5,597,871 Members 38,501 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[OTA LEAK] VZW Droid 3 Update 5.7.894 From Staging Server

Tip us?
 
Hashcode
Old
(Last edited by Hashcode; 7th November 2011 at 08:31 AM.)
#1  
Hashcode's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 19650
Posts: 2,917
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [OTA LEAK] VZW Droid 3 Update 5.7.894 From Staging Server

Hi Guys,

As promised here is the actual OTA leak .zip pulled from a staging server on 11/03. This needs to be installed via your STOCK RECOVERY, this doesn't work in Safestrap or Koush's CWRecovery.

[ WARNING: I want to repeat my earlier warning that if you plan on installing this: HAVE A ROOT KEEPER INSTALLED (mount_ext3.sh / loadpreinstall.sh modified to set suid on the su binary on boot). CURRENT 1-CLICK ROOT WILL NOT WORK. If you search the Bionic boards there are many users asking for help where they lost root applying a similar OTA leak like this one for their phones. I would hate for the D3 community to be in a similar situation. ]


** I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ILL EFFECTS OF THIS OTA LEAK OR IF YOU BRICK YOUR PHONE -- WHEN IN DOUBT, DON'T USE THIS **

** And, I know that the file name is our current version. It's something Verizon does with the patch filenames where they use the version of the OS that it applies to.


Details of the update:
BUILD ID: 5.5.1_84_D3G-64
BUILD DATE: Mon Oct 31 11:31:36 CDT 2011
BUILD VERSION FULL: Blur_Version.5.7.894.XT862.Verizon.en.US
BASEBAND VERSION: N_03.18.2EP

Download Link: http://www.mediafire.com/?x6ltlt51aa98hgw
md5sum: 93f535d986b94a810a00530ea722ea69

[ Edit 11/07: added the baseband version ]
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
limaxray
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 64
Join Date: Aug 2008
Thank you for sharing this.

Do the fastboot files that we have still work after applying this? My main concern is that it could replace the signing key making it impossible to downgrade to a rootable version.
 
8339923
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
wonder why the name of file you update is 5.6.890?
 
joeyx2
Old
(Last edited by joeyx2; 6th November 2011 at 04:01 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 225
Join Date: Sep 2010
[QUOTE=Hashcode;19094444] ** And, I know that the file name is our current version. It's something Verizon does with the patch filenames where they use the version of the OS that it applies to. [Quote]


Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
 
verkerria
Old
#5  
verkerria's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Does anyone know what this file improves or breaks?

Droid 1 Rooted (ChevyNo1 0.9MV Kernel, LGB2.6)
Droid 3 Rooted (Stock Kernel, Custom lite De-bloat)
 
ChaoticWeaponry
Old
#6  
ChaoticWeaponry's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 225
Posts: 523
Join Date: Oct 2011
Hashcode does this update also include the update to the kernel?
Thanks.

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
Retired Devices
-ASUS Eee Pad Transformer B80 (TF101)
-Samsung Galaxy Note 2
-Samsung Alias
-LG EnV Touch
-Motorola Droid 3 (XT862)

Current Devices
--Verizon LG G2 (Usually overclocked to 2.5GHz, running Malladus 2.0)
 
neilrl79
Old
#7  
neilrl79's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 550
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaoticWeaponry View Post
Hashcode does this update also include the update to the kernel?
Thanks.

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
Yes, it's the full untouched update from the staging servers.
 
ChaoticWeaponry
Old
#8  
ChaoticWeaponry's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 225
Posts: 523
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilrl79 View Post
Yes, it's the full untouched update from the staging servers.
Thank you. And I'm assuming I need to be on the motoblur rom as well?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
Retired Devices
-ASUS Eee Pad Transformer B80 (TF101)
-Samsung Galaxy Note 2
-Samsung Alias
-LG EnV Touch
-Motorola Droid 3 (XT862)

Current Devices
--Verizon LG G2 (Usually overclocked to 2.5GHz, running Malladus 2.0)
 
neilrl79
Old
#9  
neilrl79's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 550
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaoticWeaponry View Post
Thank you. And I'm assuming I need to be on the motoblur rom as well?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
Probably, not 100% sure but i think you need to be on motoblur fully bloated. Make sure you do a forever root before you update tho cause word is the moto/vzw have patched the exploit.
 
Dri94
Old
#10  
Dri94's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 543
Posts: 1,690
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
is there a changelog or does anyone know any of the changes with this update?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes