Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,079 Members 54,058 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[baseband/radio update tutorial] how to update g2x to the july 15 baseband

Tip us?
 
SL
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 234
Join Date: Mar 2005
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1183168

Just make sure you have the proper drivers installed...I thin the driver file start with BCA something from LG.
I have done if for so many people......takes abt 15 minutes.
 
sunster
Old
#22  
sunster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 197
Join Date: Nov 2010
Just wanted to say thanks. My Wind Mobile 2x is now on the July 15 baseband. Had one hiccup where it said lost communication but i just removed the cable, plugged it back in and hit restart on the tool and it successfully completed.
Phone: LG Optimus 2x (LG-P999)
Carrier: Wind Mobile
Baseband: March 11, 2012 -V21Y
Rom: Latest Temasek CM7
Kernel: Latest Faux
Operating System: Windows 7
No random reboots or SOD since V21Y Baseband update
 
LurkerRWO
Old
(Last edited by LurkerRWO; 11th November 2011 at 12:42 AM.)
#23  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 73
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerRWO View Post
I am trying to install the new baseband from a win7 computer. I know its up in the air if it will even work, but I thought I would test it and see what happens.

Everything is going smooth so far, but when I click "upgrade start" in the read phone information dialog box I get the error

"Please install CSMG B2C client TOOL Select Tool -> B2C Client Setup menu."

Did a little searching but all I found was some russian thread about the o2x and some jerk spammed a thread with this problem and was threatened with a banning

Any ideas about this? Pretty sure I have all the drivers installed and actually I just found out I get this error even when my phone IS NOT plugged into the pc. What the Eff?
Ok got it to work. Here was my process:

Uninstall everything related to mobile phones (except the android SDK)
-Uninstalled LG United Mobile Driver
-Uninstalled msxml.msi
-Uninstalled motorola and other phone drivers (flashing roms for friends)

Reinstalled all relevant drivers and downloaded B2Cappsetup.exe from (http://www.mediafire.com/?nyt1jdkmycd). The latter I dropped into the kdz dir and opened but then closed. (not sure if important)

I then followed the instructions in OP and BAM, it worked!

Note: I also did this on a win7 machine. With WeaponG2X flashed and CWM 5.0.2.0 flashed. It still worked flawlessly (Jul 15 2011 baseband woo!) but it did flash stock recovery (wish LG would keep its dirty hands off my recovery!!)

Here is a paste of my update log, probably not useful, but I like to be thorough!
http://pastebin.com/63wtKKpK

Edit: I like the time travel at the end there, timestamp goes from 18:14 back to 18:11. What the hell LG!?
The Following User Says Thank You to LurkerRWO For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lytener
Old
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2007
I just flashed everything back to original and managed to use the LG updater tool. The process sucked, but it worked.
 
BigDig
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 521
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston
Is it possible that I make a back up of my current rom and then restore it after the update?Am I going to loose CWM after using that method and if I do, how do I get it back?
Thanks
 
SL
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 234
Join Date: Mar 2005
If you have CWM installed, just do a backup.
Then install the baseband..

re-install CWM after the baseband update.

restore via CWM and you will have everything Wind, except the baseband.




Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDig View Post
Is it possible that I make a back up of my current rom and then restore it after the update?Am I going to loose CWM after using that method and if I do, how do I get it back?
Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to SL For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BigDig
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 521
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL View Post
If you have CWM installed, just do a backup.
Then install the baseband..

re-install CWM after the baseband update.

restore via CWM and you will have everything Wind, except the baseband.
Thanks for the fast reply! So I`m currently running CM7 with CWM 5x; and planning to flash the baseband on win7 pc. From what I understand, I don`t have to go back to stock to perform the update, and win7 should not be a problem for the process. How do I flash CWM back? With Nvflash? Also will my phone remain rooted? I`ll appreciate your help. Thanks
 
SL
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 234
Join Date: Mar 2005
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1183168

Just fopllow the thread above.
You reflash CWM with NV falsh.

When you falsh your baseband, make sure you have the LG drivers loaded, the KDZ file and the V21e file....follow the instructions.....takes 20 minutes at most and you are all done.

If you flash a rooted rom via CWM, it will be rooted.



Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDig View Post
Thanks for the fast reply! So I`m currently running CM7 with CWM 5x; and planning to flash the baseband on win7 pc. From what I understand, I don`t have to go back to stock to perform the update, and win7 should not be a problem for the process. How do I flash CWM back? With Nvflash? Also will my phone remain rooted? I`ll appreciate your help. Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to SL For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
schmit
Old
(Last edited by schmit; 21st November 2011 at 10:50 PM.) Reason: url edit
#29  
schmit's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 562
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Passing through..
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1183168

Just fopllow the thread above.
You reflash CWM with NV falsh.

When you falsh your baseband, make sure you have the LG drivers loaded, the KDZ file and the V21e file....follow the instructions.....takes 20 minutes at most and you are all done.

If you flash a rooted rom via CWM, it will be rooted.
Page not found.. Here's the corrected url: forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1183168
The Following User Says Thank You to schmit For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BigDig
Old
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 521
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston
Thanks for your help guys, I just upgraded my baseband!!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes