw's Avatar
Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 24
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I tried the hacked browser and it didn't change anything on my phone. Both the stock browser and TB's hacked one FC as soon I tried load a page.

One thing I did notice though, was that the browser would let me surf the web just fine. It was when I tried to log into any account; Wells Fargo, Google, etc.,that it would FC. Don't know if that means anything or not. Wonder if it is the same reason some banking apps aren't working. Could it have something to do with using secure connections?

Just a thought.
2nd November 2011, 05:07 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Dallas-Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciscogee

Thinking is a lil dif than trying it and knowing for sure.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium

You're absolutely right! You really can't mess up this phone either.
2nd November 2011, 05:11 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Dallas-Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rowdyw

I tried the hacked browser and it didn't change anything on my phone. Both the stock browser and TB's hacked one FC as soon I tried load a page.

One thing I did notice though, was that the browser would let me surf the web just fine. It was when I tried to log into any account; Wells Fargo, Google, etc.,that it would FC. Don't know if that means anything or not. Wonder if it is the same reason some banking apps aren't working. Could it have something to do with using secure connections?

Just a thought.

I get what you're saying about the force close on secure connections. Ive only had a force close on one bank app. Never online through the web browser such as dolphin.

Was the hacked browser an internet browser?
2nd November 2011, 10:50 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Yep, my Wells Fargo app doesn't work either.

Same fc issue... as with the Flixter and imapmyrun apps.

(Small vibrate... pause... blackscreen & 3 pulse vibrate fc.)

I'm running Miunia Beta 3 on ec07 radio with the Ciscogee .85 blue theme.


Sent from my SCH-I400 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ec07, froyo, gps
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes