Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,793 Members 42,346 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Root the Atrix 2(Updated for 2.3.6 FINALLY)

Tip us?
 
Jimmy273
Old
(Last edited by Jimmy273; 2nd April 2012 at 07:42 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [HOWTO] Root the Atrix 2(Updated for 2.3.6 FINALLY)

First: I'd like to make it clear I am not claiming this process as my own. This method was created by p3droid over at the MyDroidWorld Forums. I am not a dev, just someone compiling information.




Second: This root method is originally intended for the Droid Bionic and I take no responsibility if this bricks your phone.

Third: This root was discovered by JRW 28 So give him some love with that thanks button.

If you are on 2.3.6:
Install the OTA and upgrade your phone to 2.3.6
Download the 2.3.6 root zip from HERE
Make sure you have the right drivers installed then connect your phone to your PC.
Unzip the file and then double-click "Click-To-Root.bat".
Refer to the trouble shooting step bleow the 2.3.5 method if you are unable to attain root!

If you are on 2.3.5:

Root:
I used the Lazy One Click and it worked perfectly, others have had success with the full manual method.
Quote:
I am a manual man, I don't use 1 clicks so I will post this the only way I know how...

Download the follow file: it contains the exploit, su, Superuser

Download exploit ---> Exploit.zip

1) Unzip contents of folder to your Desktop

2) open a command terminal and navigate to the folder (cd Desktop/Exploit)

3) type the following commands
---> adb push zerg /data/local
---> adb push su /data/local
---> adb push Superuser.apk /data/local
---> adb shell
---> cd /data/local
---> chmod 777 zerg
---> ./zerg

4) Wait for the root to be gained

5) type the following commands
---> adb shell (only type this if you are no longer in shell@targa)
---> mount -o rw,remount /dev/null /system
---> cat /data/local/su > /system/bin/su
---> cat /data/local/Superuser.apk > /system/app/Superuser.apk
---> chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
---> chmod 4755 /system/app/Superuser.apk
---> reboot



********************************

Windows Version
For the lazy I made you a 1-click ---> 1-click-exploit.zip
Original Thread on MyDroidWorld: http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/d...tml#post106072

Important for those using Oneclick:
1.Extract the files from 1-click_exploit.zip.
2.Enable USB debugging. Do so by going into your settings, then to applications, then to development.
3.Set your connection type to charge only. You can change your connection type through the notification bar once your are connected.
4.Make sure you go to Settings, Applications, and check Unknown sources if you haven't done so already.
5.Click runme.bat while your phone is connected. Be patient and let the program do it's thing. YOUR PHONE WILL REBOOT! Do not be alarmed as this is normal. Your phone should now be rooted.
Cheers!


If runme.bat hangs after daemeon starts:

1.First make sure you have USB Debugging, Unknown Sources, and Charge only connection enabled
2.If none of these options work, uninstall your drivers and download and install one of these:
Driver-wise:
Try this if on 32-bit:http://www.mediafire.com/?71c12qc4a1svqza
And this for 64-bit:http://www.mediafire.com/?ysphmaz131d3an9

Proof of Root: This is a terminal screen showing the Atrix 2 (Codenamed Edison, look it up if you must) accessing root.
[B]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000004.jpg
Views:	102928
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	767827  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Exploit.zip - [Click for QR Code] (739.0 KB, 18826 views)
File Type: zip 1-click_exploit.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.71 MB, 31224 views)
The Following 56 Users Say Thank You to Jimmy273 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ghettopops
Old
#2  
ghettopops's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 520
Join Date: Mar 2006
Anyone else try?
The Following User Says Thank You to ghettopops For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jimmy273
Old
(Last edited by Jimmy273; 1st November 2011 at 05:30 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
I'll be uploading a terminal screen in a second accessing root.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA App
 
malickie
Old
(Last edited by malickie; 1st November 2011 at 05:37 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 657
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Yea I have it working and full SU Access. No wonder the computer doesnt have access to the phones internal memory it is by default set as r/o...Im gonna change it to R/W and see if that changes anything other than allowing R/W access. And after trying notta still only SD Card access like I thought, I assume there is some sorta setting we can edit though. At least that is my assumption. I used the One Click method Worked flawlessly on my device and Very Simple.
Current Phones:
SG Note 3, Samsung Galaxy S4 Zoom
Tablet:
Acer Iconia A500
Previous Phones:
T-Mobile Dash, T-Mobile Wing, iPhone 3g, Garminfone, HTC G2, MyTouch 4G, Motorola Atrix, Motorola Atrix 2, Samsung Skyrocket, HTC Titan, SGSII, LG Thrill, HTC Vivid, SGSIII
And a Long list of Stuff Prior to Smart Phone Existence.
 
samsungcaptivates
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 1,147
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Clewiston
Default built in wifi tether

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1160452

this method also works for the Atrix 2
Sent From My Droid XT910 Razr
The Following User Says Thank You to samsungcaptivates For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jimmy273
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks for the tip!

Sent from my MB865 using XDA App
AT&T HTC One 32GB Rooted, Unlocked, S-OFF
Retired Motorola ATRIX 2, Rooted+CWM.
HP TouchPad CM9 Schizoid
 
Gadgetz
Old
#7  
Gadgetz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 495
Posts: 2,289
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by malickie View Post
Yea I have it working and full SU Access. No wonder the computer doesnt have access to the phones internal memory it is by default set as r/o...Im gonna change it to R/W and see if that changes anything other than allowing R/W access. And after trying notta still only SD Card access like I thought, I assume there is some sorta setting we can edit though. At least that is my assumption. I used the One Click method Worked flawlessly on my device and Very Simple.
How do you root the phone using the one click method? I've downloaded the zip and extracted it. Do I just connect my phone and then click on the runme.bat? When I connect my phone, any special instructions there or just connect it as if i was going to charge it, then enable usb debugging? Please clarify. Thanks.
 
loderjm
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Apr 2011
Enable USB debugging. Then connect your phone to the computer. In the notification area, click on "USB connection" for more options. Click charge only.

Then double click on runme.bat

Follow instructions. Be patient while phone reboots. It will say (in the command prompt window) you have successfully rooted when it's all done.

It's schweet.
 
Gadgetz
Old
#9  
Gadgetz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 495
Posts: 2,289
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by loderjm View Post
Enable USB debugging. Then connect your phone to the computer. In the notification area, click on "USB connection" for more options. Click charge only.

Then double click on runme.bat

Follow instructions. Be patient while phone reboots. It will say (in the command prompt window) you have successfully rooted when it's all done.

It's schweet.
Thanks for clarifying, worked like a charm! Let the developing begin!!!!
 
athris
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 238
Join Date: Jan 2011
yes it works!!! Thank you so much

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes