FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[APP] Rom Toolbox

854 posts
Thanks Meter: 211
 
By FrankyFiggz27, Senior Member on 15th November 2011, 08:51 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
8th February 2012, 12:07 AM |#41  
ashbuly's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Niles
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Absolutely! I definetely recommend buying the full version of this and Titanium Backup. So worth the money.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRK4G63

Ah hah....but after I tap on "Kernel Tweaks" I get a "Pro Version Only" message.

Oh well, I believe this app is definitely worth it, so I'll be buying the real deal soon, regardless.

On the other hand....if I just use the root browser to navigate to /system/etc ...couldn't I just add those values to the sysctl.conf file if they aren't in there already?



Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
 
8th February 2012, 01:44 AM |#42  
koop1955's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 853
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankyFiggz27

possibly a result of some tweaks i just made using Rom Toolbox, I'm flying right now. Faster than ever. Here's what I changed, just in case anyone can point out if I did anything bad:

Auto memory manager
6,8,24,30,40,50 (same as Aggressive 1 settings in V6 Supercharger)

vm heap size = 32

sd boost = 3072

Min Free KBytes = 4096
Dirty Ratio = 90
Dirty Background Ratio = 70
VFS Cache Pressure = 5
Oom Kill Allocating Task - SET ON

Applied everything at boot, obviously. I did a little research on what to change these values to, and so far these values have definitely sped me up considerably.
__________________

Could you have transposed the values for Dirty Background Ratio and VFS Cache Pressure, possibly? Seems like it should 5 and 70, not 70 and 5.

Thanks.
8th February 2012, 11:31 AM |#43  
m5james's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
I've used this app for about 2 weeks, and while it did some cool things, it'd never retain ANY setting after a reboot. CPU was always back down to 1000k from the 1500 I had it at before, SD read speed was at 128k vs the 2048 I preferred. I've had two different versions, one that came w/ my currently Legendary RC 2.2 ROM, then another I downloaded from Mobilism. Neither version retained anything after a reboot. Today I tried downloading it from the Market and it says that it's not compatible w/ the Epic and wouldn't even allow me to download it. Great app, but if I have to refresh the settings everytime, I may as well stick with SetCPU and flash an SD speed.zip to retain my settings.
9th February 2012, 11:08 PM |#44  
solitarywarrior1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dearborn
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Sounds awesome, i'll definitely be giving it a try
18th February 2012, 01:55 AM |#45  
Cartmanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Mount Vernon
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Love this app

Sent from my EPIC 4G running ICS CM9 MTD using Tapatalk
21st February 2012, 07:11 PM |#46  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by koop1955

Could you have transposed the values for Dirty Background Ratio and VFS Cache Pressure, possibly? Seems like it should 5 and 70, not 70 and 5.

Thanks.

nah that's right. i'm going by Imoseyon's recommended values that he uses on the Droid X. Sounds pretty knowledgeable in the area. only thing i changed a bit was the vfs cache pressure. If you're willing to do manual flushes every so often, which I'm not, he recommends you push it down to 1. If you NEVER flush, he recommends it at 20. Since I reboot quite often (every day), figured 5 was a good setting for me.
24th February 2012, 04:50 AM |#47  
ashbuly's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Niles
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Having a problem with ROM Toolbox on CM9 A4. I noticed a few apps weren't showing up in the Market under my apps. Used ROM Toolbox to relink the missing apps, and now only a few of the apps show up. Did completely the opposite of what I wanted. Any ideas?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
24th February 2012, 10:34 PM |#48  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Anysettings been changed in the kernel tweaks advanced tab.
26th February 2012, 10:29 PM |#49  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike102871

Anysettings been changed in the kernel tweaks advanced tab.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1494513 last post on the page explains the I/O Scheduler
10th March 2012, 09:09 PM |#50  
numbazZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lviv
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
how to get this app from market? it not available in my country!
7th April 2012, 08:49 PM |#51  
tnpapadakos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 1,111
 
Donate to Me
More
seems like since market was updated to "Play", market links i broke wont stay broken....anyone else? (waiting for the flame...im at a motel with .10 KBps speeds...and blazing 2G speeds on my phone...cant deal with reading entire thread right now)

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes