Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,072 Members 44,882 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Build.Prop Tweaks

Tip us?
 
Woody
Old
(Last edited by Woody; 1st February 2012 at 01:16 PM.)
#1  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron - OP
Thanks Meter 8,890
Posts: 6,691
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
Default [MOD] Build.Prop Tweaks

I’ve been scouring XDA and the net for some ways to make our phones a little bit better. What I have found is that you can alter your Build.Prop to work to your advantage.

Did you know that if there is an app exclusive to the Droid X and only works for the Droid X (not withstanding hardware issues), we can change our Build.Prop from Milestone XT720 to Droid X (whatever that model number is) and get into the market and download it?

There also other “tweaks” to you Build.Prop that are beneficial in many other ways, Data strength, Video and Camera resolution, GPS lock, Power saves,…

The below is what I have been able to find, save and test for most of our builds on the Milestone XT720, but first…

Choice is something that has been fought for, relinquished, dreamt of and lost. Here in XDA we have a choice to either use on not to use. This is YOUR choice. If YOU decide to use these tweaks, any problems that arise are YOUR responsibility. Now that is out of the way, here you are.

Oh and one other thing:::::::::::Make a backup of at the very least your /system because if something goes awry while editing the Build.Prop, all you have to do is restore your /system, since that is where the Build.Prop is located.

**XT720 Users->I have not tested these on any of the MIUI builds or Fjfalcon's CM7 release (per Sebastiman -all tweaks but camera work on Fjfalcon's CM7).**
Per Fjfalcon some of these are NOT working on [ROM][KANG][2012.01.30] CyanogenMod 7.2.0 RC0 Milestone XT720


If any Devs want to use these, that is cool. Just make sure you put in your OP that they are already on there so no one duplicates them on their Build.Prop.

Motorola XT720 "Stock" Build.Props are located here (thanks to AA1973 and 3rdstring) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1327141


I presume most of us are using Root Explorer or something extremely similar. You just need to have Root access and able to edit the Build.Prop text. I user Root Explore so that is what these are based off.

1, Open "Root Explorer" and click the R/W
2, Go to /system/build.prop.
3, Long-presson Build.Prop and you’ll see a pop up.
4, Text Editor.
5, Type in those few line of words below into the last line of the text then save.
6. Reboot twice

Data Tweaks Increase download/upload/3G speeds

ro.ril.hsxpa=2
ro.ril.gprsclass=10
ro.ril.hep=1
ro.ril.enable.dtm=0
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=8 (or 10,12,14) Still looking for more of these though.
ro.ril.enable.a53=1
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.htcmaskw1.bitmask=4294967295
ro.ril.htcmaskw1=14449
ro.ril.hsupa.category=6

net.tcp.buffersize.default=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.wifi=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.umts=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.gprs=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.edge=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960


For some reason XDA won't let me take out the spaces between 4096, 16384. I have edited it twice and it still shows up with the spaces on OP. Should read 4096,16384 for all 5 (default, wifi, umts, gprs and edge) with no space between 6,1 or 16384

For the "ro.ril.hsxpa" ******* 0=UMTS, 1=HSDPA, 2=HSDPA/HSUPA


POWER SAVES

Allows the phone to sleep better
ro.ril.disable.power.collapse=1

Saves power when phone is sleep
pm.sleep_mode=1

Allows your wifi to scan less, saving more battery
wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=150 or 180 (your choice)

Helps Scrolling Responsiveness
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=150

Increase overal touch responsivenss
Debug.performance.tuning=1
Video.accelerate.hw=1


MEDIA TWEAKS

Makes streaming videos stream faster
media.stagefright.enable-player=true
media.stagefright.enable-meta=true
media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
media.stagefright.enable-http=true
media.stagefright.enable-record=false


Increases quality of photo and videos
ro.media.dec.jpeg.memcap=8000000
ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps=8000000


Raises quality of JPEG images
ro.media.enc.jpeg.quality=90 or 100 (your choice)

Better camera and video taking results
camera/camcorder mods
ro.media.capture.maxres=8m
ro.media.capture.fast.fps=4
ro.media.capture.slow.fps=120
ro.media.capture.flash=led ***May interfere with Xenon
ro.media.capture.flashMinV=3300000
ro.media.capture.torchIntensity=40
ro.media.capture.flashIntensity=70
ro.media.panorama.defres=3264x1840
ro.media.panorama.frameres=1280x720
ro.camcorder.videoModes=true



BOOT TWEAKS

Gives your phone no boot animation
debug.sf.nobootanimation=1 ***This might freak out some people not seeing their animation and cause unnecessary battery pulls***

SYSTEM TWEAKS

Forces your home launcher into memory
ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1

Change the Dalvik VM heap size
dalvik.vm.heapsize=64m can use 24, 32 is default, 48, 64

To disable usb debugging popup
persist.adb.notify=0

To give your phone an HD effect fitting a little more on the screen, look for this in your current build.prop and change the 240 to:
qemu.sf.lcd_density=X (225 or 230) ***This has been known to cause FC’s for the Market, so may not be a good tweak but I still put it in here just in case*** See Changelog

To stop the phone from waking up when pressing the volume key
ro.config.hwfeature_wakeupkey=0

To make the phone ring faster when dialing out
ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=800

Disable black screen issue after call
ro.lge.proximity.delay=25
mot.proximity.delay=25


Screen ppi or font density
[B]ro.sf.lcd_density=240

THESE ARE ONES THAT I DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY DO AND HAVE NOT TESTED

To enable the hard key lights to stay on while the screen is on and not timeout
ro.mot.buttonlight.timeout=0
Try disabling BLN if your having trouble getting this to work

To make the phone come off of the "black screen" in the middle of, or the end of phone calls when you pull the phone away from your face
mot.proximity.delay=150
**May kill the dialer**

Render UI with GPU
debug.sf.hw=1

Fix some application issues
ro.kernel.android.checkjni=0

Defrags database files
for I in \
‘find /data –iname “*.db”’
do \
sqlite3 $i ‘VACUUM; ’ ; ***This might be something for devs to look into using for something, not sure what***


Credits to the following and links to their pages.
Master&Slaves http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1151608
knzo http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1227269
Jokersax11 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1263768


Change/Edit log:

11/4/11:::
1-Per peshovec qemu.sf.lcd_density::: if that is different from the default 240 or from 160, chances that some application from the market will be reported as incompatible with your device (web market), or dosen't show in the market (phone) are great.
So use what you want, but when you want to be sure, that you see all the applications, change temporary to 240 or 160

2-Per Sebastiman all tweaks work on Fjfalcon's CM7 except camera ones (caused boot loop)

11/9/11:::
Took out spaces in net.tcp.buffersize as was a copy/paste issue from Word.doc to XDA.

1/6/12:::
Took out some of the Motorola XT720 ROM specific verbiage as this is being view by way more people/devices than the XT

2/1/12:::
Noted the some of these are not working on [ROM][KANG][2012.01.30] CyanogenMod 7.2.0 RC0 Milestone XT720
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LibertyMonger
Old
#2  
LibertyMonger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 828
Posts: 3,412
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati
WOW Awesome dude! Nice work! Can't wait to test them! I wonder if there are reversals? Or probably is if I knew anything about coding lol. Great job dude looks promising. Can't believe the excitement we are still getting out of our phones lol.
 
Woody
Old
#3  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron - OP
Thanks Meter 8,890
Posts: 6,691
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
Quote:
Originally Posted by LibertyMonger View Post
I wonder if there are reversals?


Just make sure you have a back up of /system because that is where the build.prop "lives". Also I have found that when I edit them, it creates a .bak backup, but you can never fail restoring a nandroid of just the /system.


As a side note, AA1973 gave the "stock" Build.Pro for the MIUI and 3rdstring (of course) uploaded a .zip with damn near the rest of them here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1327141

Plus is you adjust a value, wirte down what the original was and if new doesn't work for you, jsut pust back in the original. This way you shoudl only have to restore /system nandroid is something screws up majorly.
The Following User Says Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shungun
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jun 2010
Great work there!
I'd like to call attention to

Code:
Change the Dalvik VM heap size
dalvik.vm.heapsize=64m
Since we have rather limited memory, its better if we stick to a heap size of 32 (default in most roms) personally I use 24 and feel that multitasking is much better than at 32 when most apps get killed repeatedly.
 
Woody
Old
(Last edited by Woody; 3rd November 2011 at 07:15 PM.)
#5  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron - OP
Thanks Meter 8,890
Posts: 6,691
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
That's cool. I know that when I was on Kahl's V4, mine was at 48 and never had a problem with it. Think the intervals are 24, 32, 48, 64

Edited OP with that.
 
tiger2wander
Old
#6  
tiger2wander's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 328
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hà Nội

 
DONATE TO ME
look cool man, will be take time to check & test soon!
No money, no honey!

---
Desire Z T-MOUS G2

Developer's keyboard mod



 
abet1017
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 93
Join Date: Feb 2011
ro.media.capture.flash=led ***Might want to check with MZ or Fjfalcon on these b/c of Xenon... In tweaking the camrera and camcorder is it ok to skip this one if it is not sure?
 
Woody
Old
#8  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron - OP
Thanks Meter 8,890
Posts: 6,691
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
Quote:
Originally Posted by abet1017 View Post
ro.media.capture.flash=led ***Might want to check with MZ or Fjfalcon on these b/c of Xenon... In tweaking the camrera and camcorder is it ok to skip this one if it is not sure?
Try it out but ok to skip too. I have read that this might have something to to with the LED notifications that we have all been looking for. Will keep looking into this weekend for that part.
The Following User Says Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LibertyMonger
Old
#9  
LibertyMonger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 828
Posts: 3,412
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati
Default build.prop text files

Hey Wood, would we be able to use these build.prop tweaks? There are text files to download and place on SDCard rename them to build.prop then use root explorer to move them to /system
 
peshovec
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 342
Posts: 300
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodrube View Post
To give your phone an HD effect fitting a little more on the screen, look for this in your current build.prop and change the 240 to:
[B]ro.sf.lcd_density=X (225 or 230) ***This has been known to cause FC’s for the Market, so may not be a good tweak but I still put it in here just in case***

Screen ppi or font density
[B]ro.sf.lcd_density=240 ***This is how MZ and Peshovec fixed the tiny little Korean keyboard on CM6***


Defrags database files
for I in \
‘find /data –iname “*.db”’
do \
sqlite3 $i ‘VACUUM; ’ ; ***This might be something for MZ, Fjfalcon and Peshovec could use for something, not sure what***
Thanks for your hard work, i'd like to put some comments

ro.sf.lcd_density -> if that is different from the default 240 or from 160, chances that some application from the market will be reported as incompatible with your device (web market), or dosen't show in the market (phone) are great.
So use what you want, but when you want to be sure, that you see all the applications, change temporary to 240 or 160

qemu.sf.lcd_density (here there is typo for the keyboard it should be qemu.sf.lcd_density, instead of ro.sf.lcd_density)


about defraging the database, may be including as part of openrecovery is better. I don't see the point to be defraged at every start..

The Following User Says Thank You to peshovec For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes