Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,937 Members 43,281 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[PROJECT]Bootloader Unlock

Tip us?
 
Jimmy273
Old
(Last edited by Jimmy273; 7th November 2011 at 02:02 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [PROJECT]Bootloader Unlock

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY HARM DONE TO YOUR DEVICE THROUGH METHODS MENTIONED BELOW. THESE METHODS WILL DOWNLOAD UPDATES THAT WILL WANT TO INSTALL. DO NOT INSTALL THEM THEY MAY BRICK YOUR DEVICE. STICK TO THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW AND YOU SHOULD BE FINE.


Also note it may be weeks, perhaps months before Atrix 2 updates begin rolling in. It's a very new device!


Now, the fastest way we are going to get this Bootloader unlocked is with a little ol' fashioned teamwork. These methods have worked for other devices but require some participation and patience.
Previous devices having used the method:
Bionic
ATRIX 4G

Here are the methods we will be using:
1.Motorola, ATT SBF files for Motorola Atrix 2
2.Project Cheesecake - finding update versions on Motorola servers

1. SBF files
If you or someone you know is able to provide SBF Files intended for the Atrix 2, you can post them here or email them to me at yankeesbro@gmail.com if anonymity is an issue.

2. The tried and tested Project Cheesecake!

Automatic Method:
Quote:
What you will need

1.an ADB setup.
2.Obviously, Root.
3.ClockworkMod Recovery set up on the phone.
4.You should have an FXZ Ready in case you mess up.
5.Root Explorer from market


Now an app does it all for you. Imagine that.


1. Okay, so, download THIS APP RIGHT HERE.

2. Install the app on your phone.

3. Open the app. Click the first button.

4. Reboot.

5. Open app, click second button. Select a server. QA And Staging servers seem most common for updates, but we need to check them all. The default is in Production -> master-blur.whatever.com if you need to get back to it.

6. now click third button in app to check for update. click setup (the moto account thing is bs). Now if it gives you a wifi error, that means the server is down that you chose. If the server is up it will check for an update.

7. If that didn't work, select a new server with button 2, and then check again with button 3.

8. Any comments in this post about the ghettoness of my app will result in replies including but not limited to A) Slander, B) flaming, and C) death. Try to keep the thread pretty on topic to cheesecake method and other info. I know my app can be refined, jcase has been giving me some tips on streamlining my programming and su permission reduction, but it does good stuff, don't worry. It even remounts system as RO when it uses it.

9. godspeed, guys.


What do I do if my phone finds an update?


if you are uncomfortable dealing with it for sake of bricks / other bad stuff, let someone else know or post it in the thread. It will be attended to properly.
DO NOT INSTALL IT. IF YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IT
Depending on what the update contains, it could brick your device. Get in touch with a developer ASAP if you don't know what to do. Post in this thread which server you found it on. load up adb. The file you found should exist somewhere in /cache. pull it to your computer. Then delete it. Be warned that the update after downloaded tries to install every 2 minutes and while typing a text i accidentally clicked install once. I almost messed myself up.

log onto chat.andirc.net and go to #bionic. You might find me in there.
Log onto irc.freenode.net and join #droidbionic and #bionic-dev. The bionic-dev channel is ONLY for dev-related talk. If you just want to kick it, converse in #droidbionic.
Someone experienced here can help you, and let you know what you've found.


If you liked my work here, click the thanks button at the bottom of this post! Thank you all for reading.
Link to original topic:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1281675

Manual Method:
Quote:
Instructions:
List of servers:
Code:
master-lab.blurdev.com
master-demo.blurdev.com
master-dev.blurdev.com
master-qa1.blurdev.com
master-qa2.blurdev.com
master-qa3.blurdev.com
master-qa4.blurdev.com
master-staging1.blurdev.com
master-sdc1.svcmot.com
master-blur.svcmot.com
master-homer.blurdev.com
master-bart.blurdev.com
master-lisa.blurdev.com
master-maggie.blurdev.com
master-marge.blurdev.com
master-bqa1.blurdev.com
master-bqa2.blurdev.com
testcloud01-sdc1.blurdev.com
1.Root the device
2.Navigate to /system/etc/motorola/com.motorola.blur.service.blur/ in a root file explorer [ie. Root Explorer]
3.Edit data_wifi_only_settings.mkitso. Replace "data_wifi_only_feat_avail=1" with "data_wifi_only_feat_avail=0"
4.Edit defaults.xml. Replace the entire file contents with:
Code:
<map><string name='blur.service.ws.useApnProxy'>0</string><string name='blur.service.ws.masterCloud'>master-lab.blurdev.com</string></map>
5.to /system/etc/motorola/com.motorola.blur.setup in a root file explorer and Edit defaults.xml. Replace the entire file contents with(you settings may already look like this, if so ignore it):
Code:
<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?>
    <map>
    <boolean name='AllowActiveSync' value='true'/>
    <boolean name='ShowSkipSetupMenu' value='true'/>
    <boolean name='ShowConnectionChooser' value='true'/>
    <boolean name='ShowDataSaverInSetup' value='true'/>
    <boolean name='WifiPreference' value='true'/>
    <boolean name='loc_consent_unchecked' value='false'/>
    <boolean name='CloudPreference' value='true'/></map>
6.Wipe data and cache
7.Navigate to Settings > About Phone > System Updates
8.If it says "Update Available," let the update download. Do not install the update, because it could potentially brick your device.
9.Pull the update.zip file from /cache [Root Explorer or ADB] and upload/post the file for developer interest
10.Continue to test the next server. Navigate to /system/etc/motorola/com.motorola.blur.service.blur
11.Mount the folder as read/write
12.Edit defaults.xml. Remove "master-lab.blurdev.com" and put in the URL for the next server.
13.Repeat the steps from "Wipe data and cache" every time.
Credits: They all deserve thanks so if you see them around the forum, or wish to go to their original topics click that button!
- eval- for his initial discovery on the Atrix 4G
- Navalynt for scanning servers
- SamCripp, the2dcour - working on "Project Cheesecake" and "Pudding" unlock projects
-kennethpenn for the instructions as well as setup.

-Phydo for automatic method and app!
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to Jimmy273 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jimbridgman
Old
#2  
jimbridgman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,147
Posts: 2,269
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dallas, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
We might try this. It automates the process. All the credit goes to phydo for this though. I am looking at it now to see if we can try it on our Atrix 2

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1281675

Jim
 
Jimmy273
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
I saw that as well... Let me know if its working on the ATRIX 2 and I'll edit the topic accordingly. Thanks again for your continued interest, I really appreciate it.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA App
AT&T HTC One 32GB Rooted, Unlocked, S-OFF
Retired Motorola ATRIX 2, Rooted+CWM.
HP TouchPad CM9 Schizoid
 
jimbridgman
Old
#4  
jimbridgman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,147
Posts: 2,269
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dallas, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Phydo's app works beautifully. I installed and ran it on severall of the servers, if it asks to setup and account just click setup... then if it asks to setup a wifi connection then that server is down, which I am getting on most of them right now as would be expected.

Jim
 
Jimmy273
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
Works flawlessly on my end too.. updated the first post with instructions.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA App
AT&T HTC One 32GB Rooted, Unlocked, S-OFF
Retired Motorola ATRIX 2, Rooted+CWM.
HP TouchPad CM9 Schizoid
 
moofree
Old
(Last edited by moofree; 7th November 2011 at 07:49 AM.) Reason: pm if you need the file for development
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 214
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Just pulled Blur_Version.55.11.16.MB865.ATT.en.US.zip with cheesecake.
Judging only by the number in the filename, this is the stock version of blur... probably.
Can't post links so...
The Following User Says Thank You to moofree For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jimmy273
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2011
Awesome man! I'll check it out!
AT&T HTC One 32GB Rooted, Unlocked, S-OFF
Retired Motorola ATRIX 2, Rooted+CWM.
HP TouchPad CM9 Schizoid
 
moofree
Old
(Last edited by moofree; 2nd November 2011 at 04:37 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 214
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
It's only 50 megs so I don't think it's the full filesytem.
This might be the update from the mythical 2.3.4 version listed on the moto dev site.

edit: I see some recent timestamps... system\etc\motorola\ap_flex_version.txt
Code:
GAS_NA_EDSNGBATT_P015
Sat Oct 29 10:13:33 PDT 2011

derp derp
Code:
Blur_Version.55.13.15.MB865.ATT.en.US  %Blur_Version.55.11.16.MB865.ATT.en.US
 
moofree
Old
(Last edited by moofree; 2nd November 2011 at 06:03 PM.) Reason: oem unlock fail
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 214
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Went ahead and too a giant leap and upgraded.
After a few harrowing minutes, it was updated to 55.13.15
Android version is 2.3.6
Baseband is
2011-10-28 12:44 Off.Bld
LUD_EDISON_R1D7_PATCH_34_111028_1226

Webtop has been updated, looks like firefox 7.0.1 is installed now, can't test it myself.

Getting prompts from motorola to "upgrade".

Lost root in the update. Going to try to get it back...
Edit: Root works!

Code:
fastboot oem unlock
 ... FAILED (remote: unsupported command)
 
jimbridgman
Old
#10  
jimbridgman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,147
Posts: 2,269
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dallas, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
what files were in the update? was there an fxz or an sbf? were there any files with I think mbl in the name? Those would be the bootloader, if so we need to take a look at them. I will put it down and check it out.

I am not quite ready to install that yet, since I am on the right track to have a FULL ubuntu desktop running in webtop, right now I have broken tomoyo, so no facls, or security on the webtop files, and I have a terminal and sudo, as well as synaptic, so I will hold off on 2.3.6 for now, since there is a webtop update in there.

I will start a new thread for the webtop stuff once I have more. Now I need to get with tallnerd1985 to get webtop2sd working on our phones.

Jim

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes