Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,312 Members 52,704 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Development] CyanogenMod porting

Tip us?
 
eBug
Old
#1731  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 320
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by [GR]Frostbyte View Post
Recovery bootloops were adressed by flashing a bootloader thingy from odin, I guess. Look back a few pages and you'll find the solution.
Overall I'd suggest keeping arco's CWM, since he said that it has correct partition info. Plus, its required, but not limited, for CM9. You use it as a normal recovery, because that's what it is.
As I said in a previous post, I can't use Odin, so I can't fix the recovery bootloop with that bootloader. Hence my idea of flashing first cm9 recovery, then cm9, then flashing back a non-bootloop pre-cm9 recovery. My question is whether I need cm9 recovery to actually _boot_ cm9 or whether it's only needed to _flash_ cm9.
 
[GR]Frostbyte
Old
#1732  
[GR]Frostbyte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 143
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Q3DM6
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBug View Post
As I said in a previous post, I can't use Odin, so I can't fix the recovery bootloop with that bootloader. Hence my idea of flashing first cm9 recovery, then cm9, then flashing back a non-bootloop pre-cm9 recovery. My question is whether I need cm9 recovery to actually _boot_ cm9 or whether it's only needed to _flash_ cm9.
I don't think you need it to boot it. As the recovery is in a separate partition than the system. But I guess you'd still need it to apply CM9's updates.
Why you can't use odin? Can't get into download mode? As for a PC I assume you have a usb port
 
arco68
Old
#1733  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 19109
Posts: 1,973
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
FYI, I'm not quitting. I never said I was. Our phones are enough similar, so any stuff I might fix or improve on the Galaxy W, most likely will be beneficial for this phone as well.
Haters gonna hate

~$ git revert
746865696e7465726e6574

GitHub
The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to arco68 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tomi555
Old
#1734  
tomi555's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 38
Join Date: Dec 2011
Come to the dark side...buy sgs+, we will help you, it has super AMOLED you know
 
R341M@N
Old
#1735  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 108
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kirov
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBug View Post
Is that recovery needed only to flash the cm9 or is it needed to boot cm9 too?
Since I experience recovery bootloops with that recovery my idea is to:

flash cm9 recovery -> flash cm9 -> flash previous recovery1.

Would that be ok?
Yes it's will be ok.
The Following User Says Thank You to R341M@N For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bikeaholics
Old
#1736  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 104
Join Date: Apr 2011
Huawei honoriert and Sony experia arc s official ics are out maybe some Parts are useable or give some help to unverständlich drivers

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9001 mit Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to bikeaholics For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Klarostorix
Old
#1737  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 168
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeaholics View Post
Huawei honoriert and Sony experia arc s official ics are out maybe some Parts are useable or give some help to unverständlich drivers

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9001 mit Tapatalk 2
You use SwiftKey keyboard with auto-correction? ;)

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S Plus using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Klarostorix For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
goorek
Old
#1738  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 246
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Wrocław
I would like to use swiftkey as well, but I have the same problem - cant turn ON only only gsm alphabet, and every message with Polish chars are only 60-70 chars long. Can we fix it somehow?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
 
bikeaholics
Old
#1739  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 104
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klarostorix View Post
You use SwiftKey keyboard with auto-correction? ;)

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S Plus using Tapatalk
You are right. And if you dont look what you are typing it will get you and other crazy

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9001 mit Tapatalk 2
 
_strauch_
Old
#1740  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 185
Join Date: Aug 2011
One thing i had with the last 2.3.6 from Samsung too. In the battery menu is no wireless lan with a percent value of battery usage. Anyone knows why. In the diagram is the wireless lan.

Von meinem Smartphone gesendet

Tags
4.0.4, arco, arco&sky=sgs+ dreamteam, arco-fangroup, arco68 rules, badger badger badger mushroom, best in the world, cm7, cm9, cm9 by arco68, cm9 for sgs+, cyanogenmod, each new tag represents a justin bieber fan, i want to add a tag, ics, ics mods, ics recovery, king arco, king of spam thread, make camera working ;d, manbearpig, we love arco
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes