FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Tutorial] D2G GSM band unlock--Worked on 330 to GB

14 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By eddyzenl, Junior Member on 13th November 2011, 09:05 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
16th February 2012, 05:34 AM |#31  
Senior Member
Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 91
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noneya Biz

I have a motorola droid 2 global that is running gingerbread 2.3.3. Do I need this in order to use a tmobile or att sim card?

Unlocking the Droid 2 Global for Tmo/AT&T requires the following:

(1) You have to SBF down to System Version 2.4.330 or 2.4.229 (which are Froyo 2.2 based) as those system versions contain radios that accept the TBH Band Unlock Hack

(2) You must obtain a SIM unlock code for your device from Verizon (or another 3rd party vendor)

(3) You must root, install Bootstrap Recovery, and then while in recovery, install the TeamBlackhat ZIP file that hacks the radio.

HOWEVER...I took a weird path in this, and was still successful.

When I first got my D2G I SBF'd it to the Gingerbread .608 system, and then set everything up the way I wanted it to. (rooted, installed apps, configured accounts, etc). I then made a Nandroid backup in Recovery.

I then SBF'd down to 2.4.330. I applied the TBH Radio Hack and then did the SIM unlock code. I now had a happy system running 2.2 and functioning on AT&T's network!

But of course, I needed to get back to Gingerbread. An additional hack was made (that can be found on Rootzwiki) to put yourself onto the newest D2G stock firmware without touching the radio and ruining the Tmo/AT&T Hack.

So I went back to recovery, restored my Nandroid of .608, and then flashed the .608 kernel. I now have my .608 system completely intact and still riding on AT&T.

It's hard, it's a bit complicated, but once you get your version numbers straight you can flash at will.
 
 
16th February 2012, 10:23 AM |#32  
Gasai Yuno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rausu
Thanks Meter: 340
 
More
Basically, if you have a nandroid backup of a 4.5.608 system, you can perform all the usual steps required to obtain a device running 4.5.608 w/band unlock, verify that it's working fine, and then just go back to CWM and choose advanced restore → restore /data only.
20th February 2012, 08:13 PM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
I was able to find the files.

Here they are:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/71053731/D2G_GB_Band_Unlock.rar
Last edited by RWALEY; 5th April 2012 at 05:12 PM. Reason: new host
21st February 2012, 01:00 AM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 671
 
More
Well I have tried both, but N_01.48.05R does not seem to be any better for me, in fact I seem to have gps issues when I am in gsm mode using N_01.48.05R. Now with N_01.48.00R the gps works perfect in gsm mode, I sometimes will lose gsm signal completely or just gsm data connection. for some weird reason I lose signal more often walking, maybe it is the vibration?


Anyone know if the baseband/radio from 2.4.330.. (N_01.48.05R) is any "better" than the one in 2.4.29.. (N_01.48.00R).

And just to confirm, band unlock hack does work on .330's radio as well?

-
21st February 2012, 02:01 AM |#35  
Senior Member
Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 91
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davepmer

Anyone know if the baseband/radio from 2.4.330.. (N_01.48.05R) is any "better" than the one in 2.4.29.. (N_01.48.00R).

And just to confirm, band unlock hack does work on .330's radio as well?

-

I can confirm that the band unlock works on the .330 radio (N_01.48.05R) as I have successfully used that radio on AT&T as well as TMobile.
7th March 2012, 11:56 PM |#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I have done band unlock should i still need network unlock code to use another carrier sim card btw i am not in us and dont have verizon sim card.
8th March 2012, 02:38 PM |#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Hello there!!
Does it mean that when I will use this method, I will not need an GSM Unlock Code??
8th March 2012, 02:50 PM |#38  
Gasai Yuno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rausu
Thanks Meter: 340
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramonsterator

Hello there!!
Does it mean that when I will use this method, I will not need an GSM Unlock Code??

Please scroll up and read this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=18

Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasai Yuno For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th March 2012, 10:03 PM |#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno

Please scroll up and read this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=18

Thanks.

Ahh Got it thanks man.
22nd April 2012, 11:04 PM |#40  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks so much!
I've got everything to work, and calls and texts work on the miui rom; however, data is really faulty and intermittent. What settings do I have to change? I heard there was a build.prop thing I could alter, but I can't find it. It would be really appreciated! Thanks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
d2g gsm band unlock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes