Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ ROM ] Calkulin's E4GT v3.0 [ EL29 l Fast l Tweaked l Battery Saver Script ]

OP Calkulin

6th November 2011, 06:16 PM   |  #521  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,147
 
6,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_s

@playya I totally get what you are saying and while I agree that far too often people whine and complain about "bugs" when they don't exist or blame [Insert: ROM, Kernel, Mod, Act of God...HERE], but sometimes there simply is an issue. Just because there is a workaround does not negate the issue. This isn't my first rodeo, so I have done my due diligence to resolve this issue and thus far the only thing that I can come up with is that there is an issue with restoring apks. There shouldn't be as most apks are generally universal on Android. So long as no data is restored, there should be absolutely no reason that restoring an apk would cause the inability to reboot into the ROM. This is a bug and it needs to be illustrated so that Calk can decide if he wishes to address it.

No problem here but I do understand it could be the rom and by all means have come across this myself. I am just saying if 8 people have no issue but 2 have weird issues and I am one of the two my first thought was to always start from scratch and see what I may have done wrong.

I am not sure but most people when they restore with TB they do app + data at the same time. Are you guys having issues after just restoring apps only?
6th November 2011, 06:28 PM   |  #522  
Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 4
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
flashed over 24hrs ago and its great so far. also used titanium backup restore apps+data and flashed the 100mV settings. No problems at all. 11hrs of light to no use and im at 84% battery

coming from starburst 1.9.5
Last edited by bones8229; 6th November 2011 at 06:31 PM.
6th November 2011, 06:35 PM   |  #523  
akarol's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 273
 
2,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Ok guys. I have created a recovery .zip file to get 75mV undervolting based off Calkulin's undervolting script. You can find it here:

http://www.multiupload.com/RTSUOPGSXG

So far it has been working great for me. I tried the 100mV undervolting and kept getting random shutdowns. 50mV was flawless for me, so I figured I'd try 75mV before going back to it.

I recommend this .zip to anyone that had no luck with the 100mV undervolting. If this also does not work, then revert back to the 50mV undervolt file found on the 2nd post.

PS - Thanks naerok for the tip!
6th November 2011, 06:43 PM   |  #524  
twoeleven99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC/TAMPA
Thanks Meter: 138
 
1,163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
just flashed about 15 min ago. Went to the online version of the market to restore my apps becuase of the comments of apps dissapearing and i wanted to avoid all trouble. The problem is now the online market doesnt have my phone registered. Its showing my old tmobile g2x as the phone the apps will be installed to. Any ideas as to why?
6th November 2011, 06:49 PM   |  #525  
Just_s's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver/Albuquerque
Thanks Meter: 630
 
1,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paranoid android85

People with problems restoring apps thru titanium, are you restoring apps+ data or just apps? I always do apps only and never have a problem
Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

Quote:
Originally Posted by playya

No problem here but I do understand it could be the rom and by all means have come across this myself. I am just saying if 8 people have no issue but 2 have weird issues and I am one of the two my first thought was to always start from scratch and see what I may have done wrong.

I am not sure but most people when they restore with TB they do app + data at the same time. Are you guys having issues after just restoring apps only?

These issues are restoring apk only. In fact it happens even restoring a single apk. I worked on this from 6pm through 230am. I tried every possible combination and could not avoid the issue of being stuck at the "SamsungGALAXY S" after reboot. Even ran the ROM without issue for an hour, rebooting at minute 61 only to be stuck again.

I know what I can do to get this ROM up and running, but I also know what I shouldn't have to do to get a ROM up and running.

Not a complaint by any stretch of the imagination. Merely an observation.

If calk wishes to investigate/resolve the issue, that's purely his prerogative. If not, then I get to decide if the other benefits of the ROM outweigh the inconvenience of not being able to use one of my most trusted apps. Either way, issue resolved.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
6th November 2011, 06:52 PM   |  #526  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Having trouble flashing this rom

after flashing calk's format all 3 times, I go ahead and flash the rom and reboot. Phone sits at triangle boot screen for 10+ minutes with no activity. Have to do nand restore to make phone usable again.

Ive had this problem with other roms too. The issue is anytime I format system, it does something to phone that wont allow it to boot up again normally.

Any ideas why and what I can do to fix it?
6th November 2011, 06:58 PM   |  #527  
Calkulin's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,329
 
1,454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Here's a fix for the missing apps in Market
Attached Files
File Type: zip Calkulin's_Market_Fix_for_E4GT_v1.0.zip - [Click for QR Code] (145.1 KB, 188 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to Calkulin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th November 2011, 07:06 PM   |  #528  
Just_s's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver/Albuquerque
Thanks Meter: 630
 
1,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bones8229

flashed over 24hrs ago and its great so far. also used titanium backup restore apps+data and flashed the 100mV settings. No problems at all. 11hrs of light to no use and im at 84% battery

coming from starburst 1.9.5

Have you rebooted?
6th November 2011, 07:06 PM   |  #529  
paranoid android85's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag san antonio, tx
Thanks Meter: 197
 
1,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_s

These issues are restoring apk only. In fact it happens even restoring a single apk. I worked on this from 6pm through 230am. I tried every possible combination and could not avoid the issue of being stuck at the "SamsungGALAXY S" after reboot. Even ran the ROM without issue for an hour, rebooting at minute 61 only to be stuck again.

I know what I can do to get this ROM up and running, but I also know what I shouldn't have to do to get a ROM up and running.

Not a complaint by any stretch of the imagination. Merely an observation.

If calk wishes to investigate/resolve the issue, that's purely his prerogative. If not, then I get to decide if the other benefits of the ROM outweigh the inconvenience of not being able to use one of my most trusted apps. Either way, issue resolved.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

What about using the nandroid app extractor in titanium?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
6th November 2011, 07:06 PM   |  #530  
Calkulin's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,329
 
1,454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akarol

Ok guys. I have created a recovery .zip file to get 75mV undervolting based off Calkulin's undervolting script. You can find it here:

http://www.multiupload.com/RTSUOPGSXG

So far it has been working great for me. I tried the 100mV undervolting and kept getting random shutdowns. 50mV was flawless for me, so I figured I'd try 75mV before going back to it.

I recommend this .zip to anyone that had no luck with the 100mV undervolting. If this also does not work, then revert back to the 50mV undervolt file found on the 2nd post.

PS - Thanks naerok for the tip!


Not bad but you may want to keep the 1350 voltage at that since not many phones can run 1.4GHz at voltages less than that, even phones that can run the -100mV script. I posted a -75mV now in the FAQ for those that wanted it

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
email
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes