FORUMS

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Official 3.2 Update!

14th November 2011, 05:28 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Yesterday I connected my Tab 10.1 16 Gb white to my Mac, and got a prompt to update Kies for some upcoming firmware update.

Today, I check for updates on my Tab, and get a dialog box inviting me to download the update to Android 3.2:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/45787933/IMAG0207.jpg
 
 
14th November 2011, 05:29 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 402
 
More
Now if only we could find this for the 3G 8.9! (P7300)
14th November 2011, 06:46 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Advice to everyone:
DO NOT UPDATE!

After update, I cannot connect to any Wifi Networks, I also cannot connect my Tab to Kies, and Auto-rotate doesn't work either...
14th November 2011, 07:12 PM |#4  
Dai323's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Berlin Germany
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcchelala

Advice to everyone:
DO NOT UPDATE!

After update, I cannot connect to any Wifi Networks, I also cannot connect my Tab to Kies, and Auto-rotate doesn't work either...

You beat me to it:


http://phandroid.com/2011/11/14/sams...medium=twitter

DONT UPDATE. This update WILL break your wifi.

Wait for Task to upload it. He ll have it up in the next few hours.
14th November 2011, 11:12 PM |#5  
seanfitz100's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i updated mine and now the wifi doesnt work and i cant reset my tablet either keeps saying network error please help!
15th November 2011, 12:09 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanfitz100

i updated mine and now the wifi doesnt work and i cant reset my tablet either keeps saying network error please help!

This despite the posts directly above telling you NOT to update for that exact reason.

Guess you should wait until a solution presents itself.
15th November 2011, 12:17 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bratag

This despite the posts directly above telling you NOT to update for that exact reason.

Guess you should wait until a solution presents itself.

A solution has presented itself, and has been confirmed over and over. Update via Kies. It works fine. I have updated three 10.1 devices; mine, my wife's, and my son's. There is NO reason to make a blanket statement against updating. OTA has reported issues, Kies is fine. Be clear when you are attempting to help.
15th November 2011, 12:21 AM |#8  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, Washington
Thanks Meter: 4,413
 
More
When possible, you should always update via Kies. God knows it isn't perfect but it's smart enough to detect a failed update and put itself and the device in emergency recovery mode to get back to a clean original image.
15th November 2011, 12:24 AM |#9  
|| Acer ||'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 530
 
Donate to Me
More
I get this when trying to update through kies. I heard there's less problems that way:




I live in the U.S. so I don't know what's wrong.
15th November 2011, 12:33 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG

When possible, you should always update via Kies. God knows it isn't perfect but it's smart enough to detect a failed update and put itself and the device in emergency recovery mode to get back to a clean original image.

my problem is that my kies, wont recognize my device. it is stock TW 3.1. Why is that happening, it was fine until kies prompted me to update a few days ago to 2.1.0 v... and after that, now it wont recognize my device, so updating my tab is a far away scenario.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes