Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Development] CyanogenMod porting

OP YardE

17th April 2012, 02:26 AM   |  #1731  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by [GR]Frostbyte

Recovery bootloops were adressed by flashing a bootloader thingy from odin, I guess. Look back a few pages and you'll find the solution.
Overall I'd suggest keeping arco's CWM, since he said that it has correct partition info. Plus, its required, but not limited, for CM9. You use it as a normal recovery, because that's what it is.

As I said in a previous post, I can't use Odin, so I can't fix the recovery bootloop with that bootloader. Hence my idea of flashing first cm9 recovery, then cm9, then flashing back a non-bootloop pre-cm9 recovery. My question is whether I need cm9 recovery to actually _boot_ cm9 or whether it's only needed to _flash_ cm9.
17th April 2012, 03:22 AM   |  #1732  
[GR]Frostbyte's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Q3DM6
Thanks Meter: 50
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBug

As I said in a previous post, I can't use Odin, so I can't fix the recovery bootloop with that bootloader. Hence my idea of flashing first cm9 recovery, then cm9, then flashing back a non-bootloop pre-cm9 recovery. My question is whether I need cm9 recovery to actually _boot_ cm9 or whether it's only needed to _flash_ cm9.

I don't think you need it to boot it. As the recovery is in a separate partition than the system. But I guess you'd still need it to apply CM9's updates.
Why you can't use odin? Can't get into download mode? As for a PC I assume you have a usb port
17th April 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #1733  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 19,903
 
2,067 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
FYI, I'm not quitting. I never said I was. Our phones are enough similar, so any stuff I might fix or improve on the Galaxy W, most likely will be beneficial for this phone as well.
The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to arco68 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2012, 04:59 AM   |  #1734  
tomi555's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Come to the dark side...buy sgs+, we will help you, it has super AMOLED you know
17th April 2012, 06:38 AM   |  #1735  
Senior Member
Flag Kirov
Thanks Meter: 151
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBug

Is that recovery needed only to flash the cm9 or is it needed to boot cm9 too?
Since I experience recovery bootloops with that recovery my idea is to:

flash cm9 recovery -> flash cm9 -> flash previous recovery1.

Would that be ok?

Yes it's will be ok.
The Following User Says Thank You to R341M@N For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2012, 07:26 AM   |  #1736  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Huawei honoriert and Sony experia arc s official ics are out maybe some Parts are useable or give some help to unverständlich drivers

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9001 mit Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to bikeaholics For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2012, 07:45 AM   |  #1737  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeaholics

Huawei honoriert and Sony experia arc s official ics are out maybe some Parts are useable or give some help to unverständlich drivers

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9001 mit Tapatalk 2

You use SwiftKey keyboard with auto-correction? ;)

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S Plus using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Klarostorix For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2012, 08:00 AM   |  #1738  
Senior Member
Flag Wrocław
Thanks Meter: 67
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I would like to use swiftkey as well, but I have the same problem - cant turn ON only only gsm alphabet, and every message with Polish chars are only 60-70 chars long. Can we fix it somehow?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
17th April 2012, 08:21 AM   |  #1739  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klarostorix

You use SwiftKey keyboard with auto-correction? ;)

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S Plus using Tapatalk

You are right. And if you dont look what you are typing it will get you and other crazy

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9001 mit Tapatalk 2
17th April 2012, 08:35 AM   |  #1740  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
One thing i had with the last 2.3.6 from Samsung too. In the battery menu is no wireless lan with a percent value of battery usage. Anyone knows why. In the diagram is the wireless lan.

Von meinem Smartphone gesendet

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.0.4, arco, arco&sky=sgs+ dreamteam, arco-fangroup, arco68 rules, badger badger badger mushroom, best in the world, cm7, cm9, cm9 by arco68, cm9 for sgs+, cyanogenmod, each new tag represents a justin bieber fan, i want to add a tag, ics, ics mods, ics recovery, king arco, king of spam thread, make camera working ;d, manbearpig, we love arco
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes