Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q&A] Mounts2SD - Storage & Memory Management

OP dk_zero-cool

13th February 2013, 08:13 AM   |  #1401  
BleedingIris's Avatar
Senior Member
HEAVEN
Thanks Meter: 744
 
2,328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Re: [App/Script] Mounts2SD - An All-in-one sd-ext solution (2.2.0/5.5.0 - Jan 26, 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by nik007rock

tried on cm10 beta and also on cm9 but same result maybe pmr is interfering with mount2sd

What version of mount2SD? Is it play version? /the one posted in our forum?
I tried the play version both on cm9 and cm10..no problem.. (though a older one)

"How many apps are optimizing? "
Did you install acid /xloud?
cm10 htc a310e k2.6 w /smooth of butter & broke Cam/corder
Last edited by BleedingIris; 13th February 2013 at 08:17 AM.
13th February 2013, 09:24 AM   |  #1402  
Senior Member
Flag Nagpur
Thanks Meter: 72
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcpayme

What version of mount2SD? Is it play version? /the one posted in our forum?
I tried the play version both on cm9 and cm10..no problem.. (though a older one)

"How many apps are optimizing? "
Did you install acid /xloud?
cm10 htc a310e k2.6 w /smooth of butter & broke Cam/corder

first i tried the one from our forum it worked no prob but iam the one who is always up to date(with apps and all) so i tried this one(apk)
almost all apps 70-80 apps
Last edited by nik007rock; 13th February 2013 at 09:26 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nik007rock For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 02:19 PM   |  #1403  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Nice script, but i have some issues on jb 4.2.1 (Rom: OldDroid CM 10.1 for Ace s5830) (SD: Samsung 32 GB C10)

I need disable "safe mode" to use "move data" or "move dalvik".

Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_zero-cool

As of Script Version 5.5.0 (App version 2.2.0), m2sd has an experimental workaround for devices that is executing init.d from within a service. This workaround will allow you to use the Data and Dalvik option if Safe-mode has been disabled. The workaround however is built using a ugly and possibly unstable hack, so you are advised to make a backup of your /data partition before trying this out, as the success of this workaround might depend on your Device and/or ROM.
[/CODE][/LIST]

1 - Moving dalvik did my phone really unstable. (Freezes, crashes, double boot with double optimizing apps, errors on file system, and all you can imagine)

2 - Moving data i get "not enough space" from play store. (Only movable apps can be installed).

3- Using "reverse mount" option, doesn't end booting. (Fails too on DroidAce Rom CM 7.2)

Im having the same 2 and 3 problems with other xxx2SD scripts.
I followed this steps to install: Wipes and format system > install rom > reboot > install script > format sd to Ext3 or Ext4 > reboot
Last edited by Astorcamon; 13th February 2013 at 04:22 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Astorcamon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 08:36 PM   |  #1404  
dk_zero-cool's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Horsens
Thanks Meter: 4,424
 
3,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Re: [App/Script] Mounts2SD - An All-in-one sd-ext solution (2.2.0/5.5.0 - Jan 26, 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astorcamon

Nice script, but i have some issues on jb 4.2.1 (Rom: OldDroid CM 10.1 for Ace s5830) (SD: Samsung 32 GB C10)

I need disable "safe mode" to use "move data" or "move dalvik".



1 - Moving dalvik did my phone really unstable. (Freezes, crashes, double boot with double optimizing apps, errors on file system, and all you can imagine)

2 - Moving data i get "not enough space" from play store. (Only movable apps can be installed).

3- Using "reverse mount" option, doesn't end booting. (Fails too on DroidAce Rom CM 7.2)

Im having the same 2 and 3 problems with other xxx2SD scripts.
I followed this steps to install: Wipes and format system > install rom > reboot > install script > format sd to Ext3 or Ext4 > reboot

Like it says. Disabling safe-mode works for some, but not all. The reason safe-mode is even on, is because your ROM executes init.d as a service. The issue is with the ROM. Only fix is to implement proper init.d to your ROM, something many ROM devs has been getting very bad at. Even some official CM roms has started emerging which uses the pure lacy init.d implementation, which does not look good for init.d's future.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to dk_zero-cool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 09:06 PM   |  #1405  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_zero-cool

Like it says. Disabling safe-mode works for some, but not all. The reason safe-mode is even on, is because your ROM executes init.d as a service. The issue is with the ROM. Only fix is to implement proper init.d to your ROM, something many ROM devs has been getting very bad at. Even some official CM roms has started emerging which uses the pure lacy init.d implementation, which does not look good for init.d's future.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Thx dk_zero, i think that implement a proper init.d is not in my hands. But i can try if anyone knows a way to fix it (?).
Im new on android looking for extend the memory of my phone
15th February 2013, 12:50 AM   |  #1406  
Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 12
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Re: [App/Script] Mounts2SD - An All-in-one sd-ext solution (2.2.0/5.5.0 - Jan 26, 201
I use this app and it works great. One problem though: when I reboot my device, the script sometimes undoes itself and I have to reflash the zip. After I do that, it functions normally but this is really inconvenient. I tried converting the mounts2sd to a system app with titanium backup but that's not preventing the issue. Any suggestions?

Sent from my HTC Sensation using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 06:12 AM   |  #1407  
dk_zero-cool's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Horsens
Thanks Meter: 4,424
 
3,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negroid

I use this app and it works great. One problem though: when I reboot my device, the script sometimes undoes itself and I have to reflash the zip. After I do that, it functions normally but this is really inconvenient. I tried converting the mounts2sd to a system app with titanium backup but that's not preventing the issue. Any suggestions?

Sent from my HTC Sensation using xda app-developers app

Okay that's new, what do you mean by undoes itself?
15th February 2013, 06:57 AM   |  #1408  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 521
 
1,488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negroid

I use this app and it works great. One problem though: when I reboot my device, the script sometimes undoes itself and I have to reflash the zip. After I do that, it functions normally but this is really inconvenient. I tried converting the mounts2sd to a system app with titanium backup but that's not preventing the issue. Any suggestions?

When it undoes itself, is the script still present in init.d?
15th February 2013, 11:48 AM   |  #1409  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Hi does this app support SDXC cards? I have a 32Gb SDXC card partitioned with 30gb fat32 and 2gb ext2, mounts2sd doesnt recognise my sd card at all however the stock ROM and Links2SD do.

thanks for any help

Im using a motorola Razr V XT885
15th February 2013, 04:09 PM   |  #1410  
Member
Flag Oklahoma City
Thanks Meter: 70
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankfurts

Hi does this app support SDXC cards? I have a 32Gb SDXC card partitioned with 30gb fat32 and 2gb ext2, mounts2sd doesnt recognise my sd card at all however the stock ROM and Links2SD do.

thanks for any help

Im using a motorola Razr V XT885

I am using it in an HTC EVO 4G with a 64 GB micro SDXC, so Mounts2SD does work. I partitioned my card in the recovery (smelkusmod_amon_ra) and converted the sdext partition (2GB) to ext4 and m2sd had no problems recognizing and using it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes