Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Do we have unlockable bootloader??

OP black beard

8th November 2011, 09:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Motorola have been quoted saying that this device will have unlockable bootloader dependent on carrier agreement. I've read that this has been denied for the verizon version in the states, but in other parts of the world - the international version is currently on-sale (Australia - I'm looking at you!!)

So do we have it or not?? I asked the question in development thread, but there's not much traffic there and I didn't get a confirmation.

I can't believe no one has tried it yet. If it is actually possible - the instructions on this site should work:
http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...recovery-roms/

Even if you don't want to unlock the bootloader - if someone could try it. If it works it will give you warnings and the option to opt out before going all the way, if it doesn't work - you won't even get that far.
8th November 2011, 10:34 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Argh! I can't post the link here because I don't have enough posts but it was confirmed by Motorola Australia that the RAZR will have an unlocked bootloader.

This was confirmed on their Facebook page (Motorola Australia)
8th November 2011, 10:42 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
if u cant post links..., add space, remove www or http etc.. use brain
8th November 2011, 11:09 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
That's the correct way to unlock it, so give it a try and please report back with country/provider, System version and Build number.
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by black beard

I can't believe no one has tried it yet. If it is actually possible - the instructions on this site should work:
http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...recovery-roms/

8th November 2011, 05:28 PM   |  #5  
polaris441's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 191
 
358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
so, does anyone tried "fastboot oem unlock" yet?
8th November 2011, 09:10 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by polaris441

so, does anyone tried "fastboot oem unlock" yet?

I can't believe there is so much cr@p about pentile display, but no-one here has tried "fastboot oem unlock" on their device yet.

What happened to xda-developers???
8th November 2011, 10:37 PM   |  #7  
ianford10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shanklin
Thanks Meter: 430
 
878 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by black beard

I can't believe there is so much cr@p about pentile display, but no-one here has tried "fastboot oem unlock" on their device yet.

What happened to xda-developers???

When I get my Razr in the morning its the first thing I intend to try :)

Sent from my Xoom using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to ianford10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2011, 12:00 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hopefully you guys will be able to keep 4g with an unlocked bootloader, photons lose 4g after unlock

Sent from my PG06100 using XDA App
9th November 2011, 04:29 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianford10

When I get my Razr in the morning its the first thing I intend to try :)

Sent from my Xoom using xda premium

Int'l version not Verizon I presume?

Would be awesome if you could.... its the only thing holding back my order at the moment.
9th November 2011, 10:20 AM   |  #10  
ianford10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shanklin
Thanks Meter: 430
 
878 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Sat here waiting for the phone, computer is prepped ready and waiting

Sent from my MB855 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes