FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Official 3.2 Update!

58 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By marcchelala, Member on 14th November 2011, 05:28 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Yesterday I connected my Tab 10.1 16 Gb white to my Mac, and got a prompt to update Kies for some upcoming firmware update.

Today, I check for updates on my Tab, and get a dialog box inviting me to download the update to Android 3.2:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/45787933/IMAG0207.jpg
 
 
14th November 2011, 05:29 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 402
 
More
Now if only we could find this for the 3G 8.9! (P7300)
14th November 2011, 06:46 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Advice to everyone:
DO NOT UPDATE!

After update, I cannot connect to any Wifi Networks, I also cannot connect my Tab to Kies, and Auto-rotate doesn't work either...
14th November 2011, 07:12 PM |#4  
Dai323's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Berlin Germany
Thanks Meter: 485
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcchelala

Advice to everyone:
DO NOT UPDATE!

After update, I cannot connect to any Wifi Networks, I also cannot connect my Tab to Kies, and Auto-rotate doesn't work either...

You beat me to it:


http://phandroid.com/2011/11/14/sams...medium=twitter

DONT UPDATE. This update WILL break your wifi.

Wait for Task to upload it. He ll have it up in the next few hours.
14th November 2011, 11:12 PM |#5  
seanfitz100's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i updated mine and now the wifi doesnt work and i cant reset my tablet either keeps saying network error please help!
15th November 2011, 12:09 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanfitz100

i updated mine and now the wifi doesnt work and i cant reset my tablet either keeps saying network error please help!

This despite the posts directly above telling you NOT to update for that exact reason.

Guess you should wait until a solution presents itself.
15th November 2011, 12:17 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bratag

This despite the posts directly above telling you NOT to update for that exact reason.

Guess you should wait until a solution presents itself.

A solution has presented itself, and has been confirmed over and over. Update via Kies. It works fine. I have updated three 10.1 devices; mine, my wife's, and my son's. There is NO reason to make a blanket statement against updating. OTA has reported issues, Kies is fine. Be clear when you are attempting to help.
15th November 2011, 12:21 AM |#8  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, Washington
Thanks Meter: 4,426
 
More
When possible, you should always update via Kies. God knows it isn't perfect but it's smart enough to detect a failed update and put itself and the device in emergency recovery mode to get back to a clean original image.
15th November 2011, 12:24 AM |#9  
|| Acer ||'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 530
 
Donate to Me
More
I get this when trying to update through kies. I heard there's less problems that way:




I live in the U.S. so I don't know what's wrong.
15th November 2011, 12:33 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG

When possible, you should always update via Kies. God knows it isn't perfect but it's smart enough to detect a failed update and put itself and the device in emergency recovery mode to get back to a clean original image.

my problem is that my kies, wont recognize my device. it is stock TW 3.1. Why is that happening, it was fine until kies prompted me to update a few days ago to 2.1.0 v... and after that, now it wont recognize my device, so updating my tab is a far away scenario.
15th November 2011, 01:07 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraz82

my problem is that my kies, wont recognize my device. it is stock TW 3.1. Why is that happening, it was fine until kies prompted me to update a few days ago to 2.1.0 v... and after that, now it wont recognize my device, so updating my tab is a far away scenario.

If there is any thing buggier than Samsung firmware and firmware updates, it is Kies.
The Following User Says Thank You to foxbat121 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes