Post Reply

[ROOT][ONE-CLICK][UPDATED 11-30-11] Get ADB running AND Root with SuperOneClick

OP death2all110

16th November 2011, 08:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Illinois
Thanks Meter: 263
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
So I was messing around with different one clicks since I got ADB going on my kindle fire and I was able to Successfully use SuperOneClick 2.2 to root my kindle fire!

Sorry for the mess. Its late, and I wanted to type this up so I could crash...

To get adb going you must download the android sdk (google it).
*Run SDKManager.exe and download the google-usb_drivers package from "3rd party tools"
* Download platform-tools as well

Open a command prompt and run adb update usb to get the .android folder to appear.

goto: %USERPROFILE%\.android and edit the adb_usb.ini and add this to the end of the file and save:
Code:
0x1949
then go into where you have the sdk at and open the google-usb_driver folder and edit android_winusb.inf and add this to the [Google.NTx86] section and [Google.NTamd64] section:
Code:
;Kindle Fire
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006&MI_01
save and close

If you have already plugged your kindle into the usb you may have to open device manager and find "Kindle" under other devices and choose the android_winusb.inf file.

Turn on Installation of apps from unknown sources: tap the top bar>choose more...(+)>device

open a command prompt and run adb kill-server then try adb devices..

you should see a device listed.

go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=803682a

download and run SuperOneClick and choose the "root" option. let it go!

Enjoy!

Proof:


Last edited by death2all110; 30th November 2011 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Clarified Directions
The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to death2all110 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2011, 09:04 AM   |  #2  
kennethpenn's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Washington, D.C.
Thanks Meter: 3,797
 
2,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Awesome!
The Following User Says Thank You to kennethpenn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2011, 09:49 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Why do I have a mac
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to soundslikemitch For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2011, 10:58 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Some small village
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
That was quick. I wonder if Amazon prefers the device to be rootable or not? Normal Kindle is quite easy to root too.
16th November 2011, 12:33 PM   |  #5  
smtom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
846 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundslikemitch

Why do I have a mac

^^ now THAT is funny ^^
The Following User Says Thank You to smtom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2011, 12:39 PM   |  #6  
aimbdd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PA/MD
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,980 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnesus

That was quick. I wonder if Amazon prefers the device to be rootable or not? Normal Kindle is quite easy to root too.

Supposedly it was supposed to be easy to root. So I would think so. I am sure amazon could have made it a lot harder if they wanted to.
16th November 2011, 01:24 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aimbdd

Supposedly it was supposed to be easy to root. So I would think so. I am sure amazon could have made it a lot harder if they wanted to.

I almost suspect from their coy comments (yes, it will be rooted, no we don't care, type of thing) That they're just after market share, period. Now let's bring on CM ICS! (impatient optimist in me, sorry!)
16th November 2011, 01:28 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
My question is can anyone get TTS to work?
16th November 2011, 02:11 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 30
 
243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundslikemitch

Why do I have a mac

I lawl'd

* * *

Amazon said they wouldn't get in the way of root.
16th November 2011, 02:38 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
wow, this was quick! i hope we get custom gingerbread and later on ICS roms quick

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, how-to, kindle fire, one click, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Kindle Fire Android Development by ThreadRank