Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] CifsManager / cifs.ko

OP Yerry

9th November 2011, 11:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Did anyone manage to mount samba shares via CifsManager / cifs.ko on our Note?
9th November 2011, 04:40 PM   |  #2  
RavenY2K3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 390
 
1,407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
From what I remember, you needed to have a kernel that's supports CIFS for it to work.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk
9th November 2011, 04:50 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenY2K3

From what I remember, you needed to have a kernel that's supports CIFS for it to work.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

No you can load it by insmod.
9th November 2011, 07:41 PM   |  #4  
brotbuexe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Yes. Someone have to get the kernel sources and compile the modules for this kernel.
9th November 2011, 08:20 PM   |  #5  
mdalacu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 191
 
874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Just ask netchip to do it. It's the only one who compiled a kernel from sources to SGN. Try his thread on dev channel.
10th November 2011, 03:23 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Cifs manager not working for me

ES File Explorer does work though (LAN share)
10th November 2011, 04:08 PM   |  #7  
fards's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Currently Reverse Engineering 42
Thanks Meter: 834
 
5,679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Donate to Me
More
I'll build the module tonight if I get a chance.

no guarantees, or that it will work.
10th November 2011, 04:11 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fards

I'll build the module tonight if I get a chance.

no guarantees, or that it will work.

Okay great. Looking forward to test.
10th November 2011, 11:05 PM   |  #9  
fards's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Currently Reverse Engineering 42
Thanks Meter: 834
 
5,679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Donate to Me
More
I'm not having a lot of success with it. insmod doesn't want to know about the module,

KJ4 doesn't use /proc/config.gz either which is selfish of them

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes