5,594,748 Members 36,317 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Tutorial] D2G GSM band unlock--Worked on 330 to GB

Tip us?
 
projektorboy
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 404
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noneya Biz View Post
I have a motorola droid 2 global that is running gingerbread 2.3.3. Do I need this in order to use a tmobile or att sim card?
Unlocking the Droid 2 Global for Tmo/AT&T requires the following:

(1) You have to SBF down to System Version 2.4.330 or 2.4.229 (which are Froyo 2.2 based) as those system versions contain radios that accept the TBH Band Unlock Hack

(2) You must obtain a SIM unlock code for your device from Verizon (or another 3rd party vendor)

(3) You must root, install Bootstrap Recovery, and then while in recovery, install the TeamBlackhat ZIP file that hacks the radio.

HOWEVER...I took a weird path in this, and was still successful.

When I first got my D2G I SBF'd it to the Gingerbread .608 system, and then set everything up the way I wanted it to. (rooted, installed apps, configured accounts, etc). I then made a Nandroid backup in Recovery.

I then SBF'd down to 2.4.330. I applied the TBH Radio Hack and then did the SIM unlock code. I now had a happy system running 2.2 and functioning on AT&T's network!

But of course, I needed to get back to Gingerbread. An additional hack was made (that can be found on Rootzwiki) to put yourself onto the newest D2G stock firmware without touching the radio and ruining the Tmo/AT&T Hack.

So I went back to recovery, restored my Nandroid of .608, and then flashed the .608 kernel. I now have my .608 system completely intact and still riding on AT&T.

It's hard, it's a bit complicated, but once you get your version numbers straight you can flash at will.
 
Gasai Yuno
Old
#32  
Gasai Yuno's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 721
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rausu
Basically, if you have a nandroid backup of a 4.5.608 system, you can perform all the usual steps required to obtain a device running 4.5.608 w/band unlock, verify that it's working fine, and then just go back to CWM and choose advanced restore → restore /data only.
 
RWALEY
Old
(Last edited by RWALEY; 5th April 2012 at 05:12 PM.) Reason: new host
#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 111
Join Date: Sep 2008
I was able to find the files.

Here they are:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/71053731/D2G_GB_Band_Unlock.rar
 
davepmer
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 614
Posts: 572
Join Date: Feb 2006
Well I have tried both, but N_01.48.05R does not seem to be any better for me, in fact I seem to have gps issues when I am in gsm mode using N_01.48.05R. Now with N_01.48.00R the gps works perfect in gsm mode, I sometimes will lose gsm signal completely or just gsm data connection. for some weird reason I lose signal more often walking, maybe it is the vibration?


Anyone know if the baseband/radio from 2.4.330.. (N_01.48.05R) is any "better" than the one in 2.4.29.. (N_01.48.00R).

And just to confirm, band unlock hack does work on .330's radio as well?

-
 
projektorboy
Old
#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 404
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by davepmer View Post
Anyone know if the baseband/radio from 2.4.330.. (N_01.48.05R) is any "better" than the one in 2.4.29.. (N_01.48.00R).

And just to confirm, band unlock hack does work on .330's radio as well?

-
I can confirm that the band unlock works on the .330 radio (N_01.48.05R) as I have successfully used that radio on AT&T as well as TMobile.
 
callyaseen
Old
#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2005
I have done band unlock should i still need network unlock code to use another carrier sim card btw i am not in us and dont have verizon sim card.
 
Ramonsterator
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 119
Join Date: Sep 2011
Hello there!!
Does it mean that when I will use this method, I will not need an GSM Unlock Code??
 
Gasai Yuno
Old
#38  
Gasai Yuno's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 721
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rausu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramonsterator View Post
Hello there!!
Does it mean that when I will use this method, I will not need an GSM Unlock Code??
Please scroll up and read this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=18

Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasai Yuno For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
callyaseen
Old
#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasai Yuno View Post
Please scroll up and read this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=18

Thanks.
Ahh Got it thanks man.
 
lexxu1
Old
#40  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 39
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Thanks so much!

I've got everything to work, and calls and texts work on the miui rom; however, data is really faulty and intermittent. What settings do I have to change? I heard there was a build.prop thing I could alter, but I can't find it. It would be really appreciated! Thanks.

Tags
d2g gsm band unlock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more