FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Android v4.0.1 ICS VirtualBox VM

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By yn0t, Junior Member on 17th November 2011, 03:31 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
30th November 2011, 07:19 AM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brut.all

And what about the DPI and/or physical screen size? What I'm trying to do is to have development platform for Android apps. Emulator is definitely too slow and if I would be able to run ICS through VBox for different screen configurations, I would be able to use it instead of an emulator.

Maybe it helps to install the application “LCD Resolution” and changing “LCD Dencity” - I havn't tried yet, because till now I wasn't able to connect adb to my VM. If you managed to open adb shell, you should be able to install an .adb file.
 
 
30th November 2011, 09:24 AM |#32  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gborn

Maybe it helps to install the application “LCD Resolution” and changing “LCD Dencity”

Thanks for suggestion - I'll try this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gborn

I havn't tried yet, because till now I wasn't able to connect adb to my VM. If you managed to open adb shell, you should be able to install an .adb file.

Open VM settings, change networking to NAT and set port forwarding for TCP from SOMEPORT on a host to 5555 on a guest. Then run ICS, open terminal and run:

Code:
adb connect localhost:SOMEPORT
adb devices
You should be able to see your virtual ICS :)
The Following User Says Thank You to Brut.all For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2011, 11:49 PM |#33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
@Brut.all: Thanks for suggestion, but at least I was able to connect adb using VMware with bridged network - in Virtualbox portable I messed a lot till I was able to define port forwarding in a successful manner.

I have written a small 'how to' to mount a SD card and install .apk files, using adb here: http://www.borncity.com/blog/2011/12...vmlite-vmware/

Perhaps it will be helpful.

BTW: As far as VMLite developers informed me, they are working on guest additions for VMLite and also on automount for SD card. Installing guest addition with new video driver maybe enables to switch video modes/resolutions. The discussion may be found here: http://www.vmlite.com/index.php?opti...&limitstart=18
Last edited by gborn; 1st December 2011 at 11:40 AM. Reason: adding text
3rd December 2011, 03:47 PM |#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
New Virtualbox build
For thouse experimenting with Virtualbox and ICS: There is a new ICS Build from VMLite as a .vdi file available. Now with automount for fake sd card, mouse integration (no mouse trapping) and shared folders working. Also the bug of the previous version, that the memory for apps installing runs low, is fixed. Further information at [1].

There has been also an installable x86 build for AMD Brazos platform at android-x86.org [2] - but this iso isn't bootable on other x86 machines.

1: http://www.borncity.com/blog/2011/12...andwich-build/
2: http://www.android-x86.org
Last edited by gborn; 3rd December 2011 at 03:51 PM.
4th December 2011, 09:06 PM |#35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciscogee

I get a wrong kernel msg from booting up. Any ideas?

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium

In settings>system>processor> enable PAE/NX
The Following User Says Thank You to unitechy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2011, 01:09 AM |#36  
digitaljeff's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
for those having troubles converting the vdi images to vmdk here ya go.... works fine in VMware player...dont thank me, thank the guy who did the guide on how to convert the images...


ICS vmdk
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FZWH3G20

SD card vmdk
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=15TLJZ87
9th December 2011, 06:01 PM |#37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
new x86 builds
just like to mention, that android-x86 developers released developer builds for different Intel platforms. Beside the AMD Brazos build I mentioned above (and which won't work on my atom platfoms), I found an Asus iso that bootet on my MSI Wind U100. Guess, there will be many machines, that are able to boot with one of the builds. I wrote a short how to, that should everybody enablet to test ics riskless on x86 hardware.
11th December 2011, 07:40 AM |#38  
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by huisinro

You can change this file, cmdline, inside (hd0,2)

init=/init qemu=1 console=ttyS0 console=tty0 vga=788 verbose androidboot.hardware=vbox_x86 androidboot.console=ttyS0 android.qemud=ttyS1

==>

init=/init qemu=1 console=ttyS0 console=tty0 vga=ask verbose androidboot.hardware=vbox_x86 androidboot.console=ttyS0 android.qemud=ttyS1

any idea how to use wide screen resolutions? there only 4:3 and 5:4 resolutions listed in modes


edit: nope, it works. missed it right at the end of list

change one of custom video modes or add a one if no such
<ExtraDataItem name="CustomVideoMode1" value="1280x800x16"/>
Last edited by eighty-four; 11th December 2011 at 07:43 AM.
14th December 2011, 07:56 AM |#39  
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Android x86 released few more 4.0 images - eeepc, tegra2 etc.

eeepc installs on virtualbox. graphics works slightly, but noticeably faster. dhcp does not work automatically. eth0 can be set up manually, but some apps won't work with it like google account, google market, 4pda client, amazon appstore works, but annoys with no connect message

other noticed things - launcher do not crash while adding widgets, background can be set, terminal cursor constantly appears over graphics.
29th January 2012, 09:23 PM |#40  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
http://forum.frandroid.com/topic/890...-custom-build/

Here is a new 4.0 build that supports ethernet and works fast =)

Just awesome for developing ICS applications directly on PC.
7th February 2012, 08:20 PM |#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Managed to get this working in VMware Fusion, pretty sweet - thanks guys!

Is there any way to fool it into thinking WiFi is connected so that we can add google accounts to the VM?

Right now web browsing and stuff works, but any google apps that require wifi aren't working...

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes