FORUMS

Is the LG G4’s Camera Really DSLR-worthy?

After months of anticipation, the LG G4 was finally unveiled today, showing off an … more

SuperSU Beta Updates With Minor Fix For Galaxy S6

ChainFire’s root permissions app SuperSU has updated to v.2.49 to fix audits on … more

LG G4 Day Event Coverage: Specs, Features, Design & More!

LG has been teasing us with a countdown for a while now, and today it reached … more

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

MAC Address Changing with every Reset?

19th November 2011, 05:40 PM |#1  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Just updated my HD7 to the update with internet sharing. After this, I can confirm that every time I reboot my phone, I get a new mac address. Which prevents me from connecting to my MAC-address-filtered wifi. I've done it 6 times and gotten 6 unique MAC addresses.

Does this happen to anyone else's phone? HD7 specific? or all phones with internet sharing? My internet sharing is turned off.
 
 
19th November 2011, 05:49 PM |#2  
xHausx's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 4,549
 
Donate to Me
More
That's strange, I've never heard of a device with a dynamic MAC address before. Does your phone have one printed under the battery?
19th November 2011, 05:58 PM |#3  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Nope, just IMEI, SN and PN. No MAC address.

This must be related in internet sharing somehow.
19th November 2011, 06:20 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvertonesx24


Does this happen to anyone else's phone? HD7 specific? or all phones with internet sharing? My internet sharing is turned off.

I can confirm this on my HD7.
MAC changes on every reboot.
19th November 2011, 07:23 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I confirm too,i have the issue of mac adress changing every reboot
& my wifi is not visible since the update,My wifi is N and i can only see wifi G near me but not mine
19th November 2011, 07:37 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
hi

for me too : mac adress change after shutdown.

for time don't shutdown the phone to have same mac adress with my internet box.

htc support tell me that they will answer on monday.

but i think it's a big problem with this update...

Ben
19th November 2011, 10:44 PM |#7  
morpheuszg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Duesseldorf
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
That's a bit strange. Normally you can't change MAC's for yourself, only spoofing is possible. If WP is really changing the MAC adress with every reboot, WP needs a valid MAC adress block licensed from IEEE, otherwise it would be a violation against IEEE.
19th November 2011, 10:48 PM |#8  
comeradealexi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I thought mac address we're never aloud to change!?
19th November 2011, 11:21 PM |#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 596
 
More
Lol that's illegal as all hell, a dynamic mac address
20th November 2011, 02:16 AM |#10  
woodbane's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Gotta be a glitch in the firmware surely? No way that's allowed. Your definitely sure it's not a dynamic IP address you're seeing?

Sent from my SGH-i917 using Board Express
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes